Veterans Return

Chief Joe Dreaver of Saskatchewan's Mistawasis Cree Band. (Gladys Johnston)

The Indigenous people of Canada volunteered to serve in the Second World War for many of the same reasons as they had in the First. Economic hardship was a compelling factor, as one Métis Veteran explains:

Men couldn't get a job... In the army they paid a dollar-and-a-half [per day]. The most you could get around here for farming or whatever, was a dollar. A dollar-and-a-half sounded awfully good.57

Concern over spreading Nazism also prompted enlistment. Another Métis Veteran considered this ideology to be the greatest threat to the future of his people:

Our true destiny is not bound by the success or failure attendant upon Métis deliberation. . . . . It is bound up with our continued existence as Canadians who fight [for] those liberties to which we are all devoted and the preservation of which is dependent upon our victory.58

As in the First World War, recruiters visited reserves, occasionally under the direction of the local Indian Affairs representatives. Some Indigenous Veterans say they felt pressured to join.59

In addition, many Indigenous participants were strongly motivated by the stories fathers and uncles had told about their military experiences two decades prior. Several had even experienced global warfare first-hand.

In the First World War, Dreaver was a sapper, and earned the Military Medal in Belgium. He would lose two brothers to the fighting. Nevertheless, he signed on again during the Second World War, serving in Canada as a member of the Veterans Guard.(Gladys Johnston)

Chief Joe Dreaver of the Mistawasis Cree Band was one of many Indigenous people who served in both World Wars. During the first, he was a sapper who earned the Military Medal at Ypres. Although he had seen war's ugliest side, having lost one brother at Vimy Ridge and another at home from wounds received at Vimy, he did not hesitate to offer assistance when war erupted again.

Dreaver left his farm and drove 17 men from his reserve north of Leask, Saskatchewan, to Saskatoon to enlist. Three of the men were his own sons.60 Two of his daughters also served, and a younger brother went overseas as well. At 48, the chief himself was past the age for overseas service. He remained in Canada with the Veterans Guard, watching over prisoners of war in Medicine Hat, Alberta.61

Like the Dreaver family, the McLeods of Cape Croker, Ontario, made an extraordinary family sacrifice. John, an Ojibwa, served overseas in the First World War and was a member of the Veterans Guard during the Second. Six of his sons and one of his daughters also enlisted. Two sons gave their lives, and another two were wounded. In 1972, John's wife, Mary Louise McLeod, was named Canada's Silver Cross Mother. Mrs. McLeod became the first Indigenous woman to lay a wreath at the National War Memorial in Ottawa on behalf of all Canadian mothers who lost children to the wars.

The Second World War also saw Tom Longboat return to service, as a member of the Veterans Guard. He was stationed at a military camp near Brantford. His two sons, Thomas Jr. and Theodore, saw action for the first time. Though not with the army, Francis Pegahmagabow helped the war effort by working as a security guard for a defence industry near the Parry Island Reserve.

In 1972, as Canada's representative Silver Cross Mother, Mrs. Mary McLeod (centre) of Cape Croker laid a wreath at the National War Memorial. Mrs. McLeod lost two sons in the Second World War, another two were wounded. Here she and daughters Marie (left) and Lila examine the Books of Remembrance in the Memorial Chapel of the Peace Tower on Parliament Hill. (Legion Magazine)

Date modified:

Le retour des anciens combattants

Le chef Joe Dreaver de la bande des Cris de Mistawasis en Saskatchewan. (Gladys Johnston)

Les Autochtones du Canada se portèrent volontaires pour servir au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale pour des raisons semblables à celles des Autochtones qui s'étaient portés volontaires lors de la Première Guerre. Comme un ancien combattant métis l'explique, les difficultés financières les y obligeaient :

On ne trouvait pas d'emploi. ... Dans l'armée, la solde était d'un dollar et cinquante [par jour]. Ici, pour du travail sur une ferme ou quoi que ce soit, on pouvait toucher au plus un dollar. Un dollar et cinquante, c'était très alléchant.57

