The Newfoundland Regiment and the Battle of Beaumont-Hamel

Introduction

Newfoundland soldiers in trench

This publication is available upon request in alternate formats.
PDF Version

Most Canadians know July 1st as Canada Day. However, in Newfoundland and Labrador, the day has an additional and more solemn meaning. There, it is also known as Memorial Day and marks the anniversary of the fighting at Beaumont-Hamel during the First World War.

Newfoundland goes to war

During the time of the First World War (1914-18), Newfoundland was a dominion of the British Empire and not yet a part of Canada. Once Britain declared war on Germany in August 1914, Newfoundland—like Canada— was automatically at war. The people of Newfoundland responded with a great outpouring of patriotism and many rushed to enlist. From a total population of about 240,000, more than 12,000 Newfoundlanders would join up during the war.

The Newfoundland Regiment was quickly assembled and hastily trained, with the first recruits sent overseas in October 1914 to become a unit of the British Army. They would become known as the "Blue Puttees" because of the colour of the uniform leggings they wore on their lower legs.

After seeing action in the Gallipoli campaign in Turkey from September 1915 to January 1916, the regiment was withdrawn and the Newfoundlanders sent to the Western Front in France in the spring of 1916.

The Western Front in 1916

Following the opening battles of 1914, the First World War in Western Europe quickly bogged down into trench warfare with the opposing armies dug in, facing one another from a complex series of trenches across a blasted ‘No Man's Land,' defended by lookouts, barbed wire and guns. Artillery, snipers, grenades, mines, machine guns and sickness took a great toll.

The generals could see only one way to end the stalemate—brutal frontal assaults in the face of intense fire to break the enemy defences. The Allied plan for 1916 was to make the "Big Push," and the Somme was chosen as the site for a joint French and British assault. It would be on the first day of the Battle of the Somme—near the village of Beaumont-Hamel in northern France—that the Newfoundland Regiment would enter the action.

Battle of Beaumont-Hamel

Barbed wire and mud

At 7:30 a.m., on July 1, thousands of British and French troops began their advance across No Man's Land in broad daylight toward the German positions to open the Battle of the Somme. The result would be slaughter—more than 57,000 British and Commonwealth soldiers were killed, wounded or missing—the heaviest combat losses ever suffered by the British Army in a single day.

The sector of the front at Beaumont-Hamel where the Newfoundland Regiment would see action was supposed to be taken by surprise, but the Germans knew the attack was coming. In addition, the initial Allied bombardment failed to damage most of the German defences.

At about 9:15 a.m., the Newfoundlanders—forming part of the 29th British Division—attacked from a support trench nicknamed St. John's Road. They advanced from this trench, which was actually behind the front line, because of the sheer number of soldiers involved in earlier attacks who were dead or wounded and clogging the front trenches. This meant that the Newfoundlanders had to traverse more than 200 metres before they even made it to the Allies' own front line. Once they made it to No Man's Land, they were then expected to cross through tangles of barbed wire to reach the enemy trenches more than 500 metres away.

As the Newfoundlanders advanced toward the enemy, there was a tree partway down the slope that marked the spot where German fire seemed to become particularly intense. This gnarled tree was nicknamed the "danger tree" by the Newfoundland troops and it marked the spot where many of them would fall that morning. As they walked into the hail of machine gun and artillery fire, it was said that many of them tucked their chins in, almost like they were walking into the teeth of a blizzard back home. But this time it was not snow flying all around them—the Newfoundland Regiment would be practically decimated in less than half an hour of intense German fire.

July 1st would only be the first day of more than four brutal months of fighting during the Battle of the Somme, a campaign in which Canada would also see significant action. By the time it was all over, the Allies would have more than 650,000 soldiers killed, wounded, missing or taken prisoner, and both the Allies and the Germans would each lose about 200,000 lives. For this incredible cost, the Allies moved the front line forward about 10 kilometres.

Sacrifice

The losses sustained by the Newfoundland Regiment at Beaumont-Hamel on July 1, 1916, were staggering. Of the some 800 Newfoundlanders who went into battle that morning, only 68 were able to answer the roll call the next day, with more than 700 killed, wounded or missing. The dead included 14 sets of brothers, including four lieutenants from the Ayre family of St. John's.

The Newfoundlanders' sacrifice did not go unnoticed on the front lines. The commander of the 29th British Division said of the actions of the Newfoundland Regiment on that July morning:

"It was a magnificent display of trained and disciplined valour, and its assault only failed of success because dead men can advance no further."

The Newfoundland Regiment would be practically wiped out, but the survivors would continue to see action in the fighting and reinforcements would come to help rebuild the regiment. The regiment would go on to earn the official designation "Royal" from the British Crown in recognition of it's gallant actions in battles at Ypres and Cambrai later in the war—the only unit of the British Army to earn that distinction during the war years. By the end of the war, more than 6,200 Newfoundlanders had served in its ranks, with with more than 1,300 of them losing their lives and another 2,500 being wounded or taken prisoner. The loss of so many young lives, compounded by the number of wounded, disabled and sick who returned to Newfoundland after the war, would have a significant impact on the colony for many years afterward.

The legacy

bronze caribou

The incredible sacrifices of the men of the Newfoundland Regiment at Beaumont-Hamel still echo in Newfoundland and Labrador. The citizens of the province pause July 1 to remember those who gave so much to help protect the peace and freedom people in our country enjoy today.

As one of the most striking First World War memorials in Europe, the Beaumont-Hamel Newfoundland Memorial in France stands as a monument to those from the dominion who gave their lives in the First World War. The site is one of few where visitors can see a Great War battlefield much as it was, its artillery craters and trenches left untouched after the war. The twisted skeleton of the danger tree has been preserved and still stands at the spot where many brave Newfoundlanders fell on that tragic morning—a permanent reminder of the great courage and sacrifice seen that day. The monument of the great bronze caribou, emblem of the Royal Newfoundland Regiment, stands on the highest point overlooking the former battlefield. At the base of the statue, three bronze tablets bear the names of more than 800 Newfoundlanders who died in the war and have no known grave.

Canada Remembers Program

The Canada Remembers Program of Veterans Affairs Canada encourages all Canadians to learn about the sacrifices and achievements made by those who have served—and continue to serve—during times of war and peace. As well, it invites Canadians to become involved in remembrance activities that will help preserve their legacy for future generations.

Date modified:

Le Newfoundland Regiment et la bataille de Beaumont-Hamel

Introduction

Des soldats de Terre-Neuve dans la tranchée

Cette publication est disponible dans d’autres formats sur demande.
Version PDF

Nombre de Canadiens associent principalement le 1er juillet à la fête du Canada. Pourtant, cette date a une autre signification plus solennelle à Terre-Neuve et au Labrador. On y célèbre le Memorial Day et ce jour marque l'anniversaire de la bataille qui se déroula à Beaumont-Hamel pendant la Première Guerre mondiale.

Terre-Neuve en guerre

À l'époque de la Première Guerre mondiale (1914-1918), Terre-Neuve était un dominion de l'Empire britannique et ne faisait pas encore partie du Canada. Lorsque la Grande-Bretagne déclara la guerre, en août 1914, Terre-Neuve – à l'instar du Canada – entra automatiquement en guerre. La population de Terre-Neuve répondit à l'appel dans un élan de patriotisme et nombreux furent ceux qui se précipitèrent pour s'enrôler. À l'époque, la population totale de Terre-Neuve comptait environ 240 000 habitants. Pourtant, plus de 12 000 Terre-Neuviens s'enrôlèrent pendant la guerre.

