Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Income Replacement Benefit tool

Explore different payment scenarios

Veterans who released from the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) and participate in the Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC) rehabilitation program qualify for the Income Replacement Benefit.

This monthly benefit provides income support to Veterans who experience barriers to re-establishment in post-service life due to a health problem resulting primarily from service.

Use this tool to learn more about what the Income Replacement Benefit will mean for different Veterans, or their survivors.

Income Replacement Benefit Tool for Veterans

You have indicated that you would like to learn what the Income Replacement Benefit could mean financially for CAF Veterans.

VAC must consider several factors when we calculate Veterans’ Income Replacement Benefit amounts. This tool lets you combine different variables and view the resulting estimated Income Replacement Benefit amount.

Instructions

Select a variable from each drop-down box to reveal a different Income Replacement Benefit monthly payment.

What is a Diminished Earning Capacity status? Diminished Earning Capacity means that the Veteran is incapacitated by a permanent physical or mental health problem that prevents the Veteran from performing any occupation that would be considered suitable gainful employment.

Outcome

After age 65, the amount will change to 70% of the benefit before age 65 before income offsets and taxes per year.

Please note that the career progression factor of 1% that you may be eligible for is not included in this calculation. For more information on the career progression factor, please see the Additional Context section below.

Reset All

What are income offsets? Income offsets are amounts you receive from other sources, such as benefits payable under the Canadian Forces Superannuation Act.

Outcome

A Veteran who fits this scenario, like [name] is likely to receive monthly Income Replacement Benefits of [$X,XXX], [gross/net]per month, until [his/her] rehabilitation program is finished.

Please note that the career progression factor of 1% that you may be eligible for is not included in this calculation. For more information on the career progression factor, please see the Additional Context section below.

Reset All

Additional Context

  • The Canadian Armed Forces Long Term Disability (CAF LTD) Plan

    The CAF LTD plan is the CAF's group disability insurance plan that provides vocational rehabilitation, vocational assistance and income support to all medically releasing CAF members. It also provides support to members who voluntarily release and qualify as totally disabled. All CAF members are automatically covered by the CAF-LTD plan starting on their day of enrollment.

    SISIP Financial administers the CAF LTD insurance plan on behalf of the Chief of the Defence Staff for CAF members and Veterans.

  • Indexation

    Indexation ensures that the purchasing power of money remains the same after inflation. It also ensures that purchasing power remains the same over time. Simply put, as items like food become more expensive, indexation means we provide Veterans with more money to ensure they can keep buying these things.

  • Career Progression Factor

    For Veterans who have not yet served a full career in the military, the Income Replacement Benefit will be increased by 1% every year until the Veteran reaches what would have been 20 years of service or age 60. It does not represent the actual career progression an individual Veteran may have had in the military.

  • Employment Earnings

    To encourage Veterans to engage in activities that are beneficial and meaningful to them, the new benefit will allow recipients to earn up to $20,000 from employment per year before the benefit is adjusted rather than immediately reducing benefits, as is currently the case.

    The yearly amount of $20,000 is being used as it is approximately the maximum amount an individual can earn before taxes are deducted in the most generous jurisdiction (Alberta).

    Employment income in excess of $20,000 will be fully offset dollar for dollar from the IRB amount.

  • The Income Replacement Benefit is taxable

    This benefit is taxable because it is a replacement for income that would have been earned should the Veteran not have had an injury or illness related to service.

Additional Context

  • Rehabilitation Services and Vocational Assistance Program

    Participation in VACs Rehabilitation Services and Vocational Assistance Program is mandatory to receive IRB, unless it is determined it will not improve the Veteran's earnings capacity.

  • The Canadian Armed Forces Long Term Disability (CAF LTD) Plan

    The CAF LTD plan is the CAF's group disability insurance plan that provides vocational rehabilitation, vocational assistance and income support to all medically releasing CAF members. It also provides support to members who voluntarily release and qualify as totally disabled. All CAF members are automatically covered by the CAF-LTD plan starting on their day of enrollment.

    SISIP Financial administers the CAF LTD insurance plan on behalf of the Chief of the Defence Staff for CAF members and Veterans.

  • Employment Earnings

    To encourage Veterans to engage in activities that are beneficial and meaningful to them, the new benefit will allow recipients to earn up to $20,000 from employment per calendar year before the benefit is adjusted rather than immediately reducing benefits, as is currently the case.

    The amount of $20,000 is being used as it is approximately the maximum amount an individual can earn before taxes are deducted in the most generous jurisdiction (Alberta).

