Reconciliation: The Peacekeeping Monument

Commemorates Canada's role in international peace support missions and the service members who have participated in these efforts.

Ottawa, Ontario

Share:

Cyprus Gulf war Balkans Rwanda

Visitor Information

424-428 Sussex Drive, Ottawa, Ontario

Reconciliation: The Peacekeeping Monument is open 24 hours a day.


Database Information

Municipality/Province: Ottawa, ON

Memorial number: 35059-256

Type: Monument

Address: Sussex Drive and St. Patrick Street

GPS coordinates: Lat: 45.42875 Long: -75.69665

View Canadian Military Memorials Database

Canada's peacekeeping legacy

Since 1947, Canadian peacekeepers have served overseas in a variety of United Nations, North Atlantic Treaty Organization, and other multinational task forces. Canada played a leading role in the peacekeeping movement from the outset. In fact, a former Canadian Prime Minister, the Honourable Lester B. Pearson, won the 1957 Nobel Peace Prize for his pioneering vision in helping establish a United Nations force during the Suez Crisis of the 1950s. Since then, Canada's commitment to international peace efforts and other overseas military actions has continued.

Photo Credit: Tim Laye, Ontario War Memorials

Symbolism

The monument depicts three peacekeepers — two men and a woman — standing on two sharp, knifelike edges of stone, cutting through the rubble and debris of war and converging at a high point, which symbolizes the resolution of conflict.

Photo Credit: Tim Laye, Ontario War Memorials

Monument designers

The members of the winning design team from British Columbia were Jack K. Harman, sculptor; Richard G. Henriquez, urban designer; and Cornelia H. Oberlander, landscape architect. The team also included Gabriel Design, lighting design, and J.L. Richards and Associates, engineering services, both of Ottawa.


Conflicts related to this memorial

Date modified:

Réconciliation : Le monument au maintien de la paix

Commémore le rôle du Canada dans les missions de maintien de la paix à l'échelle internationale et rend hommage aux soldats qui y ont participé.

Ottawa, Ontario

Partager :

Chypre Guerre du Golfe Balkans Rwanda

Information pour les visiteurs

424-428, promenade Sussex Ottawa, ON K1N 9M6

Réconciliation : Le monument au maintien de la paix est ouvert 24 heures par jour.


Information de la base de données

Ville/Province : Ottawa, ON

Numéro du monument : 35059-256

Type : Monument

Adresse : À l'intersection de la promenade Sussex et de la rue Saint-Patrick.

Coordonnées GPS : Lat: 45.42875 Long: -75.69665

Consulter la base de données des monuments commémoratifs canadiens

Héritage du Canada à l'égard du maintien de la paix

Depuis 1947, des Casques bleus canadiens ont servi outre-mer dans diverses forces opérationnelles des Nations Unies, de l'Organisation du traité de l'Atlantique Nord et d'autres forces multinationales. Le Canada a joué d'emblée un rôle prédominant dans le mouvement de maintien de la paix. Le Canadien Lester B. Pearson a en effet mérité le prix Nobel de la paix en 1957 pour avoir eu l'intuition d'établir une force des Nations Unies durant la crise de Suez dans les années 1950. Depuis, le Canada a toujours continué de participer aux efforts de paix internationaux et à d'autres opérations militaires à l'étranger.

Photo fournie par : Tim Laye, Ontario War Memorials

Symbolisme

Le monument met en scène trois gardiens de la paix – deux hommes et une femme – debout sur des arêtes en pierre émergeant des décombres, résultat de la guerre, et convergeant vers un sommet qui symbolise la résolution du conflit.

Photo fournie par : Tim Laye, Ontario War Memorials

Les concepteurs du monument

L'équipe de conception retenue provenait de la Colombie-Britannique. Elle se composait de Jack K. Harman, sculpteur, de Richard G. Henriquez, concepteur d'urbanisme, et de Cornelia H. Oberlander, architecte paysagiste. Deux entreprises d'Ottawa se sont aussi associées à l'équipe : Gabriel Design, pour le projet d'éclairage, et J.L. Richards and Associates, pour les services d'ingénierie.


Conflits liés au monument

Date de modification :