Canadian Virtual War Memorial

John Charles Conway

In memory of:

Sergeant John Charles Conway

December 9, 1943

Military Service


Service Number:

970441

Age:

30

Force:

Army

Unit:

Royal Artillery

Division:

166 (Newfoundland) Field Regt.,

Additional Information


Son of Valentine and Bridget (née Goggan) Conway, of Grand Falls, Newfoundland, Canada. Brother of Thomas, Henry, William, Mary, Kathleen and Nellie. Also the brother of Gunner Frederick William Conway, deceased in the Canoe River Train Wreck, British Columbia, on 20 November 1950. The train was enroute to Korea from Camp Shilo, Manitoba via Fort Lewis, Washington.

Commemorated on Page 151 of the Newfoundland Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Burial Information


Cemetery:
Grave Reference:

XV. E. 24.

Location:

The SANGRO RIVER WAR CEMETERY lies in the Contrada Sentinelle in the Commune of Torino di Sangro, Province of Chieti, and forms a wide arc on the slope of a hill facing south-east. The SANGRO RIVER WAR CEMETERY is reached by the main road (Route No.16) from Pescara. Travel for approximately 55 kilometres as far as San Vito and then by Route No.16. Just after crossing the Sangro River and 50 metres before the station of Torino di Sangro, a narrow road on the right leads up a steep hill to the Cemetery.

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Biography– In memory of the men and women from Newfoundland who went away to war and did not come home. From the Newfoundland Legion magazine “Lest We Forget”. Submitted for the project, Operation Picture Me
  • Picture of John Charles Conway

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

John Charles Conway

En mémoire

Sergent John Charles Conway

9 décembre 1943

Service militaire


Numéro matricule :

970441

Âge :

30

Force :

Armée

Unité :

Royal Artillery

Division :

166 (Newfoundland) Field Regt.,

Renseignements additionnels


Fils de Valentine et Bridget (née Goggan) Conway, de Grand Falls, à Terre-Neuve, au Canada. Frère de Thomas, Henry, William, Mary, Kathleen et Nellie. Il était aussi le frère de l'artilleur Frederick William Conway, qui périt dans l'accident ferroviaire de Canoe River, en Colombie-Britannique, le 20 novembre 1950. Le train était parti de Camp Shilo, au Manitoba, à destination de Fort Lewis, Washington, où les troupes devaient s'embarquer pour la Corée.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 151 du Livre du Souvenir de Terre-Neuve. Commander une copie de cette page.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :
Information sur la sépulture :

XV. E. 24.

Emplacement :

Le cimetière de guerre de la Sangro se trouve dans la sentinelle Contrada dans la commune de Torino di Sangro, province de Chieti. Il forme un immense arc sur le sommet d'une colline faisant face au sud-est. Vous pouvez vous rendre au cimetière en prenant la route principale (Route 16) de Pescara. Faites environ 55 kilomètres jusqu'à San Vito et prenez ensuite la Route 16. Juste après avoir traversé la Sangro et 50 mètres avant la gare de Torino di Sangro, vous verrez une route étroite sur le côté droit menant à une colline escarpée où se situe le cimetière.

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Biographie
  • Photo de John Charles Conway

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :