Introduction

During the First and Second World Wars in particular, First Nations reserves in Canada witnessed the departure of many of their young adult members. Here a chief blesses a new recruit who is about to leave her reserve after enlisting in 1942, during the Second World War. (Department of National Defence / National Archives of Canada / PA-129070)

The war proved that the fighting spirit of my tribe was not squelched through reservation life. When duty called, we were there, and when we were called forth to fight for the cause of civilization, our people showed all the bravery of our warriors of old.

Mike Mountain Horse, First World War Veteran 1

Being from a reservation and barely able to speak English ...it was a sudden integration. It was a shock. I was stunned for two or three months while taking basic training.

Peter Whitecloud, Second World War Veteran 2

On our way to Korea, I was outside on the ship standing on the rail just thinking about home and why I had to leave home. Yet, I was very glad I joined the army because my father was in the First World War. My brother was in World War Two and I thought I might as well join the army, too.

Allan Bird, Korean War Veteran 3
Date modified:

Introduction

Dans les réserves, maintes fois a-t-on assisté au départ de nombreux jeunes adultes pour la guerre, notamment au cours de la Première et de la Seconde Guerres mondiales. Nous voyons ici un chef des Premières Nations bénissant une nouvelle recrue qui s'apprête à quitter sa réserve après s'être enrôlée en 1942 au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. (Ministère de la Défense nationale / Archives nationales / PA-129070)

La guerre a prouvé que l'esprit combatif de ma tribu ne s'était pas éteint du fait que nous vivions dans une réserve. En répondant à l'appel et en livrant combat pour défendre la cause de la civilisation, notre peuple a fait preuve de la même bravoure que nos guerriers d'antan.

Mike Mountain Horse, ancien combattant de la Première Guerre mondiale. 1

Comme je venais d'une réserve et que je parlais à peine l'anglais ... ce fut une intégration soudaine. Un véritable choc. Je suis resté abasourdi pendant deux ou trois mois tandis que je suivais l'instruction élémentaire.

Peter Whitecloud, ancien combattant de la Seconde Guerre mondiale 2

En route vers la Corée, je me tenais debout sur le garde-fou du navire en pensant à chez nous et à la raison pour laquelle j'avais dû quitter mon foyer. Pourtant, j'étais très heureux de m'être enrôlé dans l'armée. Mon père avait servi lors de la Première Guerre mondiale et mon frère lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Je me suis dit que je devais m'enrôler à mon tour.

Allan Bird, ancien combattant de la guerre de Corée 3
Date de modification :