The Liberation of the Netherlands

Soldiers of the Perth Regiment on the move near the Dutch city of Arnhem on 15 April 1945.

This publication is available upon request in alternate formats.
PDF Version

Introduction

There have been many proud chapters in Canada’s military history but one of the best known and most significant was the Liberation of the Netherlands. The Dutch people have never forgotten our brave soldiers’ efforts to free their country after years of harsh German occupation during the Second World War.

Occupied Europe

The Second World War of 1939-1945 would greatly impact the lives of countless millions of people. This included both those who would serve in uniform and civilians who had to endure great suffering when the fighting came to their homelands.

In Europe, country after country fell to the invading forces of Nazi Germany during the opening stages of the conflict. By mid-1940, much of the western portion of the continent, including the Netherlands, had been conquered and occupied. It would take years of hard struggle for the Allies to build up their resources and turn the tide of the war. On June 6, 1944, the campaign to free “Fortress Europe” from the west finally began when Allied forces came ashore in Normandy, France, on D-Day. The liberating armies would soon advance north and east, but the Netherlands, with its challenging terrain of canals, dykes and floodlands, would prove to be a very difficult battleground.

The Battle of the Scheldt

In mid-September 1944, the Allies launched Operation Market-Garden, a daring land and airborne attack behind enemy lines in the eastern Netherlands. The goal was to bring the war to a rapid end by cutting in half the German positions in Northwest Europe. The German resistance was determined, however, and the bold offensive failed. It soon became apparent that the conflict would drag on.

To maintain pressure on the German forces, the Allies needed a reliable way to keep the flow of vital supplies moving to the front lines of Northwest Europe. This meant a large seaport would need to be taken on the continent. The major Belgian port city of Antwerp was captured almost intact in early September 1944 but there was a complicating factor. Antwerp is located some 80 kilometres from the North Sea and is accessible only by the Scheldt river – a waterway that was still in enemy hands.

Much of this portion of the Scheldt runs through the Netherlands and the First Canadian Army led the way in fierce combat to clear the Germans from its shores in the fall of 1944. Our troops would succeed in opening up the port of Antwerp to Allied shipping – a key step in the liberation of Northwest Europe – but it would come at a great cost. More than 6,000 Canadian soldiers were killed, wounded or taken prisoner in this bitter campaign.

The “Hunger Winter”

With the realization that the conflict would stretch into 1945, Canadian soldiers took up positions on the Nijmegen salient in the eastern Netherlands near the German border. The Allies would make careful plans for the campaign to end the war in Europe in the new year but the delay would have serious ramifications for the Dutch people who had already endured more than four years of brutal enemy occupation.

The so-called “Hunger Winter” of 1944-1945 would be a terrible time for many in the country. Food supplies were exhausted and some people were reduced to eating tulip bulbs just to try to survive. Fuel had run out and transportation was almost non-existent. Tragically, thousands of Dutch civilians in the occupied portions of the nation would perish.

After three months of helping hold the front line in the Netherlands, in February 1945 the First Canadian Army took part in a fierce Allied offensive through muddy and flooded ground to drive the Germans from the Nijmegen front and back across the Rhine River. The major push to finally liberate all of Northwest Europe had begun.

The liberation campaign

North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment soldiers cross a canal at Zutphen in the Netherlands on 7 April 1945.

In early April 1945, the First Canadian Army began to clear the Germans from the northeast portions of the Netherlands. Often aided by information provided by Dutch resistance fighters, Canadian troops advanced rapidly, recapturing communities, canals and farmland as they relentlessly pushed forward. By the middle of the month, British and Canadian forces had cleared the city of Arnhem after two days of house-by-house fighting. Only days later, they also freed Apeldoorn. They continued their advance up through places like Zwolle and Groningen towards the North Sea. The Canadians kept up the pressure, putting their lives on the line even though it was evident that the rapidly weakening enemy forces would soon have to surrender anyway. It was felt, however, that the long-suffering Dutch simply could wait for relief no longer. Canadians tried to be judicious with their use of destructive artillery fire and aerial bombing as they didn’t want to badly damage the country’s infrastructure and make it even harder for the local people to rebuild their lives after the war.

Ecstatic Dutch men, women and children cheered Canadian troops as one town after another was liberated. Recalled one person who was a teenager at the time, “As the (Canadian) tank came nearer...there was a big hush over all the people, and it was suddenly broken by a big scream, as if it was out of the earth. And the people climbed on the tank...and they were crying. And we were running with the tanks and the jeeps all the way into the city.”

It was still a challenging and stressful campaign for our troops, however, as it was difficult to predict how the Germans would respond when the Canadians went on the attack in an occupied town or village. Sometimes enemy forces resisted fiercely and other times they would retreat with hardly a shot being fired. This uncertainty took a psychological toll on our soldiers in the final weeks of the war as no one wanted to lose their lives when victory seemed so close at hand.

In April the Canadians had also began to advance in the western Netherlands – a populous region containing the major cities of Amsterdam, Rotterdam and The Hague. Canadian troops were prepared to continue their assaults but there were serious concerns this would prompt the desperate German forces to breach all the dykes and completely flood the low-lying terrain. To help ease the pressure, a truce was arranged later in the month that saw the Allied advance there come to a temporary halt. In return, the Germans allowed relief supplies to reach the suffering Dutch citizens still trapped behind enemy lines. To show their appreciation to our forces who air-dropped food and other desperately needed supplies during this time, some Dutch people painted “Thank you, Canadians!” on their rooftops.

Thanks to the hard work, courage and great sacrifices of so many Canadian and other Allied troops, enemy forces in the country surrendered on May 5, 1945, finally liberating all of the Netherlands. All German forces on the continent would unconditionally surrender on May 7, 1945, and the next day was declared Victory in Europe (V-E) Day.

Sacrifice

Happy Dutch residents welcome Canadian soldiers after the liberation of the town of Zwolle on 14 April 1945.m

The fighting in the Netherlands was often bitter but ultimately Canadian service members were able to liberate the Dutch people and help bring the Second World War to an end in Europe. This great victory, however, came at a terrible cost. More than 7,600 Canadians died in the efforts to free the country and are buried far from their homes and loved ones. Others returned home with injuries to body and mind that they would bear for the rest of their lives.

Legacy

Great bravery and sacrifice on the battlefield were not the only help our country offered the Netherlands during the Second World War. Some members of the Dutch royal family also found sanctuary in Canada during the conflict and Princess Margriet was born in Ottawa in 1943. These powerful connections helped form warm bonds of friendship and respect between the people of Canada and the Netherlands which continue to this day. Evidence of this enduring connection may be seen in the tulips—gifts from the Dutch people— which bloom in Ottawa each spring, and in the care and attention Dutch children give to the burial places of our war dead in their country. Even though the price was heavy, Canadians are proud to be seen as liberators in the Netherlands.

Canada Remembers Program

The Canada Remembers Program of Veterans Affairs Canada encourages all Canadians to learn about the sacrifices and achievements made by those who have served—and continue to serve— during times of war and peace. As well, it invites Canadians to become involved in remembrance activities that will help preserve their legacy for future generations.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

La libération des Pays-Bas

Des véhicules amphibies « Buffalo » transportant des troupes au-delà de l'Escaut jusqu'en Hollande

Cette publication est disponible dans d'autres formats sur demande.
Version PDF

Introduction

L’histoire militaire du Canada compte de nombreux chapitres suscitant la fierté, mais la libération des Pays-Bas est l’un des plus connus et des plus importants. Les Néerlandais n’ont jamais oublié les efforts déployés par nos valeureux soldats pour libérer leur pays après de dures années d’occupation allemande pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Une Europe occupée

De 1939 à 1945, la Seconde Guerre mondiale allait avoir une incidence considérable sur la vie de millions de personnes, autant pour celles qui allaient porter l’uniforme et servir leur pays que celles qui allaient devoir endurer de grandes souffrances une fois leur pays devenu le théâtre des combats.

En Europe, les pays allaient tomber les uns après les autres aux mains des forces d’invasion de l’Allemagne nazie durant les premières années du conflit. Au milieu des années 1940, la majeure partie de l’ouest du continent, dont les Pays-Bas, allait être conquise et occupée. Il faudra des années de lutte acharnée pour que les Alliés mettent sur pied les ressources nécessaires et renversent le cours de la guerre. Le 6 juin 1944, jour connu sous le nom de jour J, marqua le début de la campagne visant à libérer la « forteresse Europe », à partir de l’ouest, lorsque les forces alliées débarquèrent en Normandie (France). Les armées libératrices avancèrent bientôt vers le nord et l’est, mais les Pays-Bas, dont le territoire exigeant est parsemé de canaux, de digues et de terres inondables, s’avéreront être un champ de bataille très difficile à remporter.