    Employment income in excess of $20,000 will be fully offset dollar for dollar from the IRB amount.

  • The Income Replacement Benefit is taxable

    This benefit is taxable because it is a replacement for income that would have been earned should the Veteran not have had an injury or illness related to service.

  • Career Progression

    A Veteran receiving IRB has their benefit calculated based on 90% of their pre-release salary, indexed annually for inflation. They receive this while pursuing rehabilitation services. If a Veteran is ultimately determined to have a diminished earning capacity and requires income support indefinitely, they receive the 1% career progression factor applied to their monthly military salary at release, every year until the Veteran reaches what would have been 20 years of service or age 60.

    Survivors of Veterans who died of a service related cause prior to age 65 are also eligible for the career progression factor of 1%. The adjusted military salary with career progression will be used for the IRB calculation starting the month in which VAC determines that the Veteran will receive the IRB for life.

    Before 1 April 2019, the career progression factor is only payable to Veterans with Diminished Earning Capacity decisions.

Income Replacement Benefit for Survivors

You have indicated that you would like to learn what the Income Replacement Benefit could mean financially for survivors of CAF Veterans.

VAC must consider several factors when we calculate survivors’ Income Replacement Benefit amounts. This tool lets you combine different variables and view the resulting estimated Income Replacement Benefit amount.

Instructions

Select a variable from each drop-down box to reveal a different Income Replacement Benefit monthly payment.

Questions about Pension for Life survivor benefits?

Learn more by reading commonly asked questions and answers about survivor benefits.
Pension for Life Q&A

Outcome

Please note that the career progression factor of 1% that you may be eligible for is not included in this calculation. For more information on the career progression factor, please see the Additional Context section below.

Reset All

What are income offsets as they pertain to survivors? Income offsets are amounts you receive from other sources, in respect of a deceased Veteran, such as survivor benefits paid under the Canadian Forces Superannuation Act.

Additional Context

  • Indexation

    Indexation ensures that the purchasing power of money remains the same after inflation. It also ensures that purchasing power remains the same over time. Simply put, as items like food become more expensive, indexation means we provide Veterans with more money to ensure they can keep buying these things.

  • The Income Replacement Benefit is taxable

    This benefit is taxable because it is a replacement for income that would have been earned should the Veteran not have had an injury or illness related to service.

  • Division of Benefit

    A surviving spouse or partner receives 100 percent of the benefit in the event of no surviving dependent children.

    In cases with a surviving spouse or partner and one or more surviving dependent children, the spouse or partner receives 50 percent of the benefit. The surviving children collectively receive the other half.

    In cases without a surviving spouse or partner, the benefit is divided equally among surviving children.

  • Career Progression

    A Veteran receiving IRB has their benefit calculated based on 90% of their pre-release salary, indexed annually for inflation. They receive this while pursuing rehabilitation services. If a Veteran is ultimately determined to have a diminished earning capacity and requires income support indefinitely, they receive the 1% career progression factor applied to their monthly military salary at release, every year until the Veteran reaches what would have been 20 years of service or age 60.

    Survivors of Veterans who died of a service related cause prior to age 65 are also eligible for the career progression factor of 1%. The adjusted military salary with career progression will be used for the IRB calculation starting the month in which VAC determines that the Veteran will receive the IRB for life.

    Before 1 April 2019, the career progression factor is only payable to Veterans with Diminished Earning Capacity decisions.

Questions and Answers

  • How does the online tool work?

    The online Income Replacement Benefit (IRB) tool is a web-based tool that can show how the calculation of an IRB would work for a either a Veteran or a survivor, with, or without a Diminished Earning Capacity (DEC) decision for a variety of ages, ranks and salary ranges, and years served.

    The tool has drop-down boxes. For each box, you can choose an option. The resulting dollar figure is an estimate of the Income Replacement Benefit based on the options you chose.

  • I am currently receiving financial benefits from the Department, when will I know what my exact amount of IRB will be come April 1, 2019?

    After Pension for Life comes into effect on April 1, 2019, you will be provided with an official decision letter that explains the Income Replacement Benefit amount you will receive.

  • I have a scenario that isn’t part of online tool. Where can I get information?

    The tool was developed to illustrate different scenarios. We know that not all scenarios are included. If your scenario is not similar to any of those in the online tool, after Pension for Life comes into effect on April 1, 2019, you will be provided with an official decision letter that explains the Income Replacement Benefit amount you will receive.

  • Where can I find more information on the Income Replacement Benefit?

