Language selection


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Tomb of the Unknown Soldier

The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier honours the more than 118,000 Canadians who sacrificed their lives in the cause of peace and freedom.

Ottawa, Ontario

Share:

Wars and conflicts main page

Visitor Information

30 Wellington St, Ottawa, ON K1P 5A4

The National War Memorial is always open to the public free of charge.


Database Information

Municipality/Province: Ottawa, ON

Memorial number: 35059-257

Type: Memorial

Address: Elgin and Wellington Streets

Location: Confederation Square, National War Memorial

GPS coordinates: Lat: 45.424036 Long: -75.695497

View Canadian Military Memorials Database

An inspired idea

In May 2000, the remains of an unidentified Canadian soldier who died in the First World War were repatriated from France and, with great ceremony, were buried in a special tomb in front of the National War Memorial in Ottawa.

This project began several years earlier at the instigation of The Royal Canadian Legion, who developed the idea as a Millennium project, and it was supported up by the Canadian Government under the lead of Veterans Affairs Canada.

Photo Credit: Veterans Affairs Canada/Anciens Combattants Canada

Selection at Vimy

On 23 May, 2000, a Canadian Forces aircraft flew to France to bring the Unknown Soldier back to Canada. On board was a delegation consisting of a Canadian Forces contingent including a 45-person guard, a bearer party, and a chaplain. The Veterans Affairs contingent contained veterans and civilians, including two representatives of Canadian youth.

The Commonwealth War Graves Commission, responsible for the care of graves and memorials of the Commonwealth forces members who died in the First and Second World Wars, selected an unidentified Canadian soldier from Cabaret Rouge British Cemetery in the vicinity of Vimy Ridge, the site of a famous Canadian battle of the First World War.

Bringing the unknown soldier home

On May 25, at a ceremony at the Canadian National Vimy Memorial, the Commonwealth War Graves Commission officially handed over the remains to Canada. At that point the Canadian Forces took over responsibility for the safekeeping and transport of the soldier's remains. Immediately after the ceremony, the Canadian delegation returned to Ottawa with a casket containing the soldier's remains on board the aircraft.

Photo Credit: Veterans Affairs Canada/Anciens Combattants Canada

Canadians pay their respects

On the evening of May 25, the casket carrying the remains of the Unknown Soldier was transported to Parliament Buildings, where it was placed in the Hall of Honour in the Centre Block. The remains lay in state there for three days, until the morning of May 28, so that Canadians could view the casket and pay their respects.

Final resting place

In the afternoon of May 28, the Unknown Soldier was transported from Parliament Hill to the National War Memorial on a horse-drawn gun carriage provided by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police. The funeral cortege included Their Excellencies, the Right Honourable Adrienne Clarkson, Governor General of Canada and John Ralston Saul, the Right Honourable Jean Chrétien, Prime Minister of Canada, veterans, Canadian Forces personnel and members of the RCMP. In a ceremony which aired on national television, the Unknown Soldier was laid to rest in a specially-designed sarcophagus directly in front of the National War Memorial.

Photo Credit: Veterans Affairs Canada/Anciens Combattants Canada

Tomb design

Located on the upper plaza of the National War Memorial, in front of the existing monument, the Tomb consists of a granite sarcophagus enclosing a casket containing the remains of the unknown soldier. A bronze relief sculpture is secured to the top with stainless steel pins. The four corner pieces of the sarcophagus also have bronze relief work.

The three-tiered sarcophagus is 12 feet long, 8 feet wide and 3 feet high. Dark Caledonia granite, quarried in Rivière à Pierre, Québec, was selected to complement the paler-coloured stone used in the National War Memorial. While it is patterned after the stone altar of the Canadian National Vimy Memorial, the severe Ottawa climate, as well as the bronze and stone makeup of the National War Memorial, led to the decision to produce the relief work in bronze.

Echoes of the Canadian National Vimy Memorial

The bronze relief sculpture, cast in Roberts Creek, British Columbia, includes the key elements of the stone carving on the Canadian National Vimy Memorial altar; a medieval sword, a helmet of the type worn in the First World War, with branches of maple and laurel leaves. The laurel leaves symbolize both victory and death. Four bronze corner pieces containing symbolic mementos of mourning enhance the sculpture.

