Tales of Animals in War - 2006 Edition - Introduction

More Than Mascots: Animals Aid in War and Peace Support Missions

Remembrance Club Members Share Stories of Animals in War. Left to Right: Squeaker, Bonfire Jr., Simone, Gandy, Ellie and Win

Imagine being a pigeon awarded a medal for bravery in war! This is just one of the interesting stories you’ll find in this special newspaper produced for you by Veterans Affairs Canada.

The members of the Remembrance Club (Gandy, Squeaker, Win, Simone, Ellie and Bonfire Jr.) have ancestors who were pretty amazing animal heroes. They worked to help humans in times of war and peace support missions.

Every Remembrance Day (November 11), it is important to remember the men and women who served and died in war and peace support efforts. It is also nice to remember the brave efforts of the animals who served and helped these people.

In this newspaper you will read the incredible stories about the relatives of the members of the Remembrance Club. Their relatives saved lives, pulled supplies over mountains and through streams, carried the mail, delivered messages, sniffed for bombs and remained loyal friends to the men and women in Canada’s military. These brave animals helped Canadian soldiers and people in countries around the world.

Glow Worms Do Their Part

Glowworm

Soldiers in the First World War spent a lot of time in trenches and tunnels. They could not use lanterns at night because the enemy would see them. So, soldiers used glow worms to read important messages or maps in the dark. The worms give off a blue-green light.


Rats!

Rats!

Rats still serve soldiers today! Gambian giant pouched rats locate landmines in African fields. The rats can smell the mines, and aren’t big enough to make them explode. The rats get a banana or a peanut when they help find a mine.

Tunnelers' Friends

During the Second World War, soldiers sent doves and rats into the tunnels behind enemy lines to detect bad air and poison gas.

Pest Brigade

Not all animals in war were helpful. During the day, mockingbirds, toads and moths bothered soldiers with their cooing, croaking and scurrying. At night, when soldiers needed their rest or were on guard, night pests scared them.

Smart Dogs Save Lives: Meet Fanny and Alex, Mine Detection Specialists!

Fanny and Alex Cards

Mine Detection Dogs Fanny and Alex Source: Canadian Landmine Foundation

Fanny and Alex, two German Shepherd dogs, spent six months training to recognize the smell of the explosives in landmines. Terrible injuries and death can result when someone steps on one of these buried explosives. Fanny and Alex and other “de-mining dogs” sniff out some of the millions of landmines buried around the world.

The Dickin Medal

Dickin Medal

The Dickin Medal, which was created in 1943 by Maria Dickin, is awarded to animals for their brave acts. Only 60 animals have received the Dickin Medal: 32 pigeons, 24 dogs, three horses, and one cat - Simon!

The words on the medal say: “For Gallantry” and “We also Serve.”

Don't Buy It

Poster: If you don't need it...Don't buy it

Wars cost a lot of money. During the Second World War, this poster reminds people to be careful about how much they are spending. Money is needed for soldiers’ food, clothing, and weapons.

Copyright

© Library and Archives, CWM 19700186-048 (Alex McLaren)

Human and Animal Partnerships
Date modified:

Histoires d'animaux à la guerre - Édition 2006 - Introduction

Plus que de simples mascottes : les animaux à la guerre et dans les missions de soutien de la paix

Les membres du Club du Souvenir nous font partager leurs histoires d’animaux à la guerre. De gauche à droite : Siffleur, Bonfire Jr., Simone, Gandi, Ellie et Win

Imaginez que vous êtes un pigeon à qui on remet une médaille pour vos actes de bravoure! C’est une des histoires passionnantes que vous pourrez lire dans ce journal spécialement publié par Anciens Combattants Canada.

Les membres du Club du Souvenir (Gandi, Siffleur, Win, Simone, Ellie et Bonfire Jr.) ont des ancêtres qui se sont conduits en héros pour aider les humains en période de guerre et de mission de maintien de la paix.

À chaque jour du Souvenir (le 11 novembre), nous devons nous souvenir des hommes et femmes morts au combat ou au cours de missions de maintien de la paix. Il ne faut pas non plus oublier la bravoure des animaux qui les ont aidés et servis.

Ce journal contient d’incroyables histoires sur les ancêtres des membres du Club du Souvenir qui ont sauvé des vies, transporté des provisions, porté des lettres et des messages et reniflé des bombes, tout en restant des amis fidèles. Ces animaux ont montré beaucoup de courage en aidant les soldats canadiens et les civils dans le monde entier.

Les vers luisants remplissent leur rôle

Vers luisants

Les soldats ont passé beaucoup de temps dans les tranchées et les tunnels. Ne pouvant pas utiliser de lanternes lorsqu’il faisait nuit au risque de se faire repérer par l’ennemi, ils utilisaient des vers luisants pour pouvoir lire les messages importants ou les cartes dans le noir. Les vers fournissent une lumière bleu-vert.

Les rats!

Le Rat

Les rats continuent de servir les soldats de nos jours! Les rats géants de Gambie sont utilisés pour localiser les mines terrestres dans les champs africains. Les rats sentent les mines et sont trop légers pour les faire exploser. Ils obtiennent une banane ou une cacahuète chaque fois qu’ils trouvent une mine.

Les amis des constructeurs de tunnels

Au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, on envoyait des colombes et des rats dans les tunnels pour détecter l’air pollué et les gaz toxiques.

La Brigade des parasites

Les animaux n’ont pas tous été utiles pendant la guerre. Dans la journée, les moqueurs, les crapauds et les papillons de nuit dérangeaient les soldats avec leurs gazouillis, leurs croassements et leurs courses incessantes. Durant la nuit, les animaux nocturnes effrayaient les soldats qui tentaient de dormir ou étaient de garde.

Ces chiens intelligents qui sauvent des vies : rencontrez Fanny et Alex, spécialistes de la détection de mines!

Fanny, Alex et d’autres « chiens démineurs »

Fanny et Alex, chiens détecteurs de mines. Source : La Fondation des mines terrestres du Canada

Pendant six mois, ces deux bergers allemands ont été entraînés à reconnaître l’odeur des explosifs dans les mines terrestres. Ces explosifs enterrés dans le sol peuvent blesser et même tuer les personnes qui posent le pied dessus. Fanny, Alex et d’autres « chiens démineurs » localisent, grâce à leur flair, des millions de mines terrestres enterrées partout au monde.

La médaille Dickin

médaille Dickin

La médaille Dickin, créée par Maria Dickin en 1943, est décernée à des animaux pour souligner leurs actes de bravoure. Seulement 60 animaux ont reçu la médaille à ce jour, dont 32 pigeons, 24 chiens, trois chevaux et un chat – Simon!

L’inscription sur la médaille indique : « For Gallantry - We also serve » (Pour bravoure - Nous servons aussi).

Ne l’achetez pas

Si vous n'est avez pas besoin...Ne l'achetez pas

© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, CWM 19700186-048 (Alex McLaren)

La guerre coûte très cher. Au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, cette affiche rappelait aux gens de dépenser avec prudence. L’argent devait payer la nourriture, les vêtements et les armes des soldats.

L'histoire de Simone
Date de modification :