La crainte du nazisme qui se propageait incita aussi les Autochtones à s'enrôler. Voici ce que disait un autre ancien combattant métis à propos de cette idéologie qu'il considérait comme la plus grande menace à l'avenir de son peuple :

Notre véritable destin n'est pas lié au succès ou à l'échec des délibérations des Métis. ... Il est lié au maintien de notre existence en tant que Canadiens qui combattent pour les libertés que nous défendons et dont dépend notre victoire.58

Comme lors de la Première Guerre mondiale, les agents de recrutement se rendirent dans les réserves, parfois sous la direction des représentants locaux des Affaires indiennes. Certains anciens combattants autochtones prétendent qu'ils se sentirent obligés de s'enrôler.59

En outre, nombre d'Autochtones furent fortement motivés par les récits de leurs pères et de leurs oncles qui avaient servi deux décennies plus tôt et dont plusieurs avaient connu les affres de la guerre.

Au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale, Dreaver était sapeur et obtint la Médaille militaire en Belgique. Il perdit deux frères au combat. Néanmoins, il s'enrôla de nouveau lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale et servit au Canada dans la Garde des anciens combattants. (Gladys Johnston)

Joe Dreaver, chef de la bande des Cris de Mistawasis, fut l'un des nombreux Autochtones qui servirent au cours des deux Guerres mondiales. Pendant la Première Guerre, il fut sapeur et gagna la Médaille militaire à Ypres. Dreaver avait connu les horreurs de la guerre. Il y avait perdu un frère à la crête de Vimy et un autre qui mourut par suite des blessures qu'il avait subies à Vimy. Il n'hésita pas à offrir son aide lorsque la guerre éclata de nouveau.

Dreaver abandonna sa ferme et conduisit 17 hommes de sa réserve au nord de Leask, en Saskatchewan, jusqu'à Saskatoon pour s'enrôler. Parmi eux se trouvaient trois de ses fils.60 Deux de ses filles s'enrôlèrent aussi et un frère plus jeune alla aussi servir outre-mer. À 48 ans, le chef n'était plus d'âge militaire pour le service outre-mer. Il resta au Canada dans la Garde des anciens combattants et surveillait des prisonniers de guerre à Medecine Hat, en Alberta.61

Comme la famille Dreaver, le sacrifice des McLeod de Cape Croker, en Ontario, fut exemplaire. John, un Ojibwa, servit outre-mer pendant la Première Guerre mondiale et fut membre de la Garde des anciens combattants au cours de la Seconde Guerre. Six de ses fils et l'une de ses filles s'enrôlèrent aussi. Deux de ses fils donnèrent leur vie et deux autres furent blessés. En 1972, l'épouse de John, Mary Louise McLeod, fut choisie pour représenter les Mères décorées de la Croix d'argent. Mme McLeod fut la première Autochtone du Canada à déposer une gerbe au Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada, à Ottawa, au nom de toutes les mères canadiennes qui ont perdu des enfants au cours des guerres.

Au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Tom Longboat servit au sein de la Garde des anciens combattants dans un camp militaire près de Brantford. Ses deux fils, Thomas et Théodore, s'engagèrent dans les combats pour la première fois. Bien que civil, Francis Pegahmagabow participa à l'effort de guerre en travaillant comme gardien de sécurité dans une industrie de la défense près de la réserve Parry Island.

En 1972, Madame Mary McLeod (au centre), de Cape Croker, qui représentait toutes les mères décorées de la Croix d'argent, déposa une couronne au Monument commémoratif de guerre au Canada. Mme McLeod perdit deux fils lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale et deux autres de ses fils y furent blessés. Ici, en compagnie de deux de ses filles, Marie (à gauche) et Lila, elle examine les Livres du Souvenir dans la Chapelle du Souvenir de la tour de la Paix sur la colline du Parlement. (Revue Legion)

Date de modification :