Language selection

Books of Remembrance

The first seven Books of Remembrance commemorate the more than 118,000 Canadians who have made the ultimate sacrifice while serving our country in uniform. The names inscribed in these Books of Remembrance can also be found in the Canadian Virtual War Memorial.

In 2012, the War of 1812 Book of Remembrance was commissioned to mark the 200th anniversary of the signing of a peace treaty that ended this pivotal conflict. This eighth Book of Remembrance was unveiled in February 2019. 

You may view the eight Books of Remembrance in the Room of Remembrance in the Visitor Welcome Centre on Parliament Hill. The Memorial Chamber, where the Books of Remembrance used to lie, will remain closed throughout the decade-long renovations of Centre Block.

Memorial Chamber

Memorial Chamber

Learn more about the Memorial Chamber, the permanent home of the Books of Remembrance

New altars (PWGSC video)


Stone altars for the Books of Remembrance have been created and installed to mark the 100th anniversary of the First World War.

Information on the Books of Remembrance


A calendar was devised so that each page of each book is turned once a year.

Ceremony procedures

Every morning, at eleven o'clock, the pages of the Books of Remembrance are turned by a member of the House of Commons Protective Service Staff.

History of the Books

Canada's Books of Remembrance represent, individually and collectively, the highest expressions of modern workmanship and artistry.

Ranks, units, and decorative pages

Explore ranks, units and decorative pages from the Books of Remembrance.

Request a copy of a page

If you wish to obtain a copy of a page from the Books of Remembrance, please order online.

Search the Books

Find a name in the Books of Remembrance or when a page will be displayed in the Memorial Chamber.

If you have any questions about the Books of Remembrance, please email Veteran Affairs Canada.

National Memorial (Silver) Cross Mothers

The National Memorial (Silver) Cross Mother is chosen annually by the Royal Canadian Legion to represent the mothers of Canada at the National Remembrance Day Ceremony in Ottawa on November 11. The Memorial Cross (more often referred to as the Silver Cross) is awarded to mothers and widows (next of kin) of Canadian soldiers who died on active duty or whose death was consequently attributed to such duty.

Memorial Cross
Date modified: