Two Decades Later

The Second World War

How proudly the flag waved overhead, the bands played and the troops marched away from the reserves, the isolated villages, the city streets. We were Canadian Native soldiers . . . warriors in a proud tradition stretching back over the thousands of years into the dim past. We travelled by ship, by plane . . . and mostly on foot. In a dozen places—France, Germany, Italy... Japan—we raised our flags, and were buried in those foreign soils.53

The Response

In August 1940 the 2nd Canadian Infantry Division sailed for Great Britain. During six years of war, more than one million Canadian men and women enlisted, including at least 3,000 First Nations members and an unknown number of other Indigenous people. (A.E. Armstrong / Department of National Defence / Library and Archives Canada / PA-114797)

Canada declared war on Germany on September 10, 1939, and, for the second time in little more than two decades, the nation's Indigenous population responded quickly. As the Director of the Indian Affairs Branch of the Department of Mines and Resources noted:

They were not slow to come forward with offers of assistance in both men and money. About one hundred Indians had enlisted by the end of the fiscal year [March 1940] and the contribution of the Indians to the Red Cross and other funds amounted to over $1,300.54

Six years later the branch would report a total of 3,090 participants—including 72 women and seven First Nations members from the Yukon. However, the actual number of Indigenous recruits was likely higher than the figure recorded, since, again, some First Nations members and most Métis and Inuit were excluded from Indian Affairs' tally. As well, it was not known how many Indigenous people who no longer held official status served. Furthermore, an unknown number of Indigenous people from reserves near the Canada-United States border served with American Forces.

In contrast to the earlier war, most Indigenous peoples were not exempt from conscription. Compulsory service for home defence began in June 1940. This required a nationwide registration of everyone over the age of 16, so that the government could direct both national military service and any civilian labour that was related to the war effort. In 1942, compulsory overseas service was introduced, and the following year the government declared that, as British subjects, all able First Nations men of military age could be called up for training and service in Canada or overseas. Only the Inuit were exempt.

An Ojibwa from the Nipigon region of Ontario, Joan Martin (right) extended a family tradition by joining the Canadian Army. Her father, Ambrose served—and was wounded—during the First World War. Two of Joan's brothers, Lawrence and Ben, served in the Second World War, as did she. Along with their brother Ivan, the Martin boys later volunteered to go to Korea. (Lawrence Martin)

Many First Nations bands responded to the government's declaration with protest marches and petitions delivered to Ottawa. Their members questioned their requirement to serve in this war, when they had been exempt from compulsory service in the previous one. The First Nations conscription issue was raised in the House of Commons several times. In late 1944, it received the attention of the War Cabinet Committee, which decided to exempt some First Nations members: those from bands that had been assured during treaty negotiations that their members need never fear involvement in British battles. In all this affected more than 20,000 men.55

It is unlikely that many Indigenous men were among the approximately 2,500 Canadian conscripts sent to the front between late 1944 and the end of the war. By that time, most able-bodied First Nations men were already serving voluntarily. As early as 1942, opposition member John Diefenbaker noted in the House of Commons, "In Western Canada the reserves have been depleted of almost all the physically fit men."56 The same could be said of reserves across Canada.

Date modified:

Deux décennies plus tard

La Seconde Guerre mondiale

Le drapeau flottait fièrement, les fanfares jouaient et les troupes marchaient en quittant les réserves, les villages isolés, les rues des villes. Nous étions les soldats autochtones du Canada ... les guerriers dont la fière tradition remonte à des millénaires dans le passé obscur. Nous avons voyagé par bateau, par avion ... et la plupart du temps à pied. Dans des douzaines d'endroits - la France, l'Allemagne, l'Italie ... le Japon - nous avons hissé nos drapeaux, et nous avons été ensevelis dans ces terres étrangères.53

