Canada Remembers – D-Day and the Battle of Normandy

Canadians took part in many hard struggles to help the Allies to victory during the Second World War. D-Day and the Battle of Normandy was one of the best-known chapters of the entire conflict and our service members would play an important role in this pivotal campaign.

Setting the scene

Landing craft in the English Channel

This publication is available upon request in alternate formats.
PDF Version

Germany invaded much of Western Europe in the spring of 1940, during the opening months of the Second World War. A narrow stretch of sea, the English Channel, was all that separated the surging enemy forces from Great Britain, but the island nation held firm. The conquered countries on the continent would suffer greatly under a harsh occupation in the years that followed. An Allied raid on the French coast at Dieppe in August 1942 would result in heavy losses, especially for Canadian troops, but the Allies would slowly turn the tide against the powerful enemy war machine in North Africa, Italy, on the Eastern Front, in the skies over Europe and on the Atlantic Ocean. To win the war, however, Germany would have to be defeated on the ground in Western Europe and 1944 would be the year the Allies would finally return and powerfully strike back.

The target for the Allied landing forces would be the beaches of Normandy in France. Planning and preparation for this immense undertaking, codenamed Operation Overlord, began more than a year earlier. Land, sea and air forces trained extensively and the necessary troops, ships, tanks, supplies and other equipment were steadily amassed. Misinformation was deliberately leaked to the Germans to confuse them over where the landings would actually take place. Huge portable docking facilities, called “Mulberry harbours,” were prepared for use by Allied transport ships to unload their cargoes in France. Long flexible pipes, nicknamed “PLUTO” (pipe lines under the ocean), were designed to carry fuel under the English Channel. The Allies were ready but had to wait until the weather, tides and phase of the moon were right in order to be able to attack.

"Fortress Europe"

Successfully establishing a beachhead in occupied France would be a huge challenge for the Allied forces. The Germans had turned the coast of Europe from the Spanish border to Scandinavia into a daunting series of defensive positions. Dubbed “Fortress Europe” by Adolf Hitler, its shores were studded with land mines, barbed wire, concrete bunkers, artillery batteries, machine-gun nests, anti-tank walls, and thousands of watchful enemy troops.

An Allied defeat on the beaches of Normandy would have been disastrous as there was no way to safely evacuate troops in large numbers, so huge casualties would be inevitable. If the landings were successful, however, our forces would finally gain that all-important foothold in Western Europe and could begin the liberation campaign after years of harsh German occupation.

On land, by sea and in the air

Allied warplanes helped pave the way for the Normandy landings. They undertook countless missions attacking coastal defences and lines of transport in occupied Europe in the months leading up to Operation Overlord. Despite questionable weather conditions, the Allied high command made the decision to attack on June 6, 1944—a date that has become known in history as “D-Day.” A massive Allied force would cross the English Channel, heading for an 80-kilometre stretch of the Normandy coast. There were five landing zones assigned to the forces of different nations: Juno Beach (Canada); Gold Beach (United Kingdom); Sword Beach (United Kingdom and France); and Utah Beach and Omaha Beach (United States).

Some 7,000 naval vessels of all types, including 284 major combat ships, took part in Operation Neptune (as the sea-borne assault phase of the D-Day offensive was codenamed). Destroyers and supporting craft of the Royal Canadian Navy shelled German positions onshore and cleared sea mines in the approaches to the French beaches. Many Royal Canadian Air Force planes were among the some 4,000 Allied bombers and 3,700 fighters / fighter bombers that relentlessly struck at shoreline defences, inland targets and enemy squadrons that day.

Canadian soldiers watching for snipers in Caen. July 10, 1944.

More than 450 members of the 1st Canadian Parachute Battalion jumped inland before dawn on June 6 and were the first of our soldiers to engage the enemy on D-Day. A few hours later, some 14,000 Canadian troops from the 3rd Canadian Infantry Division and the 2nd Canadian Armoured Brigade—composed of military units from coast to coast—would begin to come ashore at Juno Beach. Their mission was to brave heavy fire to establish a foothold along an eight-kilometre stretch of coastline fronting the villages of Saint-Aubin-sur-Mer, Bernières-sur-Mer, Courseulles-sur-Mer, and Graye-sur-Mer. Our soldiers would then push inland towards the city of Caen, an important communications and transport centre.

A hard-won victory

Many Canadian soldiers were young and new to battle, but our infantry and armoured troops would be thrown into action against some of the best of the German forces in Normandy. The Canadians successfully captured their shoreline positions at Juno Beach and penetrated the farthest inland of any of the some 155,000 Allied troops who had landed on June 6, 1944, but D-Day was only the beginning of the struggle to liberate France. Clashes in the days that followed badly bloodied our soldiers and they repeatedly found themselves pitted against the elite 12th SS Panzer Division, manned by fanatical troops under the command of ruthless and experienced German officers. The first month of fighting was an exercise in grim endurance for the Canadians as the combat intensified and capturing Caen remained elusive.

The Canadians would bend but not break; however, the memory of the bitter fighting they encountered in villages like Authie, Buron and Carpiquet would haunt our Veterans for years to come. Our navy and air force continued to support the campaign as they kept the sea lanes clear of enemy shipping and swept German warplanes from the skies over Normandy, while also pounding countless ground targets. Caen finally fell to British and Canadian troops on July 9–10, but the fighting would continue through the choking dust and intense summertime heat in the countryside south of the city. Canadian troops battled forward despite desperate struggles at places like Verrières Ridge, which our soldiers helped capture only after multiple bloody attempts had cost many hundreds of lives, with even more being wounded.

With an American breakout against weakening German troops in western Normandy coming in early August, the stiff enemy defenses in France finally began to collapse. As the German forces began to stream eastward away from the surging Allied lines, Canadian troops would be called on to help close the so-called “Falaise Gap” in mid-August to trap the retreating enemy units. It would take repeated efforts on a chaotic battlefield, but the pocket would finally be completely cut off by August 21, resulting in the taking of tens of thousands of desperate German prisoners. On August 25, 1944, Paris was liberated by the Allies, officially bringing the Normandy campaign to a close.

Sacrifice

Canadian Nursing Sisters arriving in France during the Battle of Normandy in July 1944.

Victory in the Battle of Normandy came at a terrible cost. The Canadians suffered the highest casualties of any divisions in the British Army Group during the campaign. Some 359 Canadian soldiers were killed on D-Day alone, and a total of more than 5,000 of our men would die during the two-and-a-half-months of fighting in Normandy. Most of these fallen heroes lie buried in France in the beautiful Bény-sur-Mer Canadian War Cemetery and the Bretteville-sur-Laize Canadian War Cemetery. Over 13,000 more of our soldiers were wounded in Normandy, with many suffering injuries to body and mind that they would carry for the rest of their lives.

Legacy

Normandy was the beginning of 11 months of hard fighting in Northwest Europe. Canadians would also go on to play an important role in bitter struggles at places like the Scheldt, the Rhineland and the Netherlands during the Allied offensives that would eventually help defeat the Germans and see Victory in Europe (V-E) Day declared on May 8, 1945.

Canada’s impressive efforts in the Second World War remain a point of great national pride, even many decades later. The brave Canadians who came ashore on D-Day and saw action in the Battle of Normandy were among the more than one million men and women from our country who served in the cause of peace and freedom during the conflict. Sadly, over 45,000 of them would lose their lives.

Canada Remembers Program

The Canada Remembers Program of Veterans Affairs Canada encourages all Canadians to learn about the sacrifices and achievements made by those who have served—and continue to serve—during times of war and peace. As well, it invites Canadians to become involved in remembrance activities that will help preserve their legacy for future generations.

Date modified:

Le Canada se souvient - Le jour J et la bataille de Normandie

Les Canadiens ont pris part à de nombreuses luttes acharnées pour aider les Alliés à remporter la victoire lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Le jour J et la bataille de Normandie constituent l’un des chapitres les plus connus de l’ensemble du conflit et nos militaires ont joué un rôle important dans cette campagne cruciale.

Mise en contexte

Des péniches de débarquement  sur la Manche transportent des soldats canadiens vers la plage Juno lors du  jour J.

Cette publication est disponible dans d'autres formats sur demande.
Version PDF

Au printemps 1940, pendant les premiers mois de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, l’Allemagne envahit une grande partie de l’Europe occidentale. Étroite étendue de mer, la Manche était tout ce qui séparait les forces ennemies de la Grande-Bretagne, mais la nation insulaire tint bon. Les pays conquis sur le continent souffriraient énormément d’une dure occupation dans les années qui suivirent. Un raid allié sur la côte française à Dieppe en août 1942 entraîna de lourdes pertes, surtout pour les troupes canadiennes, mais les Alliés renversèrent lentement la situation contre cette puissante machine de guerre ennemie en Afrique du Nord, en Italie, sur le front de l’Est, dans le ciel d’Europe et sur l’océan Atlantique. Pour remporter la guerre, l’Allemagne devrait cependant être vaincue sur le terrain en Europe occidentale; c’est en 1944 que les Alliés reviendraient enfin contre-attaquer avec force.

