Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Mental Health Benefits FAQ

Q1. What is the Mental Health Benefits initiative?

The Mental Health Benefits initiative provides immediate coverage to Veterans for treatment of certain mental health conditions, such as anxiety disorders, depressive disorders, and trauma-and-stressor-related disorders.

The goal is to support Veterans’ mental health while their disability benefits application is being processed. Coverage lasts for two years from the date we receive a disability benefits application or until a Veteran receives a favourable disability benefits decision.

Q2. Who is eligible for Mental Health Benefits?

The following groups are eligible for Mental Health Benefits if they have submitted a disability benefits application for one of the eligible mental health conditions or are awaiting a decision:

  • Veterans (including those living outside of Canada)
  • still-serving Reserve Force members on Class A or Class B (180 days or less) service who are not covered by the CAF healthcare plan.

*Please note that eligible Reserve Force members include members of the Supplementary Reserve, the Primary Reserve, the Cadet Organizations Administration and Training Service (COATS) and the Canadian Rangers.

New applications for a disability benefit (either as a pensioned condition under the Pension Act or pain and suffering compensation under the Veterans Well-being Act) for anxiety disorders, depressive disorders, and trauma-and-stressor-related disorders also qualify for Mental Health Benefits.

Current and former RCMP members are not eligible for Mental Health Benefits. However, RCMP members with CAF service may be eligible if their application relates to a mental health condition that arose during or was aggravated by their CAF service.

Q3. I am a serving member of the CAF, do I qualify?

Serving CAF members receive mental health coverage through the CAF health plan. As such, you’re not able to receive Mental Health Benefits, unless you are a Reservist on Class A or Class B under 180 days.

If you apply for disability benefits but don’t have a decision before your release from the CAF, you will be eligible for Mental Health Benefits the day after you release.

Q4. Are family members eligible for Mental Health Benefits coverage?

Family members are not eligible to apply directly for Mental Health Benefits. If a client is receiving Mental Health Benefits coverage and their mental health professional believes that involving family members in treatment will achieve positive health outcomes for the client, family members may qualify for mental health services.

Q5. How do I apply for Mental Health Benefits?

You don’t need to apply for Mental Health Benefits. You will be eligible on the date we receive your disability benefit application or the day following your CAF release, whichever is later. This includes applications submitted via My VAC Account, paper applications or applications submitted through The Royal Canadian Legion.

Q6. I applied for a disability benefit before 1 April 2022. Do I qualify? How does that work?

If you are a Veteran of the Canadian Armed Forces and submitted a disability benefits application for an anxiety disorder, depressive disorder and/or trauma-and-stressor-related disorder before 1 April 2022 – and have not yet received a decision on your application – you are eligible for Mental Health Benefits for 2 years starting 1 April 2022.

If you received a disability benefit decision before 1 April 2022, you may be able to access mental health services through the Treatment Benefits program.

Q7. Once a disability benefit decision is made, what happens to my Mental Health Benefits coverage?

Once a decision is made, one of the two following scenarios will happen:

  • Favourable decision: Your coverage will transfer to our Treatment Benefits program without any interruption and will continue for as long as you need it.
  • Unfavourable decision: Your Mental Health Benefits coverage will stay active until the end of your 2 year eligibility period.

Q8. Will eligibility for Mental Health Benefits impact my other VAC benefits and services?

No. Mental Health Benefits does not impact your eligibility for other VAC benefits, services or programs.

Q9. How do I access services covered by Mental Health Benefits?

If you already have a Medavie Blue Cross health card, you can start using it to access mental health services after qualifying for Mental Health Benefits. You will not need a new Medavie card.

Q10. How do I get a Medavie Blue Cross health card?

If you do not have a Medavie Blue Cross health card, one will be sent to you by mail within 10 days of your Mental Health Benefits eligibility notification.

  • If you are a still-serving CAF member, you will typically receive your VAC Medavie Blue Cross health card within 10 days of the CAF’s notification to Medavie Blue Cross that you have released and no longer have CAF health coverage.