La réponse

En août 1940, la 2e Division d'infanterie canadienne s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretange. Pendant les six années de guerre, plus d'un million de Canadiens et de Canadiennes s'enrôlèrent, dont au moins 3 000 membres des Premières Nations et un nombre inconnu d'autochtones. (A.E. Armstrong / Ministre de la Défense nationale / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / PA-114797)

Le Canada déclara la guerre à l'Allemagne le 10 septembre 1939 et, pour la seconde fois en un peu plus de deux décennies, les Autochtones répondirent rapidement à l'appel. Comme le notait le directeur de la Direction des affaires indiennes du ministère des Mines et des Ressources :

Ils n'ont pas mis de temps à offrir de l'aide, en hommes et en argent. Environ une centaine d'Indiens s'étaient enrôlés avant la fin de l'exercice financier [mars 1940] et la contribution des Indiens à la Croix-Rouge et à d'autres fonds se chiffrait à plus de 1 300 $.54

Six ans plus tard, la Direction rapporte un total de 3 090 participants, y compris 72 femmes et 7 membres des Premières Nations du Yukon. Cependant, le nombre réel de recrues autochtones fut probablement plus élevé que les chiffres le laissent croire puisque, encore une fois, certains membres des Premières Nations, et la plupart des Métis et des Inuit, étaient exclus des calculs des Affaires indiennes. On ne sait pas non plus combien d'Autochtones affranchis ont servi. En outre, un nombre inconnu d'Autochtones canadiens des réserves situées près de la frontière canado-américaine ont servi dans les forces américaines.

Contrairement à la guerre précédente, la plupart des Autochtones ne furent pas exemptés de la conscription. Le service obligatoire pour la défense du pays débuta en juin 1940. Toute personne de plus de 16 ans devait s'enregistrer de sorte que le gouvernement puisse contrôler le service militaire national et diriger la main-d'oeuvre civile liée à l'effort de guerre. En 1942, le service militaire obligatoire outre-mer fut instauré et, l'année suivante, le gouvernement statua qu'en tant que sujets britanniques, tous les Autochtones aptes au service et d'âge militaire pourraient être appelés pour l'entraînement et le service au Canada ou outre-mer. Seuls les Inuit furent exemptés.

Joan Martin (à droite), une Ojibwa de la région de Nipigon en Ontario, poursuivit une tradition familiale en s'enrôlant dans l'armée Canadienne. Son père, Ambrose, avait servi dans l'armée et fut blessé lors de la Première Guerre mondiale. Deux frères de Joan, Lawrence et Ben, servirent tout comme elle au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Avec leur frères Ivan, Lawrence et Ben se portèrent plus tard volontaires pour servir en Corée. (Lawrence Martin)

Nombre de bandes répondirent à cet édit du gouvernement en organisant des marches de protestation et en présentant des pétitions à Ottawa. Leurs membres ne croyaient pas être tenus de servir alors qu'ils avaient été exemptés du service obligatoire lors de la guerre précédente. La question de la conscription des membres des Premières Nations fut soulevée à plusieurs reprises à la Chambre des communes. À la fin de 1944, elle reçut l'attention du Comité du Cabinet de guerre qui décida d'exempter certains membres des Premières Nations : soit ceux des bandes qui, au cours des négociations des traités, avaient reçu l'assurance que leurs membres n'auraient pas à craindre la participation aux batailles de la Grande-Bretagne. Cette décision touchait en tout plus de 20 000 hommes.55

Toutefois, il y eut probablement peu d'Autochtones parmi les quelque 2 500 conscrits canadiens qui furent envoyés au front, de la fin de 1944 jusqu'à la fin de la guerre. À ce moment-là, la plupart des membres des Premières Nations aptes au service s'étaient déjà portés volontaires. Dès 1942, un membre de l'opposition, John Diefenbaker, soulignait à la Chambre des communes : « Partout, dans l'Ouest, on a vidé les réserves de presque tous leurs hommes aptes au service. » 56 On pouvait dire de même de nombreuses autres réserves à travers le Canada.

Date de modification :