Snuggly stuffed mascots

While many real animals have been mascots and special friends for Canadians who served in the military over the years, these days it is more common for stuffed animals to play this role.

I heard a neat story about a Canadian navy ship that had a cuddly plush penguin mascot named Quincy. Years ago, one of the officers of HMCS Terra Nova brought Quincy to meet the students of Sidney Elementary School, in British Columbia, and described the many adventures that his little friend had experienced around the world. The kids were inspired to get a cool school mascot of their own, so Percy the penguin soon arrived on the scene.

In a neat stuffed animal connection, the students and sailors began to exchange letters, sharing stories about what their penguin buddies had been doing. It was great! The men and women at sea had a chance to take their minds off more serious matters during their duties in places like the Middle East in the Gulf War of 1990-1991. In turn, the children made many new friends and were able to show these brave Canadians serving so far from home that they were remembered and appreciated. Hearing this story makes my pigeon feathers fluff up in joy. I think we should all write letters to Canadian Armed Forces members to show that we care, too!

Did you know?

A large Newfoundland dog named Sable Chief was the mascot of the Newfoundland Regiment during the First World War. He would march with the regimental band and visit wounded troops. Sable Chief could even respectfully stand still at the playing of the Newfoundland anthem. The furry friend really boosted the spirit of the regiment.

Squeaker the pigeon
Date modified:

Adorables mascottes en peluche

Bien que de nombreux « vrais » animaux aient été des mascottes et des amis précieux pour les militaires canadiens au fil des ans, aujourd’hui ce sont plutôt des animaux en peluche qui jouent ce rôle.

J’ai entendu une belle histoire au sujet d’un navire canadien dont la mascotte était un gentil pingouin en peluche appelé Quincy. Il y a quelques années, un des officiers du NCSM Terra Nova a fait connaître Quincy aux élèves de l’école primaire de Sidney, en Colombie-Britannique, et il a raconté les nombreuses aventures que son petit ami avait connues partout dans le monde. Les enfants ont aussi voulu avoir une mascotte pour l’école et ils ont donc « adopté » Percy le pingouin.

Motivés par ces animaux en peluche, les élèves et les marins ont commencé à correspondre, racontant les récits de leurs copains pingouins. C’était génial! Les hommes et les femmes qui étaient en mer pouvaient ainsi oublier pour un instant les défis de leurs missions à des endroits comme le Moyen-Orient, durant la guerre du Golfe de 1990-1991. Les élèves, quant à eux, se sont faits de nombreux nouveaux amis et ils ont montré à ces braves Canadiens qui servaient dans des contrées éloignées qu’on pensait à eux et qu’on les appréciait. Ce récit fait virevolter de joie mes plumes de pigeon. Je crois que nous devrions tous écrire des lettres à des membres des Forces armées canadiennes afin de leur démontrer que nous pensons également à eux.

Le savais-tu?

Un grand chien Terre-Neuve appelé Sable Chief fut la mascotte du Newfoundland Regiment lors de la Première Guerre mondiale. Il pouvait marcher avec les musiciens militaires et visiter les soldats blessés. Sable Chief pouvait semble-t-il aussi se tenir respectueusement sans bouger pendant que l’hymne de Terre-Neuve était joué. Cet ami poilu savait comment remonter le moral des membres du régiment.

Bonfire Jr. the horse
Date de modification :