If you already have a Medavie Blue Cross health card, you can start using it to access mental health services after we notify you that you qualify for Mental Health Benefits. You will not need a new Medavie card.

Q11. How do I claim my Mental Health Benefits expenses?

If your service provider is registered with Medavie Blue Cross, use your Medavie health card so that the provider can bill VAC/Medavie Blue Cross directly to prevent you from paying out of pocket.

Find registered providers in your area by contacting us or through your Medavie Blue Cross account.

If your service provider is not registered with Medavie Blue Cross, you may need to pay for the services and then apply for reimbursement from VAC/Medavie Blue Cross. For more information on how to apply for claim reimbursements, visit our Treatment Benefits page.

Please note: Some treatments or services may need pre-authorization. To find out if pre-authorization is needed, your service provider can contact us or call Medavie at 1-866-811-6060. Most services will only need pre-authorization once.

Q12. What happens if I re-enroll as a member of the Canadian Armed Forces while receiving Mental Health Benefits coverage?

If you re-enroll as a member of the Canadian Armed Forces, you will no longer have Mental Health Benefits coverage. This does not apply to Reserve Force members Class A or Class B (less than 180 days) because these groups do not have health coverage from the CAF.

Q13. What happens to my Mental Health Benefits coverage if I am a Reservist who accepts Class 'C' or Class 'B' service for more than 180 days?

Your Mental Health Benefits coverage stops once you become a full-time serving member of the CAF, as you will receive health coverage from them. Class ‘C’ and Class ‘B’ service for more than 180 days are covered by the CAF health plan.

Q14. My mental health has been affected by a physical service-related injury for which I’m awaiting a decision (or plan to apply). Am I eligible for coverage?

Mental Health Benefits is only available to Veterans who apply for a disability benefit for mental health conditions such as anxiety and depressive disorders, or trauma-and-stressor-related disorders.

However, we may be able to offer your other forms of assistance. Consider contacting the VAC Assistance Service: Call 1-800-268-7708 to speak to a mental health professional right now, or use the online chat to set up an appointment. The VAC Assistance Service is confidential, free, and available 24/7 to Veterans, former RCMP members, their family members, and caregivers.

Q15. What happens if I request a review or appeal of the benefits or services covered under Mental Health Benefits?

The approach to reviews for benefits and services under Mental Health Benefits will be the same as that used for services or benefits denied under the Treatment Benefits Program.

Program participants can request up to 2 levels of review if they are dissatisfied with any decision made under Mental Health Benefits.

Information on how to request a review is included in the Explanation of Benefits received from Medavie Blue Cross if a claim is denied.

Q16. I now have coverage through Mental Health Benefits. Can I get in to see a mental health professional now?

Your coverage allows VAC to pay for mental health services, either in person or virtually, from a health professional of your choice as soon as you’re eligible.

Note: Many provinces and territories across Canada are experiencing longer than average wait times to schedule mental health appointments. The VAC Assistance Service can be accessed 24/7 for mental health counselling support in case health professionals within your community are not immediately available. This service is available to all Veterans and their families, even if they have not applied for VAC benefits or services

Q17. Is there a list of eligible mental health conditions considered for coverage?

Mental health conditions eligible for coverage under Mental Health Benefits fall under three groups:

  1. Anxiety Disorders
  2. Depressive Disorders
  3. Trauma and stressor related disorders

Examples of mental health conditions in these groups include:

  • Anxiety Disorder
  • Generalized Anxiety Disorder
  • Adjustment Disorder
  • Panic Disorder
  • Depressive Disorders
  • Dysthymia and Major Depression
  • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)

Your condition does not need to be specifically identified on the application form. Please include a list of your symptoms.

Q18. What types of evaluations and treatments are eligible for Mental Health Benefits coverage?

Prescription Drugs (POC 10) and Related Health Services (POC 12) that relate to mental health are eligible for coverage under Mental Health Benefits. Some Medical Services (POC 6) benefits may also be covered if you are living outside of Canada.

Treatment, services and prescription drugs covered under Mental Health Benefits are subject to the same approvals, frequency and financial limits as the Treatment Benefits Program.