Les forces de débarquement alliées ciblèrent les plages de Normandie en France. La planification et la préparation de cette immense entreprise, baptisée opération Overlord, commencèrent plus d’un an auparavant. Les forces terrestres, navales et aériennes s’entraînèrent intensivement tandis que les troupes, les navires, les chars, les fournitures et autres équipements nécessaires furent amassés graduellement. De fausses informations furent délibérément divulguées aux Allemands pour les confondre quant aux emplacements des débarquements et d’immenses installations d’amarrage portables, appelées « ports Mulberry », furent construites afin que les navires de transport alliés puissent décharger leurs cargaisons en France. De longues conduites flexibles, surnommées PLUTO (« Pipe lines under the ocean ») furent conçues pour transporter du carburant sous la Manche. Les Alliés étaient prêts, mais ils durent attendre que le temps, les marées et la phase de la lune soient favorables pour pouvoir attaquer.

La « Forteresse Europe »

Réussir à établir une tête de plage en France occupée représentait un énorme défi pour les forces alliées. Les Allemands avaient transformé les côtes de l’Europe, de la frontière espagnole à la Scandinavie, en une impressionnante série de positions défensives. Surnommée « Forteresse Europe » par Adolf Hitler, ses rives étaient jonchées de mines terrestres, de barbelés, de bunkers en béton, de batteries d’artillerie, de nids de mitrailleuses, de murs antichars et de milliers de soldats ennemis vigilants.

Une défaite alliée sur les plages de Normandie aurait pu être désastreuse, car il n’existait aucun moyen d’évacuer les troupes en grand nombre, de sorte que des pertes énormes auraient été inévitables. Mais si les débarquements devaient réussir, nos forces pénétreraient enfin en Europe de l’Ouest pour ainsi lancer la campagne de libération, après des années de dure occupation allemande.

Sur terre, en mer et dans les airs

Les avions de guerre alliés ouvrirent la voie pour les débarquements en Normandie. Ils entreprirent d’innombrables missions, attaquant les défenses côtières et les lignes de transport en Europe occupée dans les mois qui précédèrent l’opération Overlord. Malgré des conditions météorologiques douteuses, le haut commandement allié prit la décision d’attaquer le 6 juin 1944, date connue dans l’histoire sous le nom de « jour J ». Une force alliée massive allait traverser la Manche en direction d’une étendue de 80 kilomètres sur la côte normande. Cinq zones de débarquement furent assignées aux forces de différentes nations : la plage Juno au Canada; la plage Gold au Royaume-Uni; la plage Sword au Royaume‑Uni et à la France; et les plages Utah et Omaha aux États-Unis.

Quelque 7 000 navires de guerre de toutes catégories, dont 284 gros navires de combat, prirent  part à l’opération Neptune (nom de code de la phase d’assaut en mer de l’offensive du jour J). Des destroyers et des embarcations de soutien de la Marine royale du Canada bombardèrent les positions allemandes terrestres et déminèrent les fonds marins à l’approche des plages françaises. De nombreux avions de l’Aviation royale du Canada firent partie des quelque 4 000 bombardiers alliés et 3 700 chasseurs‑bombardiers/avions de chasse qui, ce jour-là, frappèrent sans relâche les défenses côtières, les cibles intérieures et les escadrons ennemis.

Des soldats et des chars d’assaut canadiens arrivent en Courseulles-sur-Mer,  en France, le 6 juin 1944.

Plus de 450 membres du 1er Bataillon canadien furent parachutés à l’intérieur des terres avant l’aube du 6 juin; ceux-ci furent les premiers de nos soldats à combattre l’ennemi le jour J. Quelques heures plus tard, environ 14 000 soldats canadiens de la 3e Division d’infanterie canadienne et de la 2e Brigade blindée canadienne, composées d’unités militaires d’un océan à l’autre, commencèrent à débarquer sur la plage Juno. Leur mission : braver le feu ennemi pour prendre position sur un littoral de huit kilomètres longeant les villages de Saint-Aubin-sur-Mer, Bernières-sur-Mer, Courseulles-sur-Mer et Graye-sur-Mer. Nos soldats se dirigèrent alors vers l’intérieur des terres en direction de la ville de Caen, un important centre de communication et de transport.