La bataille de l'Escaut

Au milieu de septembre 1944, les Alliés lançaient l’opération Market-Garden, attaque audacieuse des forces terrestres et aériennes derrière les lignes ennemies dans l’est des Pays-Bas. Le but était de mettre rapidement fin à la guerre en coupant en deux les positions allemandes dans le nord-ouest de l’Europe. Les Allemands allaient cependant opposer une résistance assez forte pour mener l’audacieuse offensive à l’échec. Il devint vite évident que le conflit allait perdurer.

Pour continuer d’exercer des pressions sur les forces allemandes, les Alliés avaient besoin d’un moyen fiable d’assurer le ravitaillement de leurs troupes au-delà des lignes de front du nord-ouest de l’Europe. Pour ce faire, il leur faudrait prendre un grand port maritime sur le continent. C’est ainsi que l’importante ville portuaire belge d’Anvers fut capturée presque intacte au début du mois de septembre 1944, non sans complications. Anvers se situe à quelque 80 kilomètres de la mer du Nord et n’est accessible que par la rivière Escaut, cours d’eau qui était toujours aux mains des forces ennemies à l’époque.

Comme une grande portion de cette partie de l’Escaut traverse les Pays-Bas, c’était en menant un combat acharné que la Première Armée canadienne allait ouvrir la voie pour chasser les Allemands de ses rives à l’automne 1944. Nos troupes réussirent à ouvrir le port d’Anvers au ravitaillement allié – étape clé dans la libération du nord-ouest de l’Europe –, mais non sans en payer le prix. Plus de 6 000 soldats canadiens furent tués, blessés ou faits prisonniers au cours de cette amère campagne.

L’« hiver de la faim »

Des soldats du North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment traversent un canal à Zutphen, aux Pays-Bas, le 7 avril 1945.

Conscients que le conflit s’étirerait jusqu’en 1945, les soldats canadiens prirent position sur le saillant de Nimègue, dans l’est des Pays-Bas, près de la frontière allemande. Les Alliés allaient minutieusement planifier la campagne visant à mettre fin à la guerre en Europe au cours de la nouvelle année, mais ce délai aura de lourdes conséquences pour le peuple néerlandais, lequel avait déjà enduré l’occupation brutale de l’ennemi pendant plus de quatre ans.

L’hiver de 1944-1945, connu sous le nom de l’« hiver de la faim », fut une période terrible pour beaucoup de gens dans le pays. Les réserves de nourriture étant épuisées, certaines personnes furent réduites à manger des bulbes de tulipes dans une ultime tentative de survie. Il n’y avait plus de carburant et les moyens de transport étaient presque inexistants. Des milliers de civils néerlandais connurent une mort tragique dans les parties occupées de la nation.

En février 1945, après avoir aidé à maintenir la ligne de front aux Pays-Bas pendant trois mois, la Première Armée canadienne prit part à une offensive alliée féroce sur un terrain boueux et inondé pour chasser les Allemands du front de Nimègue et les renvoyer de l’autre côté du Rhin. La grande poussée qui libérerait tout le nord-ouest de l’Europe commençait enfin.

La campagne de libération

Au début d’avril 1945, la Première Armée canadienne allait entreprendre l’évacuation des Allemands du nord-est des Pays-Bas. Souvent aidées par les renseignements fournis par les combattants de la résistance néerlandaise, les troupes canadiennes avançaient rapidement et sans relâche, reprenant communautés, canaux et terres cultivées sur leur passage. À la mi-avril, les forces britanniques et canadiennes avaient libéré la ville d’Arnhem en combattant pendant deux jours de maison en maison. Quelques jours plus tard seulement, ils avaient libéré Apeldoorn. Ils poursuivirent leur progression vers la mer du Nord en passant par Zwolle et Groningen. Les Canadiens maintenaient la pression, mettant leur vie en jeu, même s’il était évident que les forces ennemies, qui s’affaiblissaient rapidement, allaient bientôt devoir se rendre de toute façon. Ils estimaient que les Néerlandais, qui souffraient depuis longtemps, ne pouvaient tout simplement plus attendre d’être enfin libres. Les Canadiens tentèrent d’utiliser tirs d’artillerie et bombardements aériens destructeurs de façon judicieuse pour ne pas gravement endommager l’infrastructure du pays et rendre encore plus difficile la tâche pour les populations locales de reconstruire leur vie après la guerre.