Evaluations and treatments eligible for Mental Health Benefits coverage
Medical Services (POC 6) Outside Canada: if an eligible treatment is not covered by your country/jurisdiction of residence, VAC will cover treatment by approved POC 6 health professionals such as:
  • psychiatrists
  • physicians
  • nurse practitioners
Prescription Drugs (POC 10) Related prescription drugs are covered if prescribed by an authorized physician or other health professional in the province/territory or country/jurisdiction where they are provided.
Related Health Services (POC 12) Mental Health Benefits provides for certain services (e.g., treatments and examinations) related to approved health professionals, including:
  • Psychologists
  • Psychotherapists
  • Counsellors
  • Social Workers
  • *Clinical Care Managers
*Clinical Care Managers can include Nurses, Psychoeducators, Psychologists, Occupational Therapists, and Social Workers.

Mental Health Benefits recipients must use coverage from their provincial/territorial plan first, or coverage available to them from the CAF. VAC may cover any extra costs not already covered by these plans (for example, as a “top up” from other insurance coverage).

Note: Many provinces and territories across Canada are experiencing longer than average wait times to schedule mental health appointments. The VAC Assistance Service may be a useful resource when access to mental health counselling and treatment by health professionals are not immediately available. This service is available to all Veterans and their families, even if they have not applied for VAC benefits or services. The service is confidential, and available 24/7.

If you are experiencing a crisis and need immediate assistance please call 911.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Avantages pour la santé mentale - FAQ

Q1. En quoi consistent les Avantages pour la santé mentale?

Les Avantages pour la santé mentale offrent aux vétérans une couverture immédiate pour le traitement de certains troubles de santé mentale comme les troubles anxieux, les troubles dépressifs et les troubles liés à des traumatismes et à des facteurs de stress.

L’objectif est de soutenir la santé mentale des vétérans pendant le traitement de leur demande de prestations d’invalidité. La couverture dure deux ans à compter de la date de réception de la demande de prestations d’invalidité ou jusqu’à ce que le vétéran obtienne une décision favorable en matière de prestations d’invalidité.

Q2. Qui est admissible aux Avantages pour la santé mentale?

Les groupes suivants ont droit aux Avantages pour la santé mentale s’ils ont soumis une demande de prestations d’invalidité pour des troubles de santé mentale ou s’ils sont en attente d’une décision :

  • vétérans (y compris ceux vivant à l’extérieur du Canada)
  • membres en service de la Force de réserve de classe A ou de classe B (moins de 180 jours) s’ils ne sont pas couverts par le régime de soins de santé des FAC

*Veuillez noter que les membres de la Force de réserve admissibles comprennent les membres de la Réserve supplémentaire, de la Première réserve, du Service d’administration et d’organisation des organisations de cadets et des Rangers canadiens.

Les nouvelles demandes de prestations d’invalidité (que ce soit pour une affection ouvrant droit à pension en vertu de la Loi sur les pensions ou une indemnité pour douleur et souffrance en vertu de la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans) pour des troubles anxieux, des troubles dépressifs et des troubles liés à des traumatismes et à des facteurs de stress ouvrent aussi l’accès aux Avantages pour la santé mentale.

Les membres actuels et anciens de la GRC ne sont pas admissibles aux Avantages pour la santé mentale. Cependant, ceux qui ont servi dans les FAC peuvent être admissibles si leur demande est liée à un trouble de santé mentale qui est apparu pendant leur service dans les FAC ou qui a été aggravé par celui-ci.

Q3. Je suis un membre actif des FAC, suis-je admissible?

Les membres actifs des FAC bénéficient d’une couverture en santé mentale par l’intermédiaire du régime d’assurance maladie des FAC. Ainsi, vous n’avez pas accès aux Avantages pour la santé mentale, à moins d’être un membre de la Force de réserve de classe A ou de classe B (moins de 180 jours).

Si vous faites une demande de prestations d’invalidité, mais que vous n’obtenez pas de décision avant votre libération des FAC, vous serez admissibles aux Avantages pour la santé mentale le jour suivant votre libération.

