Backbone of Transportation

Canadian soldier puckers up for a kiss during a patrol in Afghanistan in 2005.
(Photo: Department of National Defence KA2005-R105-0156d)

Mingalaba! This is how we say hello in the mother tongue of my ancestor Bandoola. He was an elephant who served in Burma during the Second World War, helping build bridges, and carry soldiers and equipment. Elephants and other four-legged animals sure have helped soldiers a lot!

Horses are well-known for their work in war. Soldiers rode into battle on horseback for hundreds of years. Horses, mules and donkeys also often hauled ammunition and supplies and transported the wounded to dressing stations.

Even dogs stepped forward to help! They pulled sleds with supplies or delivered messages on the battlefield. Specially trained dogs were vital in helping medics on the front lines as they would transport first aid materials right to where they were needed.

Canadian soldiers have also encountered more exotic beasts of burden, such as camels, when they served in deserts during peacekeeping missions and more recently in Afghanistan.

There is no doubt that animals had been a backbone of transportation during war. I can’t wait to get back to school to talk about my project!

Ellie the elephant
Date modified:

Une épine dorsale du transport

Un soldat canadien se prépare pour un bisou en Afghanistan, en 2005.
(Photo : Ministère de la Défense nationale, KA2005-R105-0156d)

Mingalaba! C’est ainsi que l’on dit bonjour dans la langue maternelle de mon ancêtre, l’éléphant Bandoola, qui a servi en Birmanie durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Il a aidé à construire des ponts et à transporter des soldats et du matériel. Les éléphants et d’autres animaux à quatre pattes ont certainement beaucoup aidé les soldats.

Les chevaux sont bien connus pour le travail qu’ils accomplissent en période de guerre. Les soldats se sont rendus sur les champs de bataille à cheval depuis des centaines d’années. Les chevaux, les mules et les ânes étaient aussi souvent utilisés pour tirer des munitions et des approvisionnements et pour transporter les blessés vers les postes de secours.

Même les chiens ont apporté leur aide. Ils ont tiré des traîneaux chargés de fournitures ou livré des messages sur le champ de bataille. Des chiens spécialement dressés ont joué un rôle de premier plan pour aider le personnel médical sur la ligne de front, puisqu’ils transportaient du matériel de premiers soins directement là où on en avait besoin.

Les soldats canadiens ont également rencontré des bêtes de somme plus exotiques, comme des chameaux, lorsqu’ils ont servi dans le désert au cours de missions de maintien de la paix et, plus récemment, en Afghanistan.

Il ne fait aucun doute que les animaux ont été une épine dorsale du transport pendant la guerre. J’ai vraiment hâte de retourner à l’école pour parler de mon projet!

Ellie l'éléphant
Date de modification :