Character Sheets

The Remembrance Clubhouse character sheets help young students learn about how animals have served during times of war. These colourful mini-posters introduce the contributions and sacrifices of both animals and humans in an accessible and non-threatening manner. Engagingly designed, there are six characters.

Bonfire Jr.

Bonfire Jr.

Bonfire Jr. the horse is from Guelph, Ontario. His relative Bonfire belonged to Dr. John McCrae who rode him during breaks from his difficult duties as a Canadian army surgeon in France and Belgium during the First World War.

Bonfire Jr. PDF Version

Simone

Simone

Simone the cat is from Montréal, Québec. Her relative Simon was a cat on the British frigate HMS Amethyst and helped protect the ship’s food supply and comfort the sailors after they came under attack in China in 1949.

Simone PDF Version

Gandy

Gandy

Gandy the dog is from St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador. His relative Gander was the mascot for the Royal Rifles of Canada and served alongside them in the Far East Asian colony of Hong Kong during the Second World War.

Gandy PDF Version

Squeaker

Squeaker

Squeaker the pigeon is from Ottawa, Ontario. His relative Beachcomber was a messenger pigeon who carried news of the Dieppe Raid back across the English Channel when Canadian soldiers landed in occupied France on August 19, 1942.

Squeaker PDF Version

Win

Win

Win the bear is from Winnipeg, Manitoba. Her relative Winnie was the mascot for a Canadian army regiment but was put in the London Zoo when the soldiers moved on to the front lines. The lovable bear would remain in the zoo and later become the inspiration for the famous Winnie-the-Pooh.

Win PDF Version

Ellie

Ellie

Ellie the elephant is from Vancouver, British Columbia. Her relative Bandoola was an elephant in the southeast Asian country of Burma during the Second World War where he helped build roads, harvest trees and pull army vehicles out of the mud.

Ellie PDF Version
Date modified:

Fiches des personnages

Les pages des personnages des animaux du Club du Souvenir aident les jeunes à apprendre comment les animaux ont servi en temps de guerre. Ces petites affiches colorées présentent les contributions et sacrifices des animaux et des humains d'une manière accessible et non menaçante. Six personnages animaux sont présentés.

Simone

Simone

Simone la chatte est originaire de Montréal, au Québec. Son ancêtre Simon était un chat sur la frégate britannique HMS Amethyst. Il a aidé à protéger les provisions de la frégate et à réconforter les marins après que leur bateau ait été attaqué en Chine, en 1949.

Version PDF Simone

Gandi

Gandi

Gandi le chien est originaire de St-John's, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Son ancêtre Gander était la mascotte des Royal Rifles of Canada et il a servi avec eux à Hong Kong, en Extrême-Orient, lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Version PDF Gandi

Siffleur

Siffleur

Siffleur le pigeon est originaire d'Ottawa, en Ontario. Son ancêtre Beachcomber était un pigeon voyageur qui a apporté les nouvelles du raid sur Dieppe à travers la Manche, alors que les soldats canadiens débarquaient sur les plages occupées de France le 19 août 1942.

Version PDF Siffleur

Win

Win

Win l'ours est originaire de Winnipeg, au Manitoba. Son ancêtre Winnie était la mascotte d'un régiment de l'armée canadienne. Cependant, avant que les soldats ne soient déplacés vers les lignes de front, Winnie fut cédée au zoo de Londres. L'adorable ours restera au zoo et deviendra plus tard l'inspiration du célèbre Winnie l'ourson (Winnie-the-Pooh).

Version PDF Win

Bonfire Jr.

Bonfire Jr.

Bonfire Jr. le cheval est originaire de Guelph, en Ontario. Son ancêtre Bonfire appartenait au docteur John McCrae. Ensemble ils se promenaient lors des moments de repos du docteur entre deux opérations, sur les champs de bataille de France et de Belgique lors de la Première Guerre mondiale.

Version PDF Bonfire Jr.

Ellie

Ellie

Ellie l'éléphant est originaire de Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique. Son ancêtre Bandoola a servi lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale en Birmanie, en Asie du Sud-Est. Bandoola aida à construire des routes, à récolter des arbres et à tirer des véhicules militaires embourbés.

Version PDF Ellie
Date de modification :