    A set of questions and answers and a factsheet on the Income Replacement Benefit is available on our website here: Q&A

Date modified:

Outil pour la prestation de remplacement du revenu

Étudier différents scénarios de paiement

Les vétérans qui ont été libérés des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) et participent au programme de réadaptation d’Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC) sont admissibles à la prestation de remplacement du revenu.

Cette prestation mensuelle offre un soutien du revenu aux vétérans aux prises avec des entraves à la réinsertion dans la vie civile après le service militaire, en raison d’un problème de santé découlant principalement de leur service.

Utilisez cet outil afin d’en savoir plus sur ce que représentera la prestation de remplacement du revenu pour les différents vétérans ou leurs survivants.

Prestation de remplacement du revenu destinée aux vétérans

Vous avez indiqué que vous souhaiteriez en savoir plus sur ce que pourrait représenter financièrement la prestation de remplacement du revenu pour les vétérans des FAC.

ACC doit prendre en compte plusieurs facteurs au moment de calculer les montants de la prestation de remplacement du revenu destinée aux vétérans. Cet outil vous permet de combiner différentes variables et de visualiser le montant estimatif de la prestation de remplacement du revenu qui en résulte.

Directives

Sélectionnez une variable dans chaque liste déroulante afin d’afficher un paiement mensuel différent de la prestation de remplacement du revenu.

Qu’est-ce qu’un statut de la diminution de la capacité de gain? La diminution de la capacité de gain signifie que le vétéran, en raison d’un problème de santé physique ou mentale permanent, se retrouve dans l’incapacité d’accomplir tout travail considéré comme un emploi rémunérateur et convenable.

Résultat

Après l’âge de 65 ans, le montant sera modifié de façon à équivaloir à 70 % de la prestation reçue avant l’âge de 65 ans par année avant déductions de revenu et impôt.

Veuillez noter que le facteur d’avancement professionnel de 1 % auquel vous pouvez être admissible n’est pas inclus dans ce calcul. Pour plus d’informations sur le facteur d’avancement professionnel, veuillez consulter la section Contexte complémentaire important ci dessous.

Effacer tout

En quoi consistent les déductions de revenu? Les déductions de revenu sont des montants que vous recevez d’autres sources, comme les prestations payables en vertu de la Loi sur la pension de retraite des Forces canadiennes.

Résultat

Veuillez noter que le facteur d’avancement professionnel de 1 % auquel vous pouvez être admissible n’est pas inclus dans ce calcul. Pour plus d’informations sur le facteur d’avancement professionnel, veuillez consulter la section Contexte complémentaire important ci dessous.

Reset All

Contexte complémentaire important

  • Le régime d’Assurance invalidité prolongée des Forces armées canadiennes (AIP FAC)

    Le régime d’AIP FAC est le régime collectif d’assurance invalidité des FAC qui offre des services de réadaptation professionnel, de l’assistance professionnelle et un soutien du revenu à tous les membres des FAC libérés pour raisons médicales. Il fournit aussi du soutien aux membres qui quittent volontairement les FAC et qui sont en situation d’invalidité totale. Tous les membres des FAC sont par défaut couverts par le régime d’AIP des FAC à partir du jour de leur enrôlement.

    La Financière SISIP administre le régime d’AIP des FAC au nom du chef d’état-major de la Défense pour les membres et les vétérans des FAC.

  • Indexation

    L’indexation veille à ce que le pouvoir d’achat d’une monnaie demeure le même après l’inflation. Elle veille aussi à ce que le pouvoir d’achat demeure le même au fil du temps. En termes simples, lorsque des articles comme des aliments deviennent plus chers, l’indexation signifie que nous donnons plus d’argent aux vétérans pour nous assurer qu’ils puissent continuer d’acheter ces choses.

  • Facteur d’avancement professionnel

    Pour les vétérans qui n’ont pas encore fait une carrière entière dans les Forces armées, la prestation de remplacement du revenu augmentera de 1 % chaque année, jusqu’à ce que le vétéran atteigne 20 années de service ou 60 ans. Ce facteur ne représente pas l’avancement professionnel réel d’un vétéran individuel dans les Forces armées.

  • Revenus d’emploi

    Pour inviter les vétérans à participer à des activités qui leur sont bénéfiques et qui leur tiennent à cœur, la nouvelle prestation permettra aux bénéficiaires de gagner un revenu d’emploi pouvant aller jusqu’à 20 000 $ par année civile avant que l’indemnité ne soit rajustée plutôt que de réduire immédiatement les prestations, comme c’est actuellement le cas.

