Canadian Virtual War Memorial

Philip Eric Bent

In memory of
Lieutenant Colonel
Philip Eric Bent
October 1, 1917

Military Service:

Age:
26
Force:
Army
Unit:
Leicestershire Regiment
Citation(s):
The London Gazette, No. 30471, dated January 11, 1918, records the following:
For most conspicuous bravery, when during a heavy hostile attack, the right of his own command and the battalion on his right were forced back. The situation was critical owing to the confusion caused by the attack and the intense artillery fire. Lt. Col. Bent personally collected a platoon that was in reserve, and together with men from other companies and various regimental details, he organised and led them forward to the counter-attack, after issuing orders to other officers as to the further defence of the line. The counter-attack was successful and the enemy were checked. The coolness and magnificent example shown to all ranks by Lt.-Col. Bent resulted in the securing of a portion of the line which was of essential importance for subsequent operations. This very gallant officer was killed whilst leading a charge which he inspired with the call of Come on the Tigers". Star".
Honours and Awards:
Victoria Cross

Additional Information:

Born:
January 3, 1891 Halifax, Nova Scotia

Commemorated on Page 603 of the First World War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Philip Eric Bent is a recipient of the Victoria Cross.
Complete list of Canadian Victoria Cross Recipients

Burial Information:

Cemetery:
TYNE COT MEMORIAL , Belgium
Grave Reference:
Panel 50 to 51
Location:
The Tyne Cot Memorial forms the northeastern boundary of Tyne Cot Cemetery, which is located 9 Km north east of Ieper town centre on the Tynecotstraat, a road leading from the Zonnebeekseweg (N332). The cemetery itself lies 700 meters along the Tynecotstraat on the right hand side of the road. Tyne Cot or Tyne Cottage was the name given by the Northumberland Fusiliers to a barn which stood near the level crossing on the Passchendaele-Broodseinde road. Three of these blockhouses still stand in the cemetery; the largest, which was captured on 4 October 1917 by the 3rd Australian Division, was chosen as the site for the Cross of Sacrifice by King George V during his pilgrimage to the cemeteries of the Western Front in Belgium and France in 1922. The site of the Memorial is on high ground on the western slopes of the Passchendaele Ridge, from which the whole country to the English Channel lies open. The Memorial, designed by Herbert Baker and with sculpture by F. V. Blundstone, is a semicircular flint wall 4.25 metres high and more than 150 metres long. It is faced with panels of Portland stone. The following inscription is carved on the frieze above the panels:
1914 - HERE ARE RECORDED THE NAMES OF OFFICERS AND MEN OF THE ARMIES OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE WHO FELL IN YPRES SALIENT, BUT TO WHOM THE FORTUNE OF WAR DENIED THE KNOWN AND HONOURED BURIAL GIVEN TO THEIR COMRADES IN DEATH - 1918.

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • War Memorial – Barrie Military Park with Canadian Victory Cross Recipients Cenotaph
  • Inscription – Tyne Cot Memorial Panel
photo courtesy of Wilf Schofield, England
  • Cemetery – Tyne Cot Memorial (CWGC)
  • Photo of Philip Eric Bent

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email
VAC.CVWM-MVGC.ACC@vac-acc.gc.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Philip Eric Bent

En mémoire

Lieutenant-colonel Philip Eric Bent

1 octobre 1917

Service militaire


Âge :

26

Force :

Armée

Unité :

Leicestershire Regiment

Mention(s) élogieuse(s) :

Pour sa bravoure et son dévouement exceptionnels lorsque, durant une attaque acharnée de l'ennemi, le flanc droit de sa troupe ainsi que le bataillon à sa droite furent forcés de reculer. La situation était critique en raison de la confusion créée par l'attaque et par des tirs d'artillerie nourris. Le lieutenant-colonel Bent rassembla un peloton de réserve ainsi que quelques hommes appartenant à d'autres compagnies et différents détachements du régiment, et il organisa une contre-attaque qu'il dirigea lui-même, après avoir donné ses instructions à d'autres officiers au sujet de la défense de la ligne. La contre-attaque réussit et l'ennemi fut contenu. Son sang-froid et le magnifique exemple de courage qu'il donna à tous permirent de protéger une partie de la ligne qui joua un rôle essentiel dans la suite des opérations. Cet officier très brave fut tué alors qu'il menait une charge au cri de « Allons, les tigres! ».

Décorations et titres honorifiques :

Croix de Victoria

Renseignements additionnels


Né(e) :

le 3 janvier 1891
Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse

Inscription commémorative sur la page 603 du Livre du Souvenir de la Première Guerre mondiale. Commander une copie de cette page.

Philip Eric Bent est récipiendaire de la Croix de Victoria. Liste complète des récipiendaires canadiens de la Croix de Victoria

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :
Information sur la sépulture :

Panel 50 to 51

Emplacement :

Le monument commémoratif Tyne Cot se trouve à la limite nord-est du cimetière Tyne Cot qui est situé à 9 kilomètres au nord-est du centre-ville d'Ypres sur la Tynecotstraat, une route qui rejoint la Zonnebeekseweg (N332). Le cimetière de Tyne Cot se trouve 700 mètres plus loin, sur le côté droit de la Tynecotstraat. Les fusiliers de Northumberland ont donné le nom de « Tyne Cottages » ou « Tyne Cotts » à un groupe de blockhaus allemands ou casemates situés près du passage à niveau sur la route reliant Passchendaele à Broodseinde. Trois de ces fortins existent toujours dans le cimetière. Le plus gros, qui avait été pris par la troisième division australienne le 4 octobre 1917, a été choisi par le roi George V durant son pèlerinage aux cimetières du front ouest en Belgique et en France en 1922 pour y ériger la Croix du Sacrifice. Le monument est érigé en terrain surélevé sur le versant ouest de la crête de Passchendaele, d'où l'on voit toutes les terres qui s'étendent jusqu'à la Manche. Conçu par Herbert Baker et sculpté par F. V. Blundstone, le monument est un mur de silex en forme de demi-cercle de 4,25 mètres de haut sur plus de 150 mètres de long. À l'avant, il comporte des panneaux de pierre de Portland. Sur la frise située au-dessus des panneaux est gravée une inscription dont voici la traduction :
1914 - À LA PLUS GRANDE GLOIRE DE DIEU ICI SONT INSCRITS LES NOMS DES OFFICIERS ET DES SOLDATS QUI SONT TOMBÉS DANS LE SAILLANT D'YPRES, MAIS QUE LES HASARDS DE LA GUERRE ONT EMPÊCHÉS D'AVOIR UNE IDENTITÉ ET UNE SÉPULTURE HONORABLE COMME LEURS CAMARADES DANS LA MORT. - 1918

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Photo de Philip Eric Bent
  • Mémorial
  • cimetière
  • Inscription
  • Inscription
  • Inscription – zoom in of inscription

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :