Canadian Virtual War Memorial

Andrew Charles Mynarski

In memory of:

Pilot Officer Andrew Charles Mynarski

June 13, 1944

Military Service


Service Number:

J/87544

Age:

27

Force:

Air Force

Unit:

Royal Canadian Air Force

Division:

419 Moose Squadron (Moosa Aswayita)

Citation(s):

The following details are given in the London Gazette of October 11th, 1946. Pilot Officer Mynarski was the mid-upper gunner of the crew of a Lancaster attacking Cambrai, France on June 12th, 1944. The aircraft was hit by an enemy fighter; both port engines failed, extensive fire broke out, and the captain ordered the crew to abandon the plane. As P/O Mynarski moved towards the escape hatch he saw that the rear gunner could not leave his turret, which was rendered immovable when the hydraulic gear was put out of action by the failure of the port engine. The Pilot Officer unhesitatingly moved back through the flames and tried to release the gunner, although his own clothing and parachute were on fire. All his efforts to move the turret and free his comrade were in vain, and eventually the gunner told him to try to save his own life. Reluctantly P/O Mynarski moved to the escape hatch and there, as a last gesture, turned towards the trapped gunner, stood to attention in his flaming clothing, and saluted before jumping. French people watched his descent and he was eventually found, but was so badly burned that he died. The rear gunner escaped miraculously when the plane crashed and testified that, but for his gallant rescue attempt, P/O Mynarski could have left the aircraft in safety and would doubtless have escaped death. Although he must have been aware that he faced almost certain death, P/O Mynarski courageously and willingly accepted the danger. He lost his life by a most conspicuous act of heroism which called for valour of the highest order.

Honours and Awards:

Victoria Cross

Additional Information


Born:

October 14, 1916
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Son of Anna Mynarski, of Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. Brother of Stephanie. He was the son of Polish immigrants. He was educated at King Edward and Isaac Newton Elementary Schools and at St. John's Technical School. To help support his family after his father's death, he worked for four years as a leather worker in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

Andrew Charles Mynarski was a quiet man with a good sense of humour. He enjoyed woodworking and loved to design and build furniture. He joined the Royal Canadian Air Force just before his 25th birthday. He trained as an Air Gunner and was posted to Number 9 Squadron in October, 1943. In March, 1944, after training with No 1664 HCU he was posted to 419 (Moose) Squadron to fly Lancasters from RAF Middleton St George.

The crew took off for their 13th mission together on the night of June 12, their target, the rail marshalling yards at Cambrai, France. It would be the crew's 13th sortie. While waiting to go, the crew couldn't help but think of these omens. Andrew found a four leaf clover in the grass by the planes. He insisted that his closest buddy in the crew, tail gunner Pat Brophy, should take it.

After their plane was hit, and the crew bailed out, Andrew noted that his buddy, Pat Brophy was caught in the rear turret. He attempted to rescue him, now knowing that his parachute and clothing had caught fire. Realizing that he could not save his friend, he stood at attention and saluted Brophy and jumped. Brophy was blown safely away from the plane when some of the explosives on board blew on hitting the ground, Mynarski regretfully, hit the ground, but was burned so badly, died within hours.

Pilot Officer Mynarski was the first member of the R.C.A.F. to be decorated with the Victoria Cross in the Second World War. His Victoria Cross is on display at the Air Command Headquarters in Winnipeg.

Pilot Officer Mynarski was honoured with the erection of a 10 foot bronze statue of his likeness at Middleton St. George, England; home to the 419 Squadron's 6th Bomber Group. On the 4th of June 2005 at a ceremony attended by the families of Mynarski's crew, the statue was unveiled. The Winnipeg Statue Project is gaining ground with donations,to erect a twin statue which will find its home in the North end corner of Winnipeg. The students and staff at Andrew Mynarski School,also raised funds to purchase a plaque to commemorate Pilot Officer Mynarski at their school.