Le Newfoundland Regiment vit rapidement le jour et les recrues suivirent un entraînement à la hâte. Les premières recrues furent affectées outre-mer en octobre 1914 et servirent en tant qu'unité au sein de l'Armée britannique. On les surnomma les « Blue Puttees » à cause de la couleur des jambières de leur uniforme.

Le régiment de Terre-Neuviens prit part à la campagne de Gallipoli, en Turquie, de septembre 1915 à janvier 1916. Au printemps 1916, il fut affecté sur le front occidental, en France.

Front occidental en 1916

Après les batailles qui marquèrent l'ouverture des hostilités, en 1914, la Première Guerre mondiale se transforma rapidement en une guerre de tranchées en Europe de l'Ouest. Les armées ennemies étaient retranchées, l'une en face de l'autre, dans une série de tranchées complexes situées de chaque côté du « No Man's Land », une zone criblée par les bombardements et défendues par des sentinelles, des barbelés et des fusils. L'artillerie, les tireurs d'élite, les grenades, les mines, les mitrailleuses et la maladie y firent de nombreuses victimes.

Les généraux ne voyaient qu'un moyen de mettre un terme à cette guerre sans issue – attaquer brutalement de front, sous le feu nourri de l'ennemi, afin de percer ses lignes de défense. En 1916, les Alliés convinrent de déclencher la « Grande offensive » à la Somme au cours d'un assaut qui serait mené conjointement par les Français et les Britanniques. C'est à ce moment que le Newfoundland Regiment entra dans l'action, le premier jour de la bataille de la Somme, près du village de Beaumont-Hamel, dans le Nord de la France.

Bataille de Beaumont-Hamel

Du barbelé et de la vase

Le 1er juillet, à 7 h 30 du matin, des milliers de Britanniques et de Français commencèrent à avancer à travers le « No Man's Land », en plein jour, vers les positions allemandes. La bataille de la Somme devint une véritable boucherie – plus de 57 000 soldats britanniques et du Commonwealth furent tués, blessés ou portés manquants – et l'armée britannique subit les pertes les plus importantes de son histoire au cours d'une seule journée de combat.

À Beaumont-Hamel, le Newfoundland Regiment devait prendre part à une attaque surprise sur le front, mais les Allemands savaient ce qui se préparait. Les opérations initiales de bombardement des Alliés avaient en outre échoué dans leur tentative d'endommager la plupart des lignes de défense allemandes.

En raison du nombre incroyable de soldats qui prirent part aux attaques ce jour-là, et des nombreux cadavres et blessés qui bloquaient les tranchées frontales, les Terre-Neuviens – qui étaient affectés à la 29e Division britannique – passèrent à l'offensive à environ 9 h 15, en empruntant une tranchée de soutien appelée « St. John's Road », qui se trouvait en fait derrière la ligne de front. Il leur fallut ainsi traverser plus de 200 mètres avant même d'atteindre la ligne de front des Alliés. Une fois rendus aux limites du « No Man's Land », ils durent se frayer un chemin dans les ouvertures des barbelés pour pouvoir se rendre jusqu'aux tranchées ennemies, qui se trouvaient à plus de 500 mètres.

À mi-chemin en descendant la pente, un arbre isolé marquait une zone où le feu de l'ennemi était particulièrement intense. Les Terre-Neuviens l'avaient d'ailleurs surnommé « l'arbre du danger » et nombre d'entre eux tombèrent au combat à cet endroit, ce matin-là. Lorsqu'ils avançaient sous le feu des mitrailleuses et de l'artillerie, on dit qu'ils étaient nombreux à foncer, le menton rentré, comme s'ils marchaient dans un blizzard. Le Newfoundland Regiment fut ainsi presque entièrement décimé en moins d'une demi-heure par l’intense feu allemand.

Le 1er juillet marqua le premier jour de plus de quatre mois de violents combats durant la bataille de la Somme, une campagne à laquelle le Canada participa activement. En bout de ligne, plus de 650 000 soldats alliés furent tués, blessés, portés disparus ou faits prisonniers. Les Alliés et les Allemands subirent de lourdes pertes, soit quelque 200 000 soldats morts dans chaque camp. Le prix à payer pour permettre aux Alliés d'avancer à peine d'environ 10 kilomètres sur la ligne de front fut incroyable.

Sacrifices

Le 1er juillet 1916, le Newfoundland Regiment subit des pertes ahurissantes à Beaumont-Hamel. À peine 68 des quelque 800 Terre-Neuviens qui donnèrent l'assaut ce matin-là furent en mesure de répondre à l'appel le lendemain, les pertes s’élevant à plus de 700 soldats tués, blessés ou portés disparus. Parmi ces morts, on comptait 14 fratries, y compris 4 lieutenants de la famille Ayre, de St. John's.

Mais le sacrifice des Terre-Neuviens ne passa pas inaperçu sur les lignes de front. Le commandant de la 29e Division britannique qualifia ainsi les efforts déployés par le Newfoundland Regiment, ce matin de juillet :

« Ce fut un magnifique exemple de vaillance exercée et disciplinée, et son offensive a échoué parce que des hommes morts ne peuvent plus avancer. »

Le Newfoundland Regiment fut presque entièrement anéanti, mais les survivants continuèrent néanmoins le combat et on appela des renforts pour reformer le régiment. La Couronne britannique attribua par la suite la désignation officielle « Royal » au Newfoundland Regiment en reconnaissance de ses actes de bravoure lors des batailles à Ypres et à Cambrai. Il s'agit d'ailleurs de la seule unité de l'Armée britannique à avoir mérité cette distinction pendant la guerre. À la fin de la guerre, plus de 6 200 Terre-Neuviens avaient servi dans les rangs du Newfoundland Regiment; plus de 1 300 d’entre eux étaient morts et 2 500 autres avaient été blessés ou faits prisonniers.. La perte de tant de jeunes vies, combinée aux nombreux blessés, invalides et malades qui rentrèrent à Terre-Neuve après la guerre, eut un impact important sur le dominion pendant de nombreuses années.

Héritage

Le caribou de bronze

Les sacrifices incroyables qui furent consentis par les hommes du Newfoundland Regiment, à Beaumont-Hamel, ont marqué la population de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador à jamais et, le 1er juillet, les citoyens de la province se réunissent pour rendre hommage à ceux qui ont tant donné pour aider à préserver la paix et la liberté dont nous jouissons aujourd'hui.

En France, le Mémorial terre-neuvien à Beaumont-Hamel, l'un des plus imposants mémoriaux de la Première Guerre mondiale en Europe, commémore tous les membres du dominion qui ont sacrifié leur vie pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Le site est l'un des rares endroits où il est possible de voir un champ de bataille de la Grande Guerre dans son état original avec ses cratères d'obus et ses tranchées. Le squelette tordu de « l'arbre du danger » a lui aussi été préservé et marque l'endroit où tant de Terre-Neuviens sont tombés en ce matin tragique. Il témoigne en permanence de leurs actes de courage exceptionnels et du sacrifice qu'ils consentirent ce jour-là. Le grand caribou de bronze, emblème du Royal Newfoundland Regiment, se dresse sur le point le plus élevé qui surplombe l'ancien champ de bataille. Au pied du monument, se trouvent trois plaques de bronze où sont inscrits les noms des plus de 800 Terre-Neuviens tombés au champ d'honneur et dont le lieu de sépulture est inconnu.

Programme Le Canada se souvient

Le programme Le Canada se souvient, d’Anciens Combattants Canada incite tous les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à se renseigner sur les sacrifices et les réalisations de tous ceux et celles qui ont servi et qui continuent de servir leur pays en temps de guerre et en temps de paix. Il invite aussi les citoyens à prendre part aux activités commémoratives qui aident à préserver l’héritage qu’ils nous ont légué et à le transmettre aux générations à venir.

Date de modification :