Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Canadian Virtual War Memorial

Harry Leo Teasdale

In memory of:

Warrant Officer Class I Harry Leo Teasdale

February 19, 1945

Military Service


Service Number:

R/140182

Age:

22

Force:

Air Force

Unit:

Royal Canadian Air Force

Division:

11 Sqdn.

Citation(s):

1939-45 Star, Atlantic Star, Canadian Volunteer Service Medal and Clasp, War Medal 1939-45. Posthumously awarded RCAF Operational Wings in recognition of gallant service in action against the enemy, the 7 December 1945.

Additional Information


Born:

October 28, 1922
Drumheller, Alberta

Enlistment:

November 14, 1941
Calgary, Alberta

Son of James Robert Whigham and Maude Ellen (nee Oram) Teasdale of Edmonton, Alberta. Twin brother of Flying Officer Thomas Leo Teasdale, RCAF, killed in action on 25 March 1944, and brother of James Frederick, Richard Robert and Kathleen Ellen.

Commemorated on Page 569 of the Second World War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page. Download high resolution copy of this page.

Burial Information


Cemetery:

OTTAWA MEMORIAL
Ontario, Canada

Grave Reference:

Panel 4. Column 3.

Location:

The Ottawa Memorial stands on the north-eastern point of Green Island in the City of Ottawa. Overlooking the northern branch of the Twin Falls of the Rideau River, it commands a panoramic view of the Ottawa River and the Gatineau Hills beyond. The Memorial commemorates those of the Air Forces of the British Commonwealth who lost their lives while serving in units operating from bases in Canada, the British West Indies and the United States of America, or while training in Canada and the U.S.A., and who have no known graves. The main feature of the Ottawa Memorial is a sculptured terrestrial globe in bronze, 3 metres in diameter, on a base formed by three bronze beavers rising from the centre of an ornamental pool. The globe, of open lattice-work corresponding to the lines of latitude and longitude, on which the land masses are super imposed in low relief, is crowned by the Air Forces emblem of a bronze eagle with outspread wings. Two curved screen walls faced in limestone, bearing cast bronze panels on which the names appear, face inwards towards the globe. They are placed slightly off centre to allow a clear view through the Ottawa Memorial from the central steps on Sussex Drive and from the wide pathway. Two Air Force crest exist in the paving between the screen walls. A dedicatory inscription, in English on one screen wall and in French on the other, is incised in the stonework between the bronze name panels, which reads as follows:
1939 - 1945
In honoured memory of the men and women of the air forces of the British Commonwealth and Empire who gave their lives in Canada, in the United States of America and neighbouring lands and who have no known grave.

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Photo of HARRY LEO TEASDALE– From the research work done by Margaret Rose Gaunt and submitted for the project Operation Picture Me
  • Photo of Harry Teasdale– Teasdale, Harry Leo Whigham - Warrant Officer, Class 1. Born October 28, 1922, at Drumheller, Alta. Educated at Drumheller.  Entered the service of the Bank 12th November, 1940. Served at Drumheller and Hanna, Alta. Enlisted 8th November, 1941, from the latter branch in R.C.A.F. Sergeant in April, 1943; Flight Sergeant in September, 1943; Warrant Officer, Class II, in June, 1944; Warrant Officer, Class I, in January, 1945. Trained at Edmonton and Calgary, Alta., and Debert and Dartmouth, N.S. Served with 161 Squadron based at Dartmouth. Posthumously awarded R.C.A.F. Operational Wing by Chief of Air Staff "in recognition of gallant service in action against the enemy."  Missing when the bomber on which he was flying was wrecked over the Atlantic Ocean on 19th February, 1945. Officially presumed dead 8th August, 1945.  From a memorial booklet prepared by the Canadian Bank of Commerce.
  • Biography– From the research work done by Margaret Rose Gaunt and submitted for the project Operation Picture Me

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email or call us.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Harry Leo Teasdale

En mémoire

Sous-officier breveté de 1re classe Harry Leo Teasdale

19 février 1945

Service militaire


Numéro matricule :

R/140182

Âge :

22

Force :

Aviation militaire

Unité :

Royal Canadian Air Force

Division :

11 Sqdn.

Mention(s) élogieuse(s) :

Étoile de 1939-45, Étoile de l'Atlantique, Médaille canadienne du volontaire et agrafe, Médaille de la guerre 1939-45. Ailes opérationnelles de l¿ARC décernées à titre posthume en reconnaissance du valeureux service au combat contre l¿ennemi, le 7 décembre 1945.

