Centre of Excellence on Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) and Related Mental Health Conditions

The Centre of Excellence has been established to provide better access to information, research, tools and expertise on post traumatic stress disorder and related mental health conditions.

Purpose

The focus of the Centre of Excellence on PTSD and related mental health conditions is to create knowledge networks with researchers across the country to increase expertise on military and Veteran mental health, suicide prevention and substance use disorder.


A focus on sharing knowledge

The Centre will create new knowledge on Veteran mental health treatments that work and place it directly into the hands of mental health professionals and others working with Veterans on a daily basis.

Mental health conditions are a common illness or injury for Canada’s military men and women. Of all Veterans who receive a disability benefit from Veterans Affairs Canada, 20 per cent receive it for a mental health condition. Of this group, 73 per cent receive their disability benefit for PTSD.Footnote 1

The Centre of Excellence is a hub for information and resources on Veteran-specific mental health treatment. It will share evidence-based treatment protocols and best practices among the Veterans Affairs Canada network of Operational Stress Injury Clinics, the Canadian Forces Health Services and with mental health professionals across the country.

First responders, their families and other Canadians affected by PTSD or a related mental health condition will also benefit from the information and knowledge developed at the centre.


Frequently asked questions

Where do I go if I need help with my mental health?

If you need immediate assistance call 9-1-1 or go to your nearest hospital.

You can speak with a mental health professional by calling the VAC Assistance Service toll free at 1-800-268-7708 or TDD/TTY: 1-800-567-5803 for the hearing impaired.

For information on our services and support, call Veterans Affairs Canada between Monday and Friday from 8:30 – 4:30 at 1-866-522-2122 or TDD/TTY: 1-833-921-0071 for the hearing impaired.


Where is the Centre of Excellence located?

The Centre of Excellence is located in Ottawa, at the Royal Ottawa Mental Health Centre. Researchers, physicians and other experts across Canada in universities, research centers and in the clinical field will contribute their knowledge and expertise through joint projects and partnerships. The knowledge and learning from the Centre of Excellence will be available to health care providers, no matter where they are located across the country.


Why was The Royal chosen as the partner for the Centre of Excellence?

The Royal is a leading teaching and research hospital. It is uniquely positioned in this relationship with VAC because it is home to NATO’s first research chair in military mental health and Brain Imaging Centre that has state-of-the-art technology for conducting clinical trials. Through the work of its Operational Stress Injury Clinic – the only one in Canada located within a mental health care and research facility – The Royal also has a strong foundation of caring for the mental health needs of Veterans and their families.


How much money is VAC spending on this Centre of Excellence?

Beginning in 2018, Veterans Affairs Canada is investing $17.5 million over four years, and then $9.2 million per year after that.

View all questions and answers related to the Centre of Excellence.

Date modified:

Centre d’excellence sur le trouble de stress post traumatique (TSPT) et les états de santé mentale connexes

Le Centre d’excellence a été mis sur pied afin d’offrir un meilleur accès à l’information, à la recherche, aux outils et à l’expertise sur le trouble de stress post traumatique et les états de santé mentale connexes.

Objectif

Le Centre d’excellence sur le TSPT et les états de santé mentale connexes vise principalement à créer des réseaux de connaissances avec les chercheurs de partout au pays pour accroître l’expertise sur la santé mentale des militaires et des vétérans, la prévention du suicide et les troubles liés à la consommation de substances.


Accent sur le partage de connaissances

Le Centre permettra d’acquérir des connaissances sur les traitements en santé mentale efficaces pour les vétérans, lesquelles pourront bénéficier directement aux professionnels de la santé mentale et aux autres intervenants qui travaillent avec les vétérans au quotidien.

Les troubles de santé mentale sont courants chez les militaires canadiens, hommes et femmes. De tous les vétérans qui reçoivent des prestations d’invalidité d’Anciens Combattants Canada, 20 p. 100 les reçoivent pour un problème de santé mentale. De ce groupe, 73 p. 100 reçoivent leurs prestations d’invalidité pour le TSPT.note de bas de page1

Le Centre d’excellence est une source de renseignements et de ressources sur les traitements de santé mentale destinés aux vétérans. Il communiquera des protocoles de traitement fondés sur des données probantes et des pratiques exemplaires au réseau de cliniques pour traumatismes liés au stress opérationnel d’Anciens Combattants Canada, aux Services de santé des Forces canadiennes et aux professionnels de la santé mentale à l’échelle du pays.

Les premiers intervenants, leur famille et les autres Canadiens touchés par le TSPT ou un problème de santé mentale connexe bénéficieront également de la recherche effectuée par le Centre ainsi que de l’information et des connaissances acquises par ce dernier.


Foire aux questions

Où dois-je aller si j’ai besoin d’aide en lien avec ma santé mentale?

Si vous avez besoin d’aide immédiatement, composez le 911 ou rendez-vous à l’hôpital le plus près.

Vous pouvez parler à un professionnel de la santé mentale en appelant le Service d’aide d’ACC au numéro sans frais 1-800-268-7708. Le numéro ATS est le 1-800-567-5803 pour les personnes ayant une déficience auditive.

Pour en savoir plus sur les services et le soutien que nous offrons, appelez Anciens Combattants Canada du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h 30 à 16 h 30 au 1-866-522-2022. Le numéro ATS est le 1-833-921-0071 pour les personnes ayant une déficience auditive.


Où le Centre d’excellence est-il situé?

Le Centre d’excellence est situé à Ottawa, dans le Centre de santé mentale Royal Ottawa. Des chercheurs, des médecins et d’autres experts de partout au Canada travaillant dans des universités, des centres de recherche et le domaine clinique y apporteront leurs connaissances et leur savoir faire dans le cadre de projets conjoints et de partenariats. Les connaissances acquises par le Centre d’excellence seront mises à la disposition des fournisseurs de soins de santé, où qu’ils se trouvent au Canada.


Pourquoi le Royal a-t-il été choisi comme partenaire du Centre d’excellence?

Le Royal est un centre hospitalier universitaire et de recherche réputé. Il est au premier rang de ce partenariat avec ACC du fait qu’il héberge la première chaire de recherche sur la santé mentale chez les militaires de l’OTAN ainsi qu’un centre d’imagerie cérébrale, qui utilise des technologies de pointe pour mener des essais cliniques. De par les travaux de sa clinique pour traumatismes liés au stress opérationnel, la seule clinique du Canada établie dans un établissement de recherche et de soins de santé mentale, le Royal jouit également d’une solide tradition de soins de santé mentale prodigués aux vétérans et à leur famille.


Quelle somme ACC consacrera-t-il au Centre d’excellence?

Anciens Combattants Canada investira 17,5 millions de dollars sur une période de quatre ans (cette période a débuté en 2018); et ensuite, il investira 9,2 millions de dollars par année.

Voir toutes les questions et réponses relatives au Centre d’excellence.

Date de modification :