Canadian Korean War Memorial Garden

The Canadian Korean War Memorial Garden is situated northeast of Kapyong-gun and just below the hills which were defended by Canadian Forces in the Battle of Kapyong in April 1951.

Buk-Myeon, Gapyeong-gun, South Korea

Share:

Korean War

Visitor Information

207-4 Igok-ri, Buk-myeon, Gapyeong-gun, South Korea

The Canadian Korean War Memorial Garden is open 24 hours a day.

Battle of Kapyong

The Battle of Kapyong was one of the first major actions that Canadians participated in during the Korean War. Our soldiers were almost overrun by the Chinese at Kapyong but fortunately were able to drive them back. Ten Canadians were killed in the battle.

Holding at Kapyong by Edward Zuber

Creating a Memorial Garden

In the 1970s, Mr. Chi Kap Chong, a retired Korean journalist and former member of the Korean National Assembly, selected land for a memorial park. He raised funds to purchase the land and supervised the construction. This memorial commemorates Canada’s assistance to his country during the Korean War.

Three monuments

There are three monuments at the Memorial Garden. One has a plaque which describes Canada’s role in the Korean War. It reads:

Between 1950 and 1953, Canada participated in the Korean War as part of a United Nations multinational force to protect South Korea from invasion by North Korea. When considered in proportion to the population of the country, Canada's army, navy and air force formed one of the largest contingents of the United Nations forces. Some 27,000 Canadians left behind the comforts of home in the interests of peace and security in a region far removed from their own country. Five hundred and sixteen of them gave their lives in the name of this noble cause. Recognized for their military skills and the recipients of many military decorations, these valiant Canadians embodied their country's commitments to safeguard the fundamental principles of the United Nations.

Written in stone

A stone cairn honouring the Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry also stands in the park. A stone tablet with three panels written in Korean, English and French lists the Canadian military units that took part in the Korean War.

Koreans honour Canadian sacrifice

A larger memorial was unveiled in 1985. It was dedicated by the people of Korea to the memory of the soldiers who served during the Korean War and those who died and were wounded.

A living memorial

Every year, various Canadian organizations award scholarships to Korean students of the Kapyong Buk Middle School. These scholarships are seen as a "living memorial" and provide ongoing support to the Korean people. The children from this school help maintain the memorial park.

Date modified:

Le Jardin commémoratif canadien de la guerre de Corée

Le Jardin commémoratif canadien de la guerre de Corée est situé à Naechon, au nord-est de Kapyong-gun et tout juste au pied des collines que défendaient les Forces armées canadiennes lors de la bataille de Kapyong en avril 1951.

Buk-Myeon, Gapyeong-gun, Corée du Sud

Partager :

Guerre de Corée

Information pour les visiteurs

207-4 Igok-ri, Buk-myeon, Gapyeong-gun, Corée du Sud

Le Jardin commémoratif canadien de la guerre de Corée est ouvert 24 heures par jour

Bataille de Kapyong

La bataille de Kapyong (aujourd’hui Gapyeong) a été l’une des premières grandes batailles auxquelles les Canadiens ont participé pendant la guerre de Corée. Pendant cette bataille, nos soldats ont presque été défaits par les Chinois. Heureusement, les Canadiens ont réussi à les repousser. Dix Canadiens sont tombés au combat au cours de cette bataille.

Holding at Kapyong par Edward Zuber

Création du Jardin commémoratif

Dans les années 1970, M. Chi Kap Chong, journaliste coréen à la retraite et ancien membre de l’assemblée nationale de la Corée, a choisi une parcelle de terre pour un parc commémoratif et a recueilli les fonds pour l’acheter. M. Chi Kap Chong a lui même supervisé la construction du Jardin. Le produit final vise à commémorer l’aide qu’a apportée le Canada à son pays pendant la guerre de Corée.

Trois monuments

Le Jardin commémoratif abrite trois monuments. Sur le monument de droite se trouve une plaque sur laquelle est décrit le rôle du Canada dans la guerre de Corée :

De 1950 à 1953, le Canada participa à la guerre de Corée dans le cadre d’une intervention multinationale des Nations Unies visant à protéger la Corée du Sud d’une invasion par la Corée du Nord. Compte tenu de la population du pays, les troupes terrestres, navales et aériennes du Canada formaient l’un des plus importants effectifs des forces onusiennes. En effet, quelque 27 000 Canadiens renoncèrent à la quiétude de leur foyer pour assurer la paix et la sécurité dans cette région éloignée de leur patrie. Cinq cent seize d’entre eux sacrifièrent leur vie au nom de cette noble cause. Reconnus pour leurs habiletés militaires et maintes fois décorés, ces valeureux Canadiens témoignèrent de l’engagement de leur pays à faire respecter les principes des Nations Unies.

Inscription sur la pierre

Un cairn de pierre commémorant le Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry (PPCLI) est installé dans le parc. Il y a également une plaque en pierre sur laquelle se trouvent trois panneaux – en coréen, en anglais et en français – contenant la liste de toutes les unités des Forces canadiennes qui ont pris part à la guerre de Corée.

Les Coréens rendent hommage au sacrifice des Canadiens

Le monument principal a été dévoilé en 1985 et offert par les gens de la Corée à la mémoire des soldats qui ont servi durant la guerre de Corée et de ceux qui sont tombés au combat et de ceux qui ont été blessés.

Monument vivant

Nombre de bourses sont attribuées chaque année de la part de divers organismes canadiens à des étudiants coréens de l’école intermédiaire de Kapyong Buk en gage de « monument vivant » et dans le but de continuer à aider le peuple coréen. Les étudiants de cette école aident à entretenir le parc commémoratif.

Date de modification :