    Le montant de 20 000 $ est utilisé, car c’est environ le montant maximal qu’une personne peut gagner avant la déduction des impôts dans la province la plus généreuse (Alberta).

    Les revenus d’emploi supérieurs à 20 000 $ seront déduits entièrement (dollar par dollar) du montant de la PRR.

  • La prestation de remplacement du revenu est imposable

    Cette prestation est imposable parce qu’elle remplace un revenu que le vétéran aurait gagné s’il n’avait pas subi une blessure ou une maladie liée au service.

Contexte complémentaire important

  • Rehabilitation Services and Vocational Assistance Program

    La participation au programme Services de réadaptation et d’assistance professionnelle d’ACC est obligatoire pour recevoir la PRR, sauf si on détermine qu’elle n’améliorera pas la capacité de gain du vétéran.

  • Le régime d’Assurance invalidité prolongée des Forces armées canadiennes (AIP FAC)

    Le régime d’AIP FAC est le régime collectif d’assurance invalidité des FAC qui offre des services de réadaptation professionnel, de l’assistance professionnelle et un soutien du revenu à tous les membres des FAC libérés pour raisons médicales. Il fournit aussi du soutien aux membres qui quittent volontairement les FAC et qui sont en situation d’invalidité totale. Tous les membres des FAC sont par défaut couverts par le régime d’AIP des FAC à partir du jour de leur enrôlement.

    La Financière SISIP administre le régime d’AIP des FAC au nom du chef d’état-major de la Défense pour les membres et les vétérans des FAC.

  • Revenus d’emploi

    Pour inviter les vétérans à participer à des activités qui leur sont bénéfiques et qui leur tiennent à cœur, la nouvelle prestation permettra aux bénéficiaires de gagner un revenu d’emploi pouvant aller jusqu’à 20 000 $ par année civile avant que l’indemnité ne soit rajustée plutôt que de réduire immédiatement les prestations, comme c’est actuellement le cas.

    Le montant de 20 000 $ est utilisé, car c’est environ le montant maximal qu’une personne peut gagner avant la déduction des impôts dans la province la plus généreuse (Alberta).

    Les revenus d’emploi supérieurs à 20 000 $ seront déduits entièrement (dollar par dollar) du montant de la PRR.

  • La prestation de remplacement du revenu est imposable

    Cette prestation est imposable parce qu’elle remplace un revenu que le vétéran aurait gagné s’il n’avait pas subi une blessure ou une maladie liée au service.

  • Avancement professionnel

    La PRR d’un vétéran est calculée en se fondant sur 90 % de sa solde avant sa libération et est indexée annuellement en fonction de l’inflation. Le vétéran touche la PRR pendant qu’il reçoit des services de réadaptation. Si on détermine en définitive qu’un vétéran a une diminution de la capacité de gain et doit recevoir une aide au revenu indéfiniment, le facteur d’avancement professionnel de 1 % s’applique chaque année à sa solde mensuelle à la libération, jusqu’à ce qu’il atteigne l’équivalent de 20 ans de service ou 60 ans.

    Les survivants de vétérans décédés d’une cause liée au service avant 65 ans sont également admissibles au facteur d’avancement professionnel de 1 %. La solde rajustée en fonction de l’avancement professionnel sert à calculer la PRR à compter du mois durant lequel ACC détermine que le vétéran recevra la PRR à vie.

    Avant le 1er avril 2019, le facteur d’avancement professionnel ne peut être versé qu’aux vétérans ayant bénéficié d’une décision relative à la diminution de la capacité de gain.

Prestation de remplacement du revenu destinée aux survivants

Vous avez indiqué que vous souhaiteriez en savoir plus sur ce que pourrait représenter financièrement la prestation de remplacement du revenu pour les survivants des vétérans des FAC.

ACC doit prendre en compte plusieurs facteurs pour calculer les montants de la prestation de remplacement du revenu destinée aux survivants. Cet outil vous permet de combiner différentes variables et de visualiser le montant estimatif de la prestation de remplacement du revenu qui en résulte.

Directives

Sélectionnez une variable dans chaque liste déroulante afin d’afficher un paiement mensuel différent de la prestation de remplacement du revenu.

Avez-vous des questions sur les prestations de survivant au titre de la Pension à vie?

Apprenez-en plus en consultant la foire aux questions sur les prestations de survivant.
Pension à vie

Résultat

Veuillez noter que le facteur d’avancement professionnel de 1 % auquel vous pouvez être admissible n’est pas inclus dans ce calcul. Pour plus d’informations sur le facteur d’avancement professionnel, veuillez consulter la section Contexte complémentaire important ci dessous.

Effacer tout

En quoi consistent les déductions de revenu en ce qui a trait aux survivants? Les déductions de revenu sont des montants que vous recevez d’autres sources, concernant un vétéran décédé, comme les prestations de survivant versées en vertu de la Loi sur la pension de retraite des Forces canadiennes.

Contexte complémentaire important

  • Indexation

    L’indexation veille à ce que le pouvoir d’achat d’une monnaie demeure le même après l’inflation. Elle veille aussi à ce que le pouvoir d’achat demeure le même au fil du temps. En termes simples, lorsque des articles comme des aliments deviennent plus chers, l’indexation signifie que nous donnons plus d’argent aux vétérans pour nous assurer qu’ils puissent continuer d’acheter ces choses.

  • La prestation de remplacement du revenu est imposable

    Cette prestation est imposable parce qu’elle remplace un revenu que le vétéran aurait gagné s’il n’avait pas subi une blessure ou une maladie liée au service.

  • Répartition de la prestation

    Le conjoint ou le partenaire survivant reçoit la totalité de la prestation s’il n’y a pas d’enfant à charge survivant.

    Dans le cas d’un conjoint ou d’un partenaire survivant et d’un ou de plusieurs enfants à charge survivants, le conjoint ou le partenaire reçoit 50 % de la prestation. Les enfants survivants reçoivent collectivement l’autre moitié.

    Dans les cas où il n’y a pas de conjoint ou de partenaire survivant, la prestation est répartie également entre les enfants survivants.

  • Avancement professionnel

    La PRR d’un vétéran est calculée en se fondant sur 90 % de sa solde avant sa libération et est indexée annuellement en fonction de l’inflation. Le vétéran touche la PRR pendant qu’il reçoit des services de réadaptation. Si on détermine en définitive qu’un vétéran a une diminution de la capacité de gain et doit recevoir une aide au revenu indéfiniment, le facteur d’avancement professionnel de 1 % s’applique chaque année à sa solde mensuelle à la libération, jusqu’à ce qu’il atteigne l’équivalent de 20 ans de service ou 60 ans.

    Les survivants de vétérans décédés d’une cause liée au service avant 65 ans sont également admissibles au facteur d’avancement professionnel de 1 %. La solde rajustée en fonction de l’avancement professionnel sert à calculer la PRR à compter du mois durant lequel ACC détermine que le vétéran recevra la PRR à vie.

    Avant le 1er avril 2019, le facteur d’avancement professionnel ne peut être versé qu’aux vétérans ayant bénéficié d’une décision relative à la diminution de la capacité de gain.

Questions and Answers

  • Comment fonctionne l’outil en ligne?

    L’outil pour la prestation de remplacement du revenu (PRR) est un outil Web qui peut reproduire la façon dont le calcul d’une PRR est effectué en ce qui concerne un vétéran ou un survivant, avec ou sans une décision sur la diminution de la capacité de gain (DCG), en fonction d’un éventail d’âges, de grades, d’échelles salariales et d’années de service.

    L’outil comporte des listes déroulantes. Dans chaque liste vous pouvez sélectionner une option. La valeur en dollars qui en résulte est une estimation de la prestation de remplacement du revenu, fondée sur les options que vous choisissez.

  • Je reçois actuellement des avantages financiers du Ministère. À quel moment apprendrai-je le montant exact de ma PRR une fois que nous sommes rendus au 1er avril 2019?

    Après l’entrée en vigueur de la Pension à vie le 1er avril 2019, vous recevrez une lettre de décision officielle dans laquelle sera précisé le montant de la prestation de remplacement du revenu que vous recevrez.

  • Le scénario qui me concerne ne figure pas dans l’outil en ligne. Où puis-je obtenir des renseignements?

    . L’outil a été conçu afin d’illustrer divers scénarios. Nous savons que tous les scénarios ne sont pas inclus dans l’outil. Si votre scénario ne ressemble à aucun de ceux de l’outil en ligne, après l’entrée en vigueur de la Pension à vie le 1er avril 2019, vous recevrez une lettre de décision officielle précisant le montant de la prestation de remplacement du revenu que vous recevrez.

  • Où puis-je trouver plus de renseignements sur la prestation de remplacement du revenu?

    Une série de questions et réponses et une fiche de renseignements sur la prestation de remplacement du revenu sont disponibles sur notre site Web à : Q&R

Date de modification :