Canadian Virtual War Memorial

Richard Kenneth Kimmel

In memory of
Corporal
Richard Kenneth Kimmel
June 18, 1944

Military Service:

Service Number:
K/92118
Age:
28
Force:
Army
Unit:
Regina Rifle Regiment
Citation(s):
1939-45 Star, France-Germany Medal, Defence Medal, War Medal 1939-1945, Canadian Volunteer Service Medal and clasp.

Additional Information:

Son of Harry Ellsworth and Sylvia Janet Kimmel (1961 National Memorial (Silver) Cross Mother), of Milner, British Columbia.

Brother of Clifford Howard Kimmel, deceased December 5, 1944 and Gordon Leroy Kimmel, deceased June 8, 1944.

Both the Langley and Mission Branches of the Royal Canadian Legion supplied her with a cloth coat, however, when Mrs. Kimmel arrived in Ottawa, the weather was very cold and Harry, her husband, knew he would have to get Mrs. Kimmel a warmer coat, so off they went to Timothy Eatons.

As they were shopping for a coat, they got to talking with the clerk, and the story came out about the Silver Cross Mother without an appropriate coat, for the ceremony at the War Memorial, which lead the clerk to excuse himself. Soon he was back and he told the Kimmels that the store manager said that Eatons would buy Mrs. Kimmel any coat that she wanted. Mrs. Kimmel continued looking at the wool coats. The clerk said that there were some in another area that she might like better and he took her to the fur department where Mrs. Kimmel picked a lovely black mink coat.

Commemorated on Page 352 of the Second World War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Burial Information:

Cemetery:
BENY-SUR-MER CANADIAN WAR CEMETERY ; Calvados, France
Grave Reference:
XIII. D. 3.
Location:
Beny-sur-Mer Canadian War Cemetery is about 1 kilometre east of the village of Reviers, on the Creully-Tailleville-Ouistreham road (D.35). Reviers is a village and commune in the Department of the Calvados. It is located 15 kilometres north-west of Caen and 18 kilometres east of Bayeux and 3.5 kilometres south of Courseulles, a village on the sea coast. The village of Beny-sur-Mer is some 2 kilometres south-east of the cemetery. The bus service between Caen and Arromanches (via Reviers and Ver-sur-Mer) passes the cemetery. It was on the coast just to the north that the 3rd Canadian Division landed on 6th June 1944; on that day, 335 officers and men of that division were killed in action or died of wounds. In this cemetery are the graves of Canadians who gave their lives in the landings in Normandy and in the earlier stages of the subsequent campaign. Canadians who died during the final stages of the fighting in Normandy are buried in Bretteville-sur-Laize Canadian War Cemetery. There are a total of 2048 burials in Beny-sur-Mer Canadian War Cemetery. There is also one special memorial erected to a soldier of the Canadian Infantry Corps who is known to have been buried in this cemetery, but the exact site of whose grave could not be located.

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Photo of Richard Kenneth Kimmel – Corporal Richard Kenneth Kimmel
Enlisted with Regina Rifle Regiment on July 4, 1940.
  • Photo of Sylvia Janet Kimmel (Mother) – Sylvia Janet Kimmel
Silver cross Mother of 1961. She is shown with the three silver crosses.
  • Photo of Gordon Leroy Kimmel (Brother) – Rifleman Gordon Leroy Kimmel
Enlisted with Royal Winnepeg Rifles on June 20, 1940.
  • Photo of Clifford Howard Kimmel (Brother) – Corporal Clifford Howard Kimmel
Enlisted with Hastings and Prince Edward Regiment, R.C.I.C. on July 4, 1940.
  • Photo of Harry and Sylvia Kimmel (Father and Mother) – Harry and Sylvia Kimmel looking at the Book of Remembrance in the Memorial Chamber located in the Peace Tower on Parliament Hill.  Photo from The Legionary Magazine December 1961.
  • A page from The Legionary Magazine – Page from The Legionary Magazine December 1961.  Mr. and Mrs. Kimmel attended the Remembrance Day ceremonies in Ottawa.
  • Newspaper clipping – Newspaper clipping from the Lanley Advance.
  • Memorial – Richard Kimmel is commemorated on this memorial tablet in Fort Langley, British Columbia.
  • Grave Marker – A photograph of the headstone at the Beny-sur-Mer Canadian War Cemetery, located at Reviers, about 4  kilometres from Juno Beach in Normandy, France. May he rest in peace. (J. Stephens)
  • Beny-Sur-Mer Canadian War Cemetery – The Beny-sur-Mer Canadian War Cemetery, located at Reviers, about 4  kilometres from Juno Beach in Normandy, France. (J. Stephens)

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email
VAC.CVWM-MVGC.ACC@vac-acc.gc.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Richard Kenneth Kimmel

En mémoire

Caporal Richard Kenneth Kimmel

18 juin 1944

Service militaire


Numéro matricule :

K/92118

Âge :

28

Force :

Armée

Unité :

Regina Rifle Regiment

Mention(s) élogieuse(s) :

Étoile de 1939-1945, Médaille de France-Allemagne, Médaille de la Défense, Médaille de la Guerre 1939-1945, Médaille canadienne du volontaire et agrafe.

Renseignements additionnels


Fils de Harry Ellsworth et Sylvia Janet Kimmel (La Mère de la Croix du Souvenir (Croix d’argent) de 1961), de Milner, Colombie-Britannique.

Frère de Clifford Howard Kimmell, décédé le 5 decembre 1944 et Gordon Leroy Kimmel, décédé le 5 juin 1944.

Les filiales Langley et Mission de la Légion royale canadienne lui avait fourni un manteau de tissu, mais à son arrivée à Ottawa, il faisait si froid que l'époux de Mme Kimmel, Harry, savait qu'il faudrait lui acheter un manteau plus chaud. Ils se sont donc rendus chez Timothy Eatons.

Tandis qu'ils cherchaient un manteau, ils se sont mis à parler avec le commis et vinrent à dire que la Mère de la Croix d'argent n'avait pas de manteau convenable pour la cérémonie au Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada. Le commis leur a alors demandé de l'excuser un moment. Il est revenu peu de temps après et a dit aux Kimmel que le gérant du magasin avait dit qu'Eatons était prêt à offrir à Mme Kimmel le manteau qu'elle désirait. Cette dernière continua de regarder les manteaux de laine. Le commis lui dit qu'il y avait une autre section qu'elle pourrait préférer et l'emmena dans la section de la fourrure où elle se trouva un joli manteau de vison noir.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 352 du Livre du Souvenir de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Commander une copie de cette page.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :
Information sur la sépulture :

XIII. D. 3.

Emplacement :

Le cimetière militaire canadien de Bény-sur-Mer est à environ 1 km à l'est du village de Reviers, sur la route de Creully-Tailleville-Ouistreham (D35). Reviers est un village et une commune du Calvados, à 15 km au nord-est de Caen, à 18 km à l'est de Bayeux et à 3,5 km au sud de Courseulles, un village sur la Manche. Le village de Bény-sur-Mer se trouve à environ 2 km au sud-est du cimetière. L'autocar entre Caen et Arromanches (via Reviers et Ver-sur-Mer) passe devant le cimetière. C'est un peu au nord, sur la côte, qu'est débarquée la 3e Division du Canada le 6 juin 1944 et que 335 officiers et soldats ont été tués au combat ou sont morts de leurs blessures. Dans ce cimetière reposent les Canadiens qui ont péri lors du débarquement en Normandie et au cours des premières étapes de la campagne qui a suivi. Les Canadiens qui sont morts vers la fin des combats en Normandie sont inhumés au cimetière militaire canadien de Bretteville-sur-Laize. Le cimetière militaire canadien de Bény-sur-Mer compte 2048 sépultures, ainsi qu'un monument spécial érigé à la mémoire d'un soldat du Corps canadien d'infanterie dont on sait qu'il a été inhumé ici, mais dont la tombe n'a jamais pu être trouvée.

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Photo de Richard Kenneth Kimmel – Caporal Richard Kenneth Kimmel
Enrôlé avec Regina Rifle régiment sur le 4 juillet, 1940.
  • Photo de Sylvia Janet Kimmel (Mère) – Sylvia Janet Kimmel
Mère de la croix d'argent de 1961.  Elle est montré avec les trois croix d'argent.
  • Photo de Gordon Leroy Kimmel (Frère) – Carabinier Gordon Leroy Kimmel
Enrôlé avec Royal Winnepeg Rifles sur le 20 juin, 1940.
  • Photo de Clifford Howard Kimmel (Frère) – Caporal Clifford Howard Kimmel
Enrôlé avec Hastings et Prince Edward régiment, R.C.I.C sur le 4 juillet, 1940.
  • Photo de Harry et Sylvia Kimmel (Père et Mère) – Harry et Sylvia Kimmel regarde les Livres du Souvenir dans le Chapelle du Souvenir  situer dans le tour de la Paix sur la Colline du Parlement.  Photo de The Legionary Magazine décembre 1961.
  • Un page de The Legionary Magazine – Un page de The Legionary Magazine décembre 1961.  Monsieur et Madame Kimmel était à le jour du Souvenir cérémonies en Ottawa.
  • Coupure de journal – Coupure de journal de le Langley Advance.
  • Mémorial
  • Pierre tombale
  • Cimetière de Guerre Canadien de Bény-Sur-Mer

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :