Steel Horses

The Lord Strathcona’s Horse Regiment still keeps some horses, like Starbuck pictured here, for ceremonies.
(Photo: Lord Strathcona’s Horse (Royal Canadians))

Horses have been a part of war for centuries. Strong and loyal, they bravely served alongside men around the world. Here in Canada, the Lord Strathcona’s Horse Regiment was formed in the Prairies in 1900 and its soldiers and horses were sent to fight in the South African War.

During the First World War, however, the role of horses changed a lot. Cavalry charges became almost impossible on the rough battlefields with their trenches, barbed wire and machine guns. To help break through the enemy lines, the Allies invented tanks, a new war machine that could plow through obstacles. The first versions actually looked like water tanks and that is how they got their name!

Unlike us horses, the first tanks were slow, clumsy and made a lot of noise. Although they could run over barbed wire, cross trenches and offer some protection for the soldiers, they were easy targets for artillery fire. Tanks would be improved, though, and they are still being used a hundred years later.

Horses were needed for transporting things but were not used as much in attacks. Regiments like the Lord Strathcona’s Horse had to adapt and use tanks instead. The unit went on to serve in the Second World War, the Korean War, and in military efforts in Egypt, Cyprus, Bosnia and Afghanistan.

Did you know?

This year marks the 100th anniversary of the famous war poem In Flanders Fields, written by Canadian army doctor John McCrae in May 1915 during the First World War.

Bonfire Jr. the horse

In Flanders fields the poppies blow
Between the crosses, row on row,
That mark our place; and in the sky
The larks, still bravely singing, fly
Scarce heard amid the guns below.

We are the Dead. Short days ago
We lived, felt dawn, saw sunset glow,
Loved, and were loved, and now we lie
In Flanders fields.

Take up our quarrel with the foe:
To you from failing hands we throw
The torch, be yours to hold it high.
If ye break faith with us who die
We shall not sleep, though poppies grow
In Flanders fields

Date modified:

Des chevaux en acier

Le Lord Strathcona’s Horse Regiment utilise encore des chevaux, comme Starbuck, lors de cérémonies.
(Photo : Lord Strathcona’s Horse (Royal Canadians))

Les chevaux participent à la guerre depuis des siècles. Forts et loyaux, ils ont bravement servi aux côtés des hommes partout dans le monde. Ici, au Canada, le régiment Lord Strathcona’s Horse a été formé dans les Prairies en 1900, et ses soldats et chevaux ont été envoyés en Afrique du Sud pour y combattre.

Toutefois, au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale, le rôle des chevaux a beaucoup changé. Les charges de cavalerie étaient devenues pratiquement impossibles sur les rudes champs de bataille parsemés de tranchées, de fils barbelés et de mitrailleuses. Pour aider à percer les lignes ennemies, les Alliés ont inventé le char d’assaut, une nouvelle machine de guerre qui pouvait renverser les obstacles. Les premières versions ressemblaient en fait à des réservoirs d’eau (water tanks), d’où leur nom de « tank » en anglais!

Contrairement à nous les chevaux, les premiers chars d’assaut étaient lents, encombrants, et faisaient beaucoup de bruit. Même s’ils pouvaient franchir des barbelés, traverser des tranchées et offrir une certaine protection aux soldats, ils étaient des cibles faciles pour les tirs d’artillerie. Les chars d’assaut seront toutefois améliorés, et sont encore utilisés cent ans plus tard.

On avait besoin des chevaux pour transporter du matériel, mais ils n’ont pas été autant utilisés lors des attaques. Les régiments comme le Lord Strathcona’s Horse ont dû s’adapter et utiliser plutôt des chars d’assaut. Ce régiment a plus tard servi lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, de la guerre de Corée, et a participé aux efforts de guerre en Égypte, à Chypre, en Bosnie et en Afghanistan.

Le savais-tu?

Cette année marque le 100e anniversaire du célèbre poème de guerre « In Flanders Fields » écrit en 1915 par le médecin de l’armée canadienne John McCrae, durant la Première Guerre mondiale. Voici Au champ d’honneur, l’adaptation française signée Jean Pariseau :

Bonfire Jr. the horse

Au champ d'honneur, les coquelicots
Sont parsemés de lot en lot
Auprès des croix; et dans l'espace
Les alouettes devenues lasses
Mêlent leurs chants au sifflement
Des obusiers.

Nous sommes morts,
Nous qui songions la veille encor'
À nos parents, à nos amis,
C'est nous qui reposons ici,
Au champ d'honneur.

À vous jeunes désabusés,
À vous de porter l'oriflamme
Et de garder au fond de l'âme
Le goût de vivre en liberté.
Acceptez le défi, sinon
Les coquelicots se faneront
Au champ d'honneur.

Date de modification :