Commemorated on Page 402 of the Second World War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Andrew Charles Mynarski is a recipient of the Victoria Cross.
Complete list of Canadian Victoria Cross Recipients

Burial Information


Cemetery:

MEHARICOURT COMMUNAL CEMETERY
Somme, France

Grave Reference:

British Plot, Grave 40

Location:

Meharicourt is a village and commune 32 kilometres east-south-east of Amiens and some 7 kilometres south of the road from that town to St. Quentin. The Communal Cemetery is on the north-western side of the village on the road to Rosieres. In the north-eastern part of the cemetery, in a special British plot, are the graves of 41 airmen. Of these, 21 belonged to the Royal Air Force; 12 to the Royal Canadian Air Force; 6 to the Royal Australian Air Force and 2 to the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Memorial – Father J P Lardie's comments as inscribed on the Bomber Command Memorial Wall in Nanton, AB … photo courtesy of Marg Liessens
  • Memorial – Pilot Officer Andrew Charles Mynarski is also commemorated on the Bomber Command Memorial Wall in Nanton, AB … photo courtesy of Marg Liessens
  • Memorial – Pilot Officer Andrew Charles Mynarski is also commemorated on the Bomber Command Memorial Wall in Nanton, AB … photo courtesy of Marg Liessens
  • Andrew Charles Mynarski
  • Photo of Andrew Mynarski – Submitted by Operation Picture Me
  • Photo of Andrew Mynarski – Submitted by Operation Picture Me
  • Group Photo – Submitted by Operation Picture Me
  • Newspaper clipping – In memory of the men and women memorialized on the pages of the Winnipeg Evening Tribune. Submitted for the project, Operation: Picture Me
  • Newspaper clipping – In memory of the men and women memorialized on the pages of the Winnipeg Evening Tribune. Submitted for the project, Operation: Picture Me
  • Photo of Avro Lancaster – The Avro Lancaster flown out of the Canadian Warplane Heritage Museum in Hamilton, Ontario, one of only two airworthy Lancasters in the world, is known as the Mynarski Memorial Lancaster in honour of Pilot Officer Andrew Charles Mynarski, and is painted in the markings of his aircraft.
  • Field – This is the site where his plane crashed on June 13, 1944.
  • Monument – Monument marking the spot where Mynarski's plane crashed on June 13, 1944.  Pilot Officer Mynarski was the first member of the R.C.A.F. to be decorated with the Victoria Cross in the Second World War.
  • Close up of Monument
  • Inscription – In the meadow behind this monument, the bomber L'Ancaster VRKB 726, of the 419 (Moose) Squadron R.C.A.F., crashed during the night of June 12-13, 1944.
In memory of Pilot/Officer Andy Charles MYNARSKI V.C., 
27 years of age
French Remembrance
Arras and Area
  • Meharicourt Communal Cemetery
  • Grave Marker
  • Statue of Andrew Mynarski – The statue of Pilot Officer Andrew Charles Mynarski, V.C., located at RAF Middleton St. George, England,  the home of the 419 Squadron of 6th Group Bomber Command.  It was sculpted by Keith Maddison. 

The statue depicts the salute P/O Mynarski gave his friend, Tail Gunner Pat Brophy believing that Brophy would not make it out of the spiralling plane as it plunged to the ground after being hit by the enemy in a night raid. In this photo, Mynarksi is shown saluting toward Canada. A fund raising initiative is underway in Winnipeg, Manitoba to raise funds to have a twin sculpted statue.
  • Photo of Andrew Mynarski Statue – Submitted by Operation Picture Me
  • Plaque – Submitted by Operation Picture Me
  • Photo of church in Gaudiempre – Photo of church in Gaudiempre with plaque on the wall dedicated to Mynarski, and all French citizens who helped those allied airmen who had been forced down in France.
Photo courtesy of Wilf Schofield, England.
  • Photo of Plaque – Inscription on plaque:
"In this village on 13th June 1944, a Lancaster of the Royal Canadian Airforce marked 'VR.A KB726' crashed. This plaque, dedicated to the memory of Pilot Officer Andrew Charles Mynarski VC, was unveiled on 13th June 1981 by his fellow crew members in homage to & in recognition of the Passeurs du Nord affiliated with the Royal Air Force Escaping Society assembled here on this day, & all French citizens who have helped those allied airmen forced down on this soil of France."
Photo courtesy of Wilf Schofield, England.
  • Statue of Andrew Mynarksi
  • Statue of Andrew Mynarksi
  • Memorial – Barrie Military Park, Canadian Victoria Cross Recipients, Cenotaph
  • Andrew Mynarski VC memorial trophy