Q4. Les membres de la famille sont-ils admissibles à la couverture offerte par les Avantages pour la santé mentale?

Les membres de la famille n'ont pas directement droit aux Avantages pour la santé mentale. Si un client reçoit des Avantages pour la santé mentale et que le professionnel de la santé mentale qui le traite estime que le traitement de membres de sa famille améliorera son propre état de santé, alors les membres de la famille peuvent être admissibles à la couverture offerte par les Avantages pour la santé mentale.

Q5. Comment puis-je faire une demande pour avoir droit aux Avantages pour la santé mentale?

directement droit aux Avantages pour la santé mentale. Si un client reçoit des Avantages pour la santé mentale et que le votre professionnel de la santé mentale qui le traite estime que le traitement de votre membres de sa famille améliorera votre son propre état de santé, alors les membres de votre la famille peuvent être admissibles à la couverture offerte par les Avantages pour la santé mentale. Les membres de la famille n’ont pas directement droit aux Avantages pour la santé mentale.

Q6. J’ai présenté une demande de prestation d’invalidité avant le 1er avril 2022. Suis-je admissible? Comment cela fonctionne-t-il?

Si vous êtes un vétéran des Forces armées canadiennes et que vous avez présenté une demande de prestations d’invalidité pour un trouble anxieux, un trouble dépressif ou un trouble lié à des traumatismes et à des facteurs de stress avant le 1er avril 2022 – et que vous n’avez pas encore reçu de décision concernant votre demande – vous êtes admissible aux Avantages pour la santé pendant deux ans à compter du 1er avril 2022.

Si vous avez reçu une décision concernant les prestations d’invalidité avant le 1er avril 2022, vous n’êtes pas admissible.

Q7. Une fois qu’une décision a été rendue concernant les prestations d’invalidité, qu’advient-il de ma couverture prévue par les Avantages pour la santé mentale?

Une fois la décision rendue, l’un des deux scénarios suivants se produira :

  • Décision favorable : Votre couverture sera transférée à notre Programme d’avantages médicaux sans aucune interruption et se poursuivra aussi longtemps que vous en aurez besoin.
  • Décision défavorable : La couverture dont vous bénéficiez dans le cadre des Avantages pour la santé mentale restera active jusqu’à la fin de votre période d’admissibilité de deux ans.

Q8. L’admissibilité aux Avantages pour la santé mentale aura-t-elle une incidence sur mes autres avantages et services d’ACC?

Non. Les Avantages pour la santé mentale n’ont aucune incidence sur votre admissibilité aux autres avantages, services ou programmes d’ACC.

Q9. Comment puis-je avoir accès aux services couverts par les Avantages pour la santé mentale?

Si vous avez déjà une carte de soins de santé de Croix Bleue Medavie, vous pourrez commencer à l’utiliser pour avoir accès à des services de santé mentale après avoir eu la confirmation que vous êtes admissible aux Avantages pour la santé mentale. Vous n’aurez pas besoin d’une nouvelle carte Medavie.

Q10. Comment puis-je obtenir une carte de soins de santé de Croix Bleue Medavie?

Si vous n’avez pas de carte de soins de santé de Croix Bleue Medavie, vous en recevrez une par la poste dans les 10 jours suivant votre avis d’admissibilité aux Avantages pour la santé mentale.

  • Si vous êtes un membre des FAC encore en service, vous recevrez généralement votre carte de soins de santé Croix Bleue Medavie d’ACC dans les 10 jours suivant la date à laquelle les FAC informeront Croix Bleue Medavie que vous avez été libéré et que vous n’avez plus la couverture médicale des FAC.

Si vous avez déjà une carte de soins de santé de Croix Bleue Medavie, vous pourrez commencer à l’utiliser pour avoir accès à des services de santé mentale une fois que nous vous aurons avisé que vous êtes admissible aux Avantages pour la santé mentale. Vous n’aurez pas besoin d’une nouvelle carte Medavie.

