War in Peace

Company 6 of the Royal Canadian Engineers dug tunnels at Vimy Ridge, patched up roads near Amiens and defused mines after the war. Here the company's non-commission officers pose in Belgium four months after the Armistice. Department of National Defense / Library and Archives Canada / PA - 4149)

I'll never forget the first night. I stayed out most of the night, watching the flares go up over No Man's Land, like fireworks, and hearing the cannons and bursts of rifle and machine-gun fire.

Sam Glode 43

Sam Glode joined the CEF at the age of 35, enticed by the security of regular pay, plus food and clothes.44 Before the war began, this Mi' kmaq from Nova Scotia had been a lumberjack, as well as a hunting and fishing guide. In 1915, he became an infantry soldier and soon after, assumed a new occupation, as a Royal Canadian Engineer (RCE) in Belgium and France.

For most of the Great War, Glode served with a tunnelling company of the 6th Field Company and Battalion, RCE. The company dug tunnels in Belgium, carved dugouts at Vimy Ridge and patched up roads near Amiens. When the Armistice was announced, Glode was back in Belgium, about to earn the DCM.

Although the war had officially ended, Allied soldiers were still active. The Canadian Corps was advancing toward Germany, where it would later assume occupation duties. Corporal Glode's company was in the lead, searching for mines and demolition charges.

On the 19th and 20th of November, Glode personally removed 450 charges. His DCM citation states, "He showed great devotion to duty and an utter disregard of personal danger."

Sam Glode returned to Nova Scotia in the spring of 1919 and resumed his hunting and guiding occupations. He died at Camp Hill Hospital in Halifax in 1957.

Date modified:

La guerre dans la paix

Les membres de la 6e Compagnie du Corps du génie royal canadien creusèrent des tunnels à la crête de Vimy, réparèrent des routes près d'Amiens et désamorcèrent des mines après la guerre. Des sous-officiers sont photographiés ici en Belgique, quatre mois après l'Armistice. (Ministère de la Défense nationale / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / PA-4149)

Je n'oublierai jamais la première nuit. Je suis resté debout pendant presque toute cette nuit à regarder les fusées éclairantes qui montaient comme des feux d'artifice au-dessus du No Man's Land, et à écouter les canons et les rafales des fusils et des mitrailleuses.

Sam Glode 43

Sam Glode s'est enrôlé dans le CEC à l'âge de 35 ans à cause de la sécurité qu'offrait la solde régulière du soldat, y compris la nourriture et les vêtements.44 Avant le commencement de la guerre, Glode, un Micmac de la Nouvelle-Écosse, avait été bûcheron, de même que guide de chasse et de pêche. En 1915, il devint soldat d'infanterie et peu après assuma un nouveau poste au sein du Corps du génie royal canadien (RCE) en Belgique et en France.

Pendant la plus grande partie de la Grande Guerre, Glode servit dans une compagnie chargée de creuser des tunnels qui faisait partie de la 6e Compagnie de campagne et bataillon du RCE. La compagnie creusa des tunnels en Belgique, aménagea des tranchées-abris à la crête de Vimy et rapiéça des routes près d'Amiens. À l'annonce de l'Armistice, Glode se trouvait en Belgique, à la veille de gagner la Médaille de conduite distinguée.

Même si la guerre était officiellement terminée, les soldats alliés étaient encore actifs. Le Corps canadien avançait vers l'Allemagne, où il allait plus tard assumer des fonctions d'occupation. La compagnie du caporal Glode était en tête de file. Elle tentait de repérer les mines et les charges de démolition.

Les 19 et 20 novembre, Glode désamorça lui-même 450 charges. Selon la citation : « Il fit preuve d'un zèle extraordinaire dans sa tâche et demeura imperturbable face au danger ».

Sam Glode retourna en Nouvelle-Écosse au printemps de 1919 et il reprit ses occupations de chasse et de guide. Il mourut à l'Hôpital Camp Hill, à Halifax, en 1957.

Date de modification :