Une victoire durement gagnée

Beaucoup de soldats canadiens étaient jeunes et sans expérience au combat, mais notre infanterie et nos troupes blindées allaient affronter certaines des meilleures forces allemandes en Normandie. Les Canadiens réussirent à capturer leurs positions riveraines à la plage Juno; ils furent ceux qui, parmi les quelque 155 000 soldats alliés débarqués le 6 juin 1944, pénétrèrent le plus loin dans les terres. Cependant, le jour J ne fut que le début de la lutte pour la libération de la France, et les affrontements qui suivirent furent sanglants pour nos soldats. Ils se retrouvèrent de nombreuses fois aux prises avec l’élite de la 12e Division Panzer SS, dirigée par des troupes fanatiques sous le commandement d’officiers allemands impitoyables et expérimentés. Le premier mois fut un exercice d’endurance pour les Canadiens alors que les combats s’intensifièrent et que Caen demeurait insaisissable.

Les Canadiens allaient courber l’échine sans toutefois se laisser vaincre. Néanmoins, le souvenir des âpres combats qu’ils connurent dans des villages comme Authie, Buron et Carpiquet viendrait hanter nos vétérans pendant des années à venir. Notre marine et nos forces aériennes continuèrent d’appuyer la campagne en gardant les navires ennemis à l’écart des voies maritimes et en se débarrassant des avions de guerre allemands volant au-dessus de la Normandie et ce, tout en continuant de frapper d’innombrables cibles terrestres. Caen tomba finalement aux mains des troupes britanniques et canadiennes les 9 et 10 juillet, mais les combats se poursuivirent sous la poussière étouffante et la chaleur intense de l’été dans la campagne au sud de la ville. Les troupes canadiennes firent des avancées malgré les luttes désespérées à des endroits comme la crête de Verrières, laquelle nos soldats n’aidèrent à capturer qu’après de multiples tentatives sanglantes qui coûtèrent la vie à plusieurs centaines d’entre eux et qui en blessa encore plus.

Avec la percée américaine contre les troupes allemandes faiblissantes dans l’Ouest de la Normandie au début du mois d’août, les rigides défenses ennemies en France commencèrent finalement à s’effondrer. Au fur et à mesure que les forces allemandes commencèrent à retraiter vers l’est des lignes des Alliés à la mi‑août, les troupes canadiennes furent appelées afin d’aider à fermer ce que l’on appelait la « brèche de Falaise » pour piéger les unités ennemies qui battaient en retraite. Il fallut des efforts répétés sur un champ de bataille chaotique, mais la brèche fut finalement fermée en entier le 21 août, ce qui entraîna la capture de dizaines de milliers de soldats allemands. Le 25 août 1944, Paris fut libérée par les Alliés, mettant officiellement fin à la campagne de Normandie.

Sacrifices

Des infirmières militaires  canadiennes arrivent en France durant la bataille de Normandie en juillet 1944.

La victoire dans la bataille de Normandie fut coûteuse. Les Canadiens subirent le plus grand nombre de pertes de toutes les divisions du Groupe d’armées britannique au cours de la campagne. Quelque 359 soldats canadiens furent tués pendant les combats du jour J seulement et plus de 5 000 de nos hommes moururent au cours des deux mois et demi de combats en Normandie. La plupart de ces héros tombés au champ d’honneur reposent en France dans les magnifiques cimetières de guerre canadiens de Beny-sur-Mer et de Bretteville-sur-Laize. Plus de 13 000 autres de nos hommes furent blessés en Normandie, la plupart atteints de blessures physiques et psychologiques avec lesquelles ils devraient vivre pour le restant de leur vie.

Héritage

La Normandie fut le début de onze mois de luttes acharnées dans le Nord-Ouest de l’Europe. Les Canadiens jouèrent également un rôle important dans les durs combats qui se déroulèrent  dans des endroits comme l’Escaut, la Rhénanie et les Pays-Bas au cours d’offensives alliées qui allaient finalement aider à vaincre les Allemands et qui allaient conduire à la déclaration du jour de la Victoire en Europe (V-E) le 8 mai 1945.

Les impressionnants efforts déployés par le Canada au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale demeurent une source de grande fierté nationale, même plusieurs décennies plus tard. Les braves Canadiens qui ont débarqué le jour J et qui ont participé à la bataille de Normandie faisaient partie du million d’hommes et de femmes de notre pays qui ont servi la cause de la paix et de la liberté pendant le conflit. Malheureusement, plus de 45 000 d’entre eux y ont perdu la vie.

Le Canada se souvient

Le programme Le Canada se souvient d’Anciens Combattants Canada incite tous les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à se renseigner sur les sacrifices et les réalisations de tous ceux et celles qui ont servi et qui continuent de servir leur pays en temps de guerre et en temps de paix. Il invite aussi les citoyens à prendre part aux activités commémoratives qui aident à préserver l’héritage qu’ils nous ont légué et à le transmettre aux générations à venir.

Date de modification :