Three of the corner pieces are decorated with large replicas of the Memorial Cross. First instituted in 1919, the Cross is presented to the family of those who gave their lives while serving Canada in war or on peacekeeping missions. The three Crosses are slightly different; each has the Royal Cypher of one of the successive monarchs since its inception (George V, George VI, and Elizabeth II). On the fourth corner piece there is a replica of a poppy, representing those who may fall in future conflicts. The curved shape of the corner pieces echoes the curve of the top of the National War Memorial.

Photo Credit: Veterans Affairs Canada/Anciens Combattants Canada

Mary-Ann Liu - sculptor

The sculpture was created by Mary-Ann Liu, a well-known Canadian artist from Mission, British Columbia, who works with a variety of materials.

Unanimous choice

The design selected for the bronze relief was the unanimous choice of the selection committee. It was one of six submissions received from internationally renowned Canadian artists from across the country who were invited to submit their designs. The selection committee was comprised of representatives from Public Works and Government Services Canada, Veterans Affairs Canada, the Department of National Defence, the National Capital Commission, the Royal Canadian Legion, a former Dominion Sculptor, a sculpture restoration specialist and a design consultant.

Photo Credit: Veterans Affairs Canada/Anciens Combattants Canada

Honouring Canadian sacrifice

The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier has become a focal point of commemoration for all memorial events at the National War Memorial. It is a memorial in Canada for Canadians. The Tomb is a fitting way to honour the sacrifices on which our freedoms were built.


Conflicts related to this memorial

Date modified:

Tombe du Soldat inconnu

La Tombe du Soldat inconnu est un hommage aux quelque 118 000 Canadiens qui ont sacrifié leur vie pour la cause de la paix et de la liberté.

Ottawa, Ontario

Partager :

Page principale des guerres et des conflits

Information pour les visiteurs

30, rue Wellington, Ottawa, ON K1P 5A4

Le Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada est toujours ouvert au public gratuitement.

Le Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada est ouvert 24 heures par jour.


Information de la base de données

Ville/Province : Ottawa, ON

Numéro du monument : 35059-257

Type : Memorial

Adresse : angle des rues Elgin et Wellington

Lieu : Place de la Confédération, Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada

Coordonnées GPS : Lat: 45.424036 Long: -75.695497

Consulter la base de données des monuments commémoratifs canadiens

Une idée inspirée

En mai 2000, les restes d'un soldat canadien non identifié mort au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale ont été rapatriés de la France et inhumés, dans le cadre d'une grande cérémonie, dans une tombe spéciale devant le Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada, à Ottawa.

Ce projet a commencé il y a plusieurs années à l'instigation de la Légion royale canadienne qui a proposé cette initiative à titre de projet du millénaire. La réalisation du projet fut assurée par le gouvernement du Canada sous la direction d'Anciens Combattants Canada.

Source : Anciens Combattants Canada

Sélection à Vimy

Le 23 mai 2000, un avion des Forces canadiennes s'est rendu en France afin de rapatrier le Soldat inconnu au Canada. À bord, il y avait une délégation composée d'un contingent des Forces canadiennes (une garde de 45 personnes, un cortège de porteurs et un aumônier). Le contingent d'Anciens Combattants Canada comprenait des vétérans et des civils, dont deux représentants de la jeunesse canadienne.

La Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth, responsable de l'entretien des sépultures et des mémoriaux des membres des forces du Commonwealth morts au cours des deux guerres mondiales, avait choisi la dépouille d'un soldat canadien non identifié enterré au cimetière britannique de Cabaret-Rouge. Ce cimetière est situé dans les environs de la crête de Vimy, lieu d'une célèbre bataille canadienne de la Première Guerre mondiale.

Rapatriement de la dépouille du Soldat inconnu

Le 25 mai, dans le cadre d'une cérémonie qui s'est tenue au Monument commémoratif du Canada à Vimy, la Commonwealth War Graves Commission a remis la dépouille au Canada. Les Forces canadiennes étaient dès lors chargées d'assurer la sécurité et le transport de la dépouille. Immédiatement après la cérémonie, la délégation canadienne est retournée à Ottawa avec le cercueil contenant les restes du soldat.

Source : Anciens Combattants Canada

Les Canadiens rendent hommage

Dans la soirée du 25 mai, le cercueil contenant les restes du Soldat inconnu fut transporté jusqu'aux édifices du Parlement, où il fut placé dans le Hall d'honneur de l'édifice du Centre. La dépouille fut exposée en chapelle ardente pendant trois jours, jusqu'au matin du 28 mai, afin que les Canadiens puissent voir le cercueil et rendre hommage au Soldat inconnu.

Lieu de dernier repos

Dans l'après-midi du 28 mai, le cercueil du Soldat inconnu fut placé sur un affût de canon hippomobile fourni par la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) et transporté de la colline du Parlement jusqu'au Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada. Le cortège funèbre comprenait Leurs Excellences la très honorable Adrienne Clarkson, gouverneure générale du Canada, et M. John Raslston Saul; le très honorable Jean Chrétien, premier ministre du Canada; des vétérans et des membres des Forces canadiennes et de la GRC. Dans le cadre d'une cérémonie télédiffusée à l'échelle nationale, le soldat inconnu fut inhumé dans un sarcophage spécial devant le Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada.

Source : Anciens Combattants Canada

Conception de la tombe

Située sur la partie supérieure du Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada, devant le monument existant, la tombe consiste en un tombeau en granit entourant un cercueil contenant les restes du Soldat inconnu. Une sculpture en bronze en relief est fixée au sommet de la Tombe à l'aide d'épingles en acier inoxydable. Les quatre coins du tombeau sont également ornés de détails en bronze en relief.

Le tombeau à trois niveaux mesure 12 pieds de long, 8 pieds de large et 3 pieds de haut. Le calédonia foncé provenant de Rivière-à-Pierre, au Québec, a été choisi pour mettre en valeur la pierre de couleur plus pâle utilisée dans le Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada. Bien qu'il s'inspire de l'autel de pierre du Monument commémoratif du Canada à Vimy, le climat rigoureux d'Ottawa ainsi que la composition en bronze et en pierre du Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada ont poussé les créateurs de la tombe à produire l'œuvre en relief en bronze.

Échos du Monument commémoratif du Canada à Vimy

La sculpture en bronze en relief, coulée à Roberts Creek, en Colombie-Britannique, comprend les éléments clés de la sculpture en pierre sur l'autel du Monument commémoratif du Canada à Vimy, à savoir une épée médiévale, un casque du type de celui porté pendant la Première Guerre mondiale ainsi que des branches d'érable et des feuilles de laurier. Les feuilles de laurier signifient tout autant la victoire que la mort. Quatre pièces de coin en bronze contenant des souvenirs symboliques de deuil ornent la sculpture.

Trois des pièces de coin sont décorées de grandes répliques de la Croix du Souvenir. Créée en 1919, la Croix est remise à la famille de ceux et celles qui ont donné leur vie en servant le Canada en temps de guerre ou en mission de maintien de la paix. Les trois croix sont légèrement différentes; chacune porte le monogramme royal de l'un des monarques successifs depuis sa création (George V, George VI et Elizabeth II). La quatrième pièce de coin présente une réplique d'un coquelicot, représentant ceux qui pourraient tomber au combat lors de futurs conflits. La forme incurvée des pièces de coin rappelle la courbe du sommet du Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada.

Source : Anciens Combattants Canada

Mary-Ann Liu – sculptrice

La sculpture a été créée par Mary-Ann Liu, une artiste canadienne bien connue de Mission, en Colombie-Britannique, qui travaille avec divers matériaux.

Choix unanime

L'œuvre choisie pour le relief en bronze a été choisie à l'unanimité par le comité de sélection. Il s'agissait de l'une des six œuvres présentées par des artistes canadiens de renommée internationale de partout au pays qui avaient été invités à soumettre leurs créations. Le comité de sélection était composé de représentants de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada, d'Anciens Combattants Canada, du ministère de la Défense nationale, de la Commission de la capitale nationale, de la Légion royale canadienne, d'un ancien sculpteur du Dominion, d'un spécialiste en restauration de sculptures et d'un expert-conseil en design.

Source : Anciens Combattants Canada

Hommage au sacrifice des Canadiens

La Tombe du Soldat inconnu est devenue un point central de toutes les activités commémoratives au Monument commémoratif de guerre au Canada. C'est un monument situé au Canada pour les Canadiens. La tombe est une façon d'honorer les sacrifices à l'origine de nos libertés.


Date de modification :