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Andrew Charles Mynarski

En mémoire

Sous-lieutenant d'aviation Andrew Charles Mynarski

13 juin 1944

Service militaire


Numéro matricule :

J/87544

Âge :

27

Force :

Aviation militaire

Unité :

Royal Canadian Air Force

Division :

419 Moose Squadron (Moosa Aswayita)

Mention(s) élogieuse(s) :

Extrait du « London Gazette » du le 11 octobre 1946 [traduction]:
Le slt avn Mynarski était mitrailleur de bord d'un appareil Lancaster qui devait attaquer une cible à Cambrai, en France, la nuit du 12 juin 1944. L'appareil fut attaqué par dessous et par l'arrière par un avion ennemi et finit par s'écraser en flammes. Les flammes s'intensifièrent et le capitaine ordonna à l'équipage d'abandonner l'appareil. Le slt avn Mynarski quitta sa tourelle et se dirigea vers la trappe d'évacuation. C'est alors qu'il s'aperçut que le mitrailleur arrière était toujours dans sa tourelle et semblait incapable d'en sortir. Sans hésitation, le slt avn Mynarski traversa les flammes pour tenter d'atteindre la tourelle arrière et dégager le mitrailleur. Ce faisant, son parachute et ses vêtements, jusqu'à la taille, prirent feu. Tous ses efforts pour dégager son compagnon demeurèrent vains. Celui-ci lui indiqua clairement qu'il ne pouvait rien faire de plus et qu'il devait essayer de sauver sa propre vie. Le slt avn Mynarski retourna à regret à travers les flammes vers la trappe d'évacuation. Il se retourna alors vers le mitrailleur emprisonné et, dans un dernier geste, se mit au gard-à-vous dans ses vêtements en flammes et le salua avant de sauter de l'appareil. Le mitrailleur arrière s'en sortit par miracle lorsque l'appareil s'écrasa. Il affirma plus tard que si le slt avn Mynarski n'avait pas tenté de lui sauver la vie, il aurait pu quitter l'avion en toute sécurité et échapper sans doute à la mort. Le slt avn Mynarski devait être tout à fait conscient qu'en essayant de libérer le mitrailleur arrière, il était presque sûr qu'il y laisserait sa propre vie. Il se porta quand même au secours de son compagnon avec un courage remarquable et au mépris de sa propre sécurité. Acceptant volontairement le danger, il perdit la vie en raison d'un acte d'héroïsme insigne exigeant un courage peu commun.

Décorations et titres honorifiques :

Croix de Victoria

Renseignements additionnels


Né(e) :

le 14 octobre 1916
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Fils d’Anna Mynarski, de Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. Frère de Stephanie. Il était fils d'immigrants polonais. Il fit ses études aux écoles élémentaires King Edward et Isaac Newton et à l'école secondaire technique St. John. Pour aider à faire vivre sa famille après la mort de son père, il a travaillé, pendant quatre ans, dans l'industrie du cuir à Winnipeg.

Andrew Charles Mynarski était un homme calme, doté d’un bon sens de l'humour. Il aimait travailler le bois et fabriquer des meubles. Il s'enrôla dans l'Aviation royale du Canada (ARC) peu de temps avant son 25e anniversaire de naissance. Il suivit une formation de mitrailleur de bord, et en octobre 1943, il fut affecté au sein du 9e Escadron. En mars 1944, après avoir suivi un entraînement avec la No 1664 HCU, il fut affecté au sein du 419e (Moose) Escadron pour piloter des Lancasters (RAF Middleton St George).

La nuit du 12 juin, son équipage décolla en vue d’accomplir ensemble une 13e mission. Leur cible était la gare de triage de Cambrai, en France. Il s’agissait d’une 13e sortie pour l’équipage, qui devait survoler sa cible le vendredi 13. Les membres de l’équipage ne pouvaient s’empêcher de penser à ces signes de mauvais augure. Andrew trouva un trèfle à quatre feuilles dans l’herbe, près des avions. Il insista pour que son meilleur ami, le mitrailleur de queue Pat Brophy, le garde sur lui.

Lorsque leur avion fut touché, l’équipage sauta en parachute et Andrew constata que son ami Pat Brophy était coincé dans la tourelle arrière. Il tenta de lui porter secours, sans toutefois s’apercevoir que son propre parachute et ses vêtements avaient pris feu. Lorsqu’il réalisa qu’il ne pouvait plus sauver son ami, il se mit au garde-à-vous, salua son camarade Brophy et sauta. Lorsque l’avion toucha le sol, des explosifs qui étaient à bord détonèrent et Brophy fut projeté hors de l’appareil, sain et sauf. Quant à Mynarski, il se posa au sol, mais succomba à ses graves brûlures quelques heures après.

Le sous-lieutenant d'aviation Mynarski fut le premier membre du CARC d'être décoré de la Croix de Victoria pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Sa Croix de Victoria est exposée au Quartier général du Commandement aérien, à Winnipeg, Manitoba.

On a rendu hommage au sous-lieutenant d'aviation Mynarski en érigeant une statue en bronze de 10 pieds à son image à Middleton St. George, en Angleterre, où était basé le groupe de bombardement du 419e Escadron. Le projet visant à ériger une statue en son honneur à Winnipeg progresse et on a recueilli des dons. Des élèves de l'école Andrew Mynarski ont en outre participé à la confection d'une plaque commémorative.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 402 du Livre du Souvenir de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Commander une copie de cette page.

Andrew Charles Mynarski est récipiendaire de la Croix de Victoria. Liste complète des récipiendaires canadiens de la Croix de Victoria

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :

CIMETIÈRE COMMUNAL DE MEHARICOURT
Somme France

Information sur la sépulture :

British Plot, Grave 40

Emplacement :

Meharicourt est un village et une commune situé à 32 kilomètres à l'est-sud-est d'Amiens et à quelques 7 kilomètres au sud de cette route, de cette ville à Saint-Quentin. Le cimetière communal est situé sur le côté nord-ouest de la ville, sur la route qui mène à Rosières. Dans la partie nord-est du cimetière, dans une section spécialle britannique, sont les tombes de 41 aviateurs. Il y a 21 tombes du Royal Air Force; 12 du Royal Canadian Air Force; 6 du Royal Australian Air Force et 2 du Royal New Zealand Air Force.

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Mémorial
  • Mémorial
  • Mémorial
  • Andrew Charles Mynarski
  • Photo de Andrew Mynarski – Soumis par Operation Picture Me
  • Photo de Andrew Mynarski – Soumis par Operation Picture Me
  • Photo de Groupe – Soumis par Operation Picture Me
  • Coupure de presse
  • Coupure de presse
  • Photo de Avro Lancaster – L'appareil Avro Lancaster sorti du Canadian Warplane Heritage Museum à Hamilton (Ontario), un des deux seuls Lancaster navigables dans le monde est désigné le Lancaster commémoratif Andrew Mynarski en l'honneur du Sous-lieutenant d'aviation Andrew Charles Mynarski; les inscriptions de son aéronef y sont peintes.
  • Monument
  • Inscription
  • Cimetière Communal de Meharicourt
  • Pierre Tombale
  •  – Submitted by Operation Picture Me
  • Plaque – Soumis par Operation Picture Me
  • Photo de – Photo d'une église à Gaudiempre montrant au mur une plaque en hommage à Andrew Mynarski et à tous les citoyens français qui ont aidé les aviateurs alliés dont l'avion fut abattu sur le territoire français. Photo courtoisie de Wilf Schofield, Angleterre.
  • Photo de Plaque – Inscription sur la plaque :

[Traduction]  « Dans ce village le 13 juin 1944, un avion Lancaster de l'Aviation royale du Canada immatriculé VR.A KB726 s'est écrasé. Cette plaque, à la mémoire du Sous-lieutenant d'aviation Andrew Charles Mynarski VC, fut dévoilée le 13 juin 1981 par ses compagnons d'équipage en hommage et en reconnaissance des Passeurs du Nord affiliés à la Royal Air Force Escaping Society, rassemblés ici en ce jour, et en hommage à tous les citoyens français qui ont aidé les aviateurs des forces alliées dont l'avion fut abattu en sol français. » 

Photo courtoisie de Wilf Schofield, Angleterre
  • Mémorial
  • Mémorial
  • Mémorial
  • Mémorial

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :