Memorial inuksuk

The Memorial inuksuk commemorates Canadian, American and other coalition soldiers killed in Afghanistan.

Kandahar, Afghanistan

Share:

Afghanistan

Visitor Information

Airport Road, Kandahar, Afghanistan

The Memorial inuksuk is open 24 hours a day.

Inuksuk Memorial

The inuksuk memorial was built by members of the 3rd Battalion, Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry (PPCLI) Battle Group, specifically members of "A" Company, 3 PPCLI, the battalion's pioneers and military engineers, in response to the four Canadian fatalities suffered at Tarnak Farm on April 17, 2002. The inuksuk and the surrounding memorial construction were dedicated on July 16, 2002, in the waning days of the initial Canadian presence at the Kandahar military base.

Construction

The inuksuk was constructed out of eight rock slabs gathered from the area around the airport and a nearby village. It was initially located inside the perimeter of the Kandahar Airfield's boardwalk area and was oriented so that it pointed in the direction of Edmonton, the home station of 3 PPCLI.

Rededication

Inuksuk at the Kandahar airfield, photo 2008.

The inuksuk memorial was rededicated in 2008 and the platform surrounding the inuksuk was updated to bare plaques on all four sides dedicated to the memory of Canadian, American and other coalition soldiers killed in the fighting in Afghanistan.

Preservation

Inuksuk at the Embassy of Canada in Afghanistan, photo 2019.

In 2019, the inuksuk memorial was moved from the Kandahar airfield to the Embassy of Canada in Afghanistan after NATO control of the Kandahar airfield ended. The embassy maintains stewardship of the memorial and three new plaques were added to commemorate the fallen Afghanistan National Defense and Security Forces.

Date modified:

Mémorial inuksuk

Le mémorial inuksuk rend hommage aux soldats canadiens, américains et à d'autres de la coalition morts en Afghanistan.

Kandahar, Afghanistan

Partager :

Afghanistan

Information pour les visiteurs

Rue d'aéroport, Kandahar, Afghanistan

Le Mémorial inuksuk est ouvert 24 heures par jour.

Inuksuk commémoratif

L'inuksuk commémoratif a été construit par des membres du groupement tactique du 3e Bataillon, Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry (3 PPCLI), plus précisément de la Compagnie A du 3 PPCLI, soit le peloton des pionniers du Bataillon et du Génie militaire canadien, à la suite du décès de quatre soldats canadiens survenu à la ferme Tarnak le 17 avril 2002. L’inukshuk et l’ouvrage commémoratif avoisinant ont été inaugurés le 16 juillet 2002, durant les derniers jours de la présence des premiers militaires canadiens envoyés à la base militaire de Kandahar.

Construction

L’inuksuk est constitué de huit blocs de pierre ramassés près de l’aérodrome et d’un village des environs. À l’origine, il se trouvait à l’intérieur du périmètre délimitant la promenade de bois de l’aérodrome de Kandahar et était orienté de sorte qu’il pointait en direction d’Edmonton – la ville d’attache du 3 PPCLI.

Deuxième inauguration

Inuksuk à l’aérodrome de Kandahar, photo prise en 2008.

L’inuksuk commémoratif a de nouveau été inauguré en 2008; la plateforme entourant l’inuksuk a été mise à jour pour porter les plaques aux quatre côtés en hommage aux soldats canadiens, américains et autres de la coalition tués lors des combats en Afghanistan.

Préservation

Inuksuk à l’ambassade du Canada en Afghanistan, photo prise en 2019.

En 2019, l’inuksuk commémoratif a quitté l’aérodrome de Kandahar pour être installé à l’ambassade du Canada en Afghanistan au moment où l’OTAN a cessé de contrôler l’aérodrome de Kandahar. L’ambassade assure la gérance du monument commémoratif, et trois nouvelles plaques ont été ajoutées à la mémoire des soldats des Forces de défense et de sécurité nationales afghanes.

Date de modification :