Q11. Comment puis-je réclamer le remboursement de mes dépenses liées aux Avantages pour la santé mentale?

Si votre fournisseur de services est inscrit auprès de Croix Bleue Medavie, utilisez votre carte de soins de santé Medavie pour que le fournisseur puisse facturer directement ACC/Croix Bleue Medavie et vous éviter ainsi de payer de votre poche.

Pour trouver les fournisseurs inscrits dans votre région, communiquez avec nous ou consultez votre compte Croix Bleue Medavie.

Si votre fournisseur de services n’est pas inscrit auprès de Croix Bleue Medavie, il se peut que vous deviez payer pour les services et demander ensuite un remboursement à ACC/Croix Bleue Medavie. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la façon de présenter une demande de remboursement, visitez notre page sur les avantages médicaux.

Remarque : Certains traitements ou services peuvent nécessiter l’obtention préalable d’une autorisation. Pour savoir si une autorisation est nécessaire, votre fournisseur de services peut communiquer avec nous ou téléphoner à Medavie au 1-866-811-6060. La plupart des services nécessiteront d’obtenir une seule autorisation.

Q12. Que se passe-t-il si je m’enrôle à nouveau dans les Forces armées canadiennes alors que je bénéficie de la couverture offerte par les Avantages pour la santé mentale?

Si vous vous enrôlez à nouveau dans les Forces armées canadiennes, vous ne serez plus couvert par les Avantages pour la santé mentale. Cela ne s’applique pas aux membres de la Force de réserve de classe A ou de classe B (moins de 180 jours), car ces groupes ne sont pas couverts pour les soins de santé par les FAC.

Q13. Qu’advient-il de ma couverture au titre des Avantages pour la santé mentale si je suis un réserviste qui accepte un service de classe C ou de classe B pendant plus de 180 jours?

Vous n’êtes plus couvert par les Avantages pour la santé mentale dès que vous devenez un membre actif des FAC, car vous bénéficierez d’une protection en matière de santé de leur part. Le service de classe C et de classe B pendant plus de 180 jours est couvert par le régime de soins de santé des FAC.

Q14. Ma santé mentale a été affectée par une blessure physique liée au service pour laquelle j’attends une décision (ou je prévois faire une demande). Suis-je admissible à une couverture?

Les Avantages pour la santé mentale sont seulement offerts aux vétérans qui présentent une demande de prestation d’invalidité pour des troubles de santé mentale tels que les troubles anxieux et dépressifs, ou les troubles liés à des traumatismes et à des facteurs de stress.

Cependant, nous pouvons être en mesure de vous proposer d’autres formes d’aide. Vous pourriez faire appel au Service d’aide d’ACC : composez le 1-800-268-7708 pour parler à un professionnel de la santé dès maintenant, ou utilisez le clavardage en ligne pour fixer un rendez-vous. Le Service d’aide d’ACC est confidentiel, gratuit et disponible en tout temps pour les vétérans, les anciens membres de la GRC, les membres de leur famille et leurs aidants.

Q15. Que se passera-t-il si je demande une révision ou un appel des avantages ou des services couverts par les Avantages pour la santé mentale?

L’approche en matière de révision pour les avantages ou les services dans le cadre des Avantages pour la santé mentale sera la même que celle qui est utilisée pour les avantages ou les services refusés dans le cadre du Programme d’avantages médicaux.

Les participants au programme peuvent demander jusqu’à 2 niveaux de révision s’ils ne sont pas satisfaits d’une décision prise dans le cadre des Avantages pour la santé mentale.

Des informations sur la façon de demander une révision sont incluses dans l’explication des prestations reçues de Croix Bleue Medavie si une demande est refusée.

Q16. Je bénéficie maintenant d’une couverture dans le cadre des Avantages pour la santé mentale. Puis-je me présenter pour voir un professionnel de la santé mentale maintenant?

Votre couverture permet à ACC de payer les services de santé mentale, en personne ou virtuels, d’un professionnel de la santé de votre choix dès que vous êtes admissible.

Remarque : De nombreuses provinces et territoires du Canada connaissent des temps d’attente plus longs que la moyenne pour prendre des rendez-vous en santé mentale. Le Service d’aide d’ACC est mis à votre disposition en tout temps pour un soutien psychologique en santé mentale au cas où les professionnels de la santé de votre communauté ne seraient pas immédiatement disponibles. Ce service est offert à tous les vétérans et à leur famille, même s’ils n’ont pas fait de demande de prestations ou de services d’ACC.

Q7. Existe-t-il une liste des troubles de santé mentale qui seront pris en compte pour la couverture?

Les problèmes de santé mentale pris en compte pour la couverture des prestations de santé mentale sont répartis dans trois groupes :

  1. Troubles de l’anxiété
  2. Troubles dépressifs
  3. Troubles liés à des traumatismes et à des facteurs de stress

Voici des exemples de problèmes de santé mentale dans ces groupes :

  • Trouble de l’anxiété
  • Trouble d’anxiété généralisé
  • Trouble de l’adaptation
  • Trouble de panique
  • Troubles dépressifs
  • Dysthymie et dépression majeure
  • État de stress post-traumatique (ESPT)

Votre condition n’a pas besoin d’être clairement identifiée sur le formulaire de demande. Veuillez inclure une liste de vos symptômes.

Q18. Quels types d’évaluations et de traitement pris en compte pour la couverture des Avantages pour la santé mentale?

Les médicaments sur ordonnance (PDC 10) et les services paramédicaux (PDC 12) qui se rapportent à la santé mentale peuvent être couverts par les Avantages pour la santé mentale. Certains services médicaux (PDC 6) peuvent également être couverts si vous habitez à l’extérieur du Canada.

Les traitements, les services et les médicaments sur ordonnance couverts par les Avantages pour la santé mentale sont assujettis aux mêmes approbations, fréquences et limites financières que le programme d’avantages médicaux.

Évaluations et traitements admissibles à la couverture des Avantages pour la santé mentale
Services médicaux (PDC 6) Extérieur du Canada : si un traitement n’est pas couvert par votre pays de résidence, ACC couvrira le traitement fourni par un professionnel de la santé autorisé du PDC 6 tels que :
  • psychiatres
  • médecins
  • infirmières praticiennes
Médicaments sur ordonnance (PDC 10) Les médicaments sur ordonnance connexes sont couverts s’ils sont prescrits par un médecin ou un autre professionnel de la santé autorisé dans la province, le territoire ou le pays où ils sont fournis.
Services paramédicaux (PDC 12) Les Avantages pour la santé mentale couvrent certains services (p. ex., traitements et examens) se rapportant à des professionnels de la santé autorisés, notamment :
  • Psychologues
  • Psychothérapeutes
  • Conseillers
  • Travailleurs sociaux
  • *Gestionnaires de soins cliniques
*Les gestionnaires de soins cliniques peuvent comprendre le personnel infirmier, les psychoéducateurs, les psychologues, les ergothérapeutes et les travailleurs sociaux.

Les bénéficiaires des Avantages pour la santé mentale doivent d’abord utiliser la couverture de leur régime provincial/territorial, ou la couverture qui leur est offerte par les FAC. ACC peut couvrir tous les frais supplémentaires qui ne sont pas déjà couverts par ces régimes (par exemple, en tant que « complément » d’une autre couverture d’assurance).

Remarque : De nombreuses provinces et territoires du Canada connaissent des temps d’attente plus longs que la moyenne pour prendre des rendez-vous en santé mentale. Le Service d’aide d’ACC peut être une ressource utile lorsque l’accès à des conseils et à un traitement en santé mentale par des professionnels de la santé n’est pas immédiatement disponible. Ce service est offert à tous les vétérans et à leurs familles, même s’ils n’ont pas demandé d’avantages ou de services auprès d’ACC. Le service est confidentiel et disponible 24 h sur 24 et 7 jours sur 7.

Si vous vivez une crise et avez besoin d’une assistance immédiate, veuillez appeler le 911.

Date de modification :