Renseignements additionnels


Né(e) :

le 28 octobre 1922
Drumheller, Alberta

Enrôlement :

le 14 novembre 1941
Calgary, Alberta

Fils de James Robert Whigham et Maude Ellen (née Oram) Teasdale d'Edmonton, Alberta. Frère jumeau du sous-lieutenant d'aviation Thomas Leo Teasdale,CARC, tué au combat, le 25 mars 1944, et frère de James Frederick, Richard Robert et Kathleen Ellen.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 569 du Livre du Souvenir de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Commander une copie de cette page. Télécharger une copie haute résolution.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :

MÉMORIAL D'OTTAWA
Ontario, Canada

Information sur la sépulture :

Panel 4. Column 3.

Emplacement :

Le Mémorial d'Ottawa se dresse à l'extrémité nord-est de l'île Verte dans la ville d'Ottawa. Surplombant la branche nord des chutes du canal Rideau, il offre une vue panoramique de la rivière Ottawa et des collines de Gatineau se trouvant plus loin. L'hôtel de ville d'Ottawa est situé directement au sud du Mémorial, en face de Sussex Drive. Le Mémorial rend hommage aux hommes et aux femmes des forces aériennes du Commonwealth britannique qui ont péri pendant qu'ils faisaient partie d'unités qui travaillaient dans des bases situées au Canada, dans les Antilles britanniques et aux États-Unis, ou pendant qu'ils suivaient une formation au Canada et aux États-Unis, et dont le lieu de sépulture est inconnu. L'élément principal du Mémorial est un globe terrestre sculpté dans le bronze de 3 mètres de diamètre, posé sur une base formée par trois castors en bronze qui s'élèvent au centre d'une pièce d'eau décorative. Le globe, dont le treillis correspond aux lignes de latitude et de longitude et sur lequel les continents sont superposés en bas-relief, est couronné par l'emblème des forces aériennes, un aigle de bronze aux ailes déployées. Deux murs de division arqués en calcaire, arborant des panneaux de bronze sur lesquels figurent les noms, entourent le globe. Ils se dressent légèrement en retrait du centre dans le but de permettre de voir au travers du Mémorial à partir des marches centrales, sur Sussex Drive, et à partir de l'imposante allée. Il y a deux logos des forces aériennes sur le pavé entre les murs de division. Une dédicace est gravée entre les panneaux de bronze en anglais sur un des murs de division et en français sur l'autre. Elle se lit comme suit :
1939 - 1945
À la mémoire vénérée des hommes et des femmes des forces aériennes du Commonwealth et de l'Empire britannique qui ont donné leur vie au Canada, aux États-Unis et dans les territoires avoisinants et dont la sépulture est inconnue.

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images

  • Mémorial – En souvenir de nos frères perdus … parc mémorial Brothers in Arms à Zonnebeke (Belgique) … Photo: gracieuseté de Marg Liessens … mai 2022
  • Photo de HARRY LEO TEASDALE
  • Photo de Harry Teasdale – Teasdale, Harry Leo Whigham - Sous-officier breveté de 1re classe. Il est né le 28 octobre 1922 à Drumheller (Alb.) et a fait ses études dans sa ville natale. Il a commencé à travailler pour la banque le 12 novembre 1940. Il a été employé à Drumheller et Hanna dans sa province natale. Il s¿est enrôlé dans l¿ARC le 8 novembre 1941, à Hanna. Il a été promu sergent en avril 1943, sergent de section en septembre 1943, sous-officier breveté de 2e classe en juin 1944, et sous-officier breveté de 1re classe en janvier 1945. Il a reçu sa formation à Edmonton et Calgary, en Alberta ainsi qu¿à Debert et Dartmouth, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Il a servi au sein du 161e Escadron, basé à Dartmouth. Les Ailes opérationnelles de l¿ARC lui ont été décernées à titre posthume par le chef de l¿état-major des forces aériennes « en reconnaissance de sa bravoure au combat contre l¿ennemi ». Il a été porté disparu lorsque le bombardier à bord duquel il se trouvait s¿est abîmé dans l¿Atlantique le 19 février 1945. Officiellement réputé décédé le 8 août 1945. Tiré d¿une brochure-souvenir préparée par le Banque Canadienne de Commerce.

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :