Outstanding Accomplishments – Branching Out

As in the First World War, most Indigenous people served in the infantry, primarily because it required the most manpower. As well, the other branches of military service—the new Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF) and the growing Royal Canadian Navy (RCN)—had entrance restrictions, such as educational requirements or a preference for candidates whose ancestors were British. One military historian explains that:

. . . when war broke out there was also an air force regulation barring those from commissions who were not of "pure European descent." This was repealed quite early in the war. The Royal Canadian Navy had a more sweeping regulation. Among its prerequisites for service in any rank was a condition that an applicant "be a British born subject, of a white Race." Although it was not until February 1943 that this regulation was officially rescinded, a few Canadian Indians and Métis voluntarily joined and were accepted in both services from the outbreak of war.62

Not surprisingly, the 1942-43 report of the Indian Affairs Branch listed only 29 First Nations members in the air services and nine in the RCN, although these numbers grew by war's end. One of these men, Flying Officer Willard John Bolduc, an Ojibwa from Chapleau, Ontario, earned the Distinguished Flying Cross (DFC) for his performance as an air gunner during a series of bombing attacks in 1943.

While, once again, many Indigenous soldiers became known for their sniping and scouting skills, other talents were demonstrated in this war. They were assuming more varied and demanding duties.

Jack Beaver of Ontario's Alderville Band was overseas with the RCAF for 13 months during the war. A member of the Force's 126 Wing, he served in England, Holland, Belgium, and France. After the war, Beaver, a member of the Mississauga First Nation, was chief of the band for four years and eventually became President of the Churchill Falls (Labrador) Corporation.
(Marjorie Beaver)

Nelson Shead of Selkirk, Manitoba, served as a Chief Motor Mechanic with the Royal Canadian Naval Reserve. His two brothers, Bill and Harry also joined the navy. All three of the Shead brothers, whose origins trace to the Fish River First Nation band, had worked aboard fishing vessels on Lake Winnipeg before the war. (William Shead)

Date modified:

Réalisations exceptionnelles - Déploiement

Comme ils l'avaient fait au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale, la plupart des Autochtones servirent dans l'infanterie, surtout parce que c'était le corps militaire qui avait le plus besoin de soldats. Ajoutons que les autres services armés - dont le nouveau Corps d'aviation royal canadien (CARC) et la Marine royale canadienne (MRC) qui se développaient - avaient des critères d'admissibilité plus restrictifs - par exemple en ce qui concerne les études - ou une préférence pour les candidats d'origine britannique. Un historien militaire explique :

... lorsque la guerre éclata, un règlement de l'aviation empêchait de devenir officiers ceux qui n'étaient pas d'ascendance européenne pure. Le règlement a été abrogé peu après le début de la guerre. La Marine royale canadienne avait un règlement encore plus restrictif. Parmi les critères d'admissibilité pour le service à n'importe quel grade, on exigeait que le candidat soit " né sujet britannique, et de race blanche ". Bien que ce règlement n'ait pas été officiellement abrogé avant février 1943, quelques Indiens et Métis du Canada se portèrent volontaires et furent acceptés dans les deux armes dès le début de la guerre.62

Il n'est pas surprenant que dans le rapport de la Direction des affaires indiennes pour 1942-1943, il n'y ait que 29 Autochtones dans l'aviation et neuf dans la MRC, mais ce nombre s'était accru à la fin de la guerre. L'un de ces hommes, le lieutenant d'aviation Willard John Bolduc, un Ojibwa de Chapleau, en Ontario, a obtenu la Croix du service distingué dans l'Aviation pour ses exploits de mitrailleur au cours d'une série de bombardements en 1943.

Bien qu'encore une fois, nombre d'Autochtones se soient distingués par leur adresse au tir et comme éclaireurs, ils firent preuve d'autres talents au cours de cette guerre. Les soldats autochtones du Canada assumèrent des fonctions qui étaient de plus en plus variées et difficiles.

Jack Beaver, de la bande Alderville en Ontario, servit pendant 13 mois outre-mer au sein du CARC au cours de la guerre. Membre de l'escadre 126 des forces, il servit en Angleterre, aux Pays-Bas, en Belgique et en France. Après la guerre, Beaver, un Autochtone Mississauga, fut chef de bande pendant quatre ans et devint par la suite président de la Churchill Falls (Labrador) Corporation.
(Marjorie Beaver)

Nelson Shead, de Selkirk au Manitoba, servit à titre de chef mécanicien dans la Réserve de la Marine royale du Canada. Ses deux frères, Bill et Harry, s'enrôlèrent également dans la marine. Originaires de la bande Fisher River, les frères Shead avaient travaillé à bord de bateaux de pêche sur le lac Winnipeg avant la guerre. (William Shead)

Date de modification :