Ville après ville, les hommes, femmes et enfants néerlandais, ravis d’être enfin libérés, applaudissaient les troupes canadiennes sur leur passage. Un citoyen, adolescent à l’époque, s’en souvient : « À l’approche du char (canadien) […], les gens se sont tus, puis le silence fut brisé par un cri, comme s’il émanait du sol. Et c’est à ce moment que les gens commencèrent à grimper sur le char en pleurant. Nous suivions les chars et les jeeps en courant partout dans la ville. »

Il s’agira toutefois d’une campagne difficile et remplie de stress pour nos troupes, car il était difficile de prédire la réaction des Allemands à l’attaque des Canadiens une fois arrivés dans une ville ou un village occupé. Parfois, les forces ennemies résistaient farouchement, alors que d’autres fois, elles battaient en retraite sans qu’un seul coup de feu ne soit échangé. Cette incertitude eut une lourde incidence psychologique chez nos soldats dans les dernières semaines de la guerre, car personne ne voulait perdre la vie alors que la victoire semblait si proche.

En avril, les Canadiens commencèrent aussi à avancer dans la partie ouest des Pays-Bas : région très peuplée comprenant les grandes villes d’Amsterdam, Rotterdam et La Haye. Les troupes canadiennes étaient prêtes à poursuivre leurs assauts, mais craignaient sérieusement qu’une telle attaque n’incite les forces allemandes désespérées à percer toutes les digues et à inonder complètement ce bas territoire. Pour alléger la pression, une trêve fut conclue plus tard dans le mois, après l’arrêt temporaire de l’avancée des Alliés. En retour, les Allemands allaient permettre aux approvisionnements de secours d’atteindre les citoyens néerlandais qui souffraient encore, pris au piège derrière les lignes ennemies. En signe de reconnaissance, certains Néerlandais peignirent les mots « Merci aux Canadiens! » sur le toit de leur maison à l’intention des troupes canadiennes chargées de larguer la nourriture et les autres fournitures tant attendues.

Grâce au travail acharné, au courage et aux immenses sacrifices de nombreux soldats canadiens et autres soldats alliés, les forces ennemies toujours présentes dans le pays se rendirent le 5 mai 1945, libérant enfin tout le territoire des Pays-Bas. L’ensemble des forces allemandes du continent se rendirent sans condition le 7 mai 1945, et le lendemain fut déclaré Jour de la Victoire en Europe (V.E.).

Sacrifices

Des citoyens néerlandais heureux accueillent des soldats canadiens après la libération de la ville de Zwolle, le 14 avril 1945.

Les combats aux Pays-Bas furent souvent âpres, mais les militaires canadiens réussirent ultimement à libérer le peuple néerlandais et à mettre fin à la Seconde Guerre mondiale en Europe. Cette grande victoire leur coûta toutefois très cher. Plus de 7 600 Canadiens perdirent la vie au cours des efforts déployés pour libérer le pays et furent enterrés loin de leur foyer et de leurs proches. D’autres rentrèrent chez eux le corps et l’esprit meurtris pour le reste de leur vie.

Héritage

L’immense bravoure de nos soldats et les sacrifices consentis sur le champ de bataille ne sont pas les seuls secours que notre pays offrit aux Pays-Bas pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Certains membres de la famille royale néerlandaise durent également trouver refuge au Canada pendant le conflit, et la princesse Margriet vit le jour à Ottawa en 1943. Ces liens puissants contribuèrent à nouer une chaleureuse relation d’amitié et de respect entre les peuples du Canada et des Pays-Bas, lien qui existe toujours aujourd’hui. Les tulipes, cadeau du peuple néerlandais, qui fleurissent à Ottawa chaque printemps, ainsi que le soin et l’attention qu’accordent les enfants néerlandais aux lieux de sépulture des morts de la guerre dans leur pays, témoignent de ce lien durable. Malgré le lourd prix payé, les Canadiens sont fiers d’être considérés comme des libérateurs aux Pays-Bas.

Le Canada se souvient

Le programme Le Canada se souvient d’Anciens Combattants Canada incite tous les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à se renseigner sur les sacrifices et les réalisations de tous ceux et celles qui ont servi et qui continuent de servir leur pays en temps de guerre et en temps de paix. Il invite aussi les citoyens à prendre part aux activités commémoratives qui aident à préserver l’héritage qu’ils nous ont légué et à le transmettre aux générations